A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Diversity Spotlight Thursday# October 20th

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly feature hosted by Aimal at Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Please click on this link to get more details about the feature.

diverse-spotlight1

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

The books on my list this week have different types of conflict as a main theme. One is set in Sierra Leone and is about a child soldier. The second one is about the Rwanda Genocide. I have also listed an upcoming book about the civil rights movement and lastly, there is a book about slavery.

A Book I Have Read

Dreams in a time of War Ngugi wa Thiong'oDreams in a Time of War by Ngugi Wa Thiong’o

Ngugi wa Thiong’o was born in 1938 in rural Kenya to a father whose four wives bore him more than a score of children. The man who would become one of Africa’s leading writers was the fifth child of the third wife. Even as World War II affected the lives of Africans under British colonial rule in particularly unexpected ways, Ngugi spent his childhood as very much the apple of his mother’s eye before attending school to slake what was then considered a bizarre thirst for learning.
 
In Dreams in a Time of War, Ngugi deftly etches a bygone era, capturing the landscape, the people, and their culture; the social and political vicissitudes of life under colonialism and war; and the troubled relationship between an emerging Christianized middle class and the rural poor. And he shows how the Mau Mau armed struggle for Kenya’s independence against the British informed not only his own life but also the lives of those closest to him.
 
Dreams in a Time of War speaks to the human right to dream even in the worst of times. It abounds in delicate and powerful subtleties and complexities that are movingly told.

Ngugi is one of my favourite authors. He writes about Kenya like nobody else does. This book is set in pre-colonial Kenya though it extends to the colonial period. What’s more interesting is that I work near the place where Ngugi grew up so the setting of the book is a place that I see quite often. It is interesting to read about how it was in the 1930s and compare it with what it is today.

Happy Mashujaa(Heroes) Day to all my fellow Kenyans. May we never forget all those who fought for our independence!

A Book on my TBR

malalaI am Malala by Malala Yousafzai and Christine Lamb

When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education.

On Tuesday, October 9, 2012, when she was fifteen, she almost paid the ultimate price. She was shot in the head at point-blank range while riding the bus home from school, and few expected her to survive.

Instead, Malala’s miraculous recovery has taken her on an extraordinary journey from a remote valley in northern Pakistan to the halls of the United Nations in New York. At sixteen, she has become a global symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest-ever Nobel Peace Prize laureate.

I Am Malala is the remarkable tale of a family uprooted by global terrorism, of the fight for girls’ education, of a father who, himself a school owner, championed and encouraged his daughter to write and attend school, and of brave parents who have a fierce love for their daughter in a society that prizes sons.

I Am Malala will make you believe in the power of one person’s voice to inspire change in the world.

A  Book that has not yet been released

delila.jpgGet it Together, Delilah by Erin Gough

A story about falling in love, literally.

Seventeen-year-old Delilah Green wouldn’t have chosen to do her last year of school this way, but she figures it’s working fine. Her dad is on a trip to fix his broken heart after her mom left him for another man, so Del’s managing the family café in his absence. Easy, she thinks. But what about:

-homework and the nasty posse of mean girls making her life hell
-or how one of Del’s best friends won’t stop guilt-tripping her
-and her other best friend is so in love with his tutor he might go to jail for her if Del doesn’t do something
But who cares about any of that really, because above all else, she can’t stop thinking about beautiful Rosa who dances every night across the street until one day Rosa comes in the café door . . .

And if Rosa starts thinking about Del, too, then how in the name of caramel milkshakes will Del get the rest of it together?

Publication  Date: 04 Apr 2017

I have never read a book classified as LGBTQIA before. I have just requested this one from NetGalley.

Have you read any of these books? Which other books would you recommend that I add to my TBR. If you participated in this weekly feature, please leave your link in the comments section and I will visit your post.

15 comments on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday# October 20th

  1. faithrivens
    October 20, 2016

    A compelling list of books! I am Malala is one on my TBR as well.
    Happy Reading 🙂

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      Thank you. I tried to read Malala sometime back but wasn’t able to get into it. I definitely plan on reading it soon though. Happy reading to you too 🙂

  2. I loved I Am Malala! What an amazing book!💁🏻

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      Glad to hear that. I can’t wait to read it soon.

  3. Megan @ bookslayerReads
    October 20, 2016

    I need to read I Am Malala. I’ve heard wonderful things about it.

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      Me too. I hope to read it soon 🙂

      • Megan @ bookslayerReads
        October 28, 2016

        Me too! We could buddy read it, if you wanted.

        • Diana
          October 28, 2016

          Sounds like a great idea. I have never done a buddy read before so I am not sure how it works. Have you done it before?

  4. M @ A Blog Of One's Own
    October 21, 2016

    I love your Diversity Spotlight posts because you always have such great selections! (That always increase my tbr pile 😛 ) Malala is on my tbr anyways, but Dreams In A Time Of War sounds incredibly intriguing as does Get It Together, Delilah 🙂

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      Thanks for the comment 🙂 Dreams in a Time of War is great. I didn’t get Get it, Together Delilah from Netgalley but I do have I am Malala so I hope to read it soon:-) Happy reading.

  5. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
    October 21, 2016

    I listened to I Am Malala on audiobook, and it moved me to tears on multiple occasions. I loved it.

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      Oh wow. Sounds like an amazing book although a bit emotional/sad perhaps? I hope to read it soon.

  6. Annie
    October 21, 2016

    And again, I haven’t read any 😦 But I’d love to read I Am Malala 😀

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      I have heard good things about I am Malala. I hope to read it someday soon:-)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 20, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Diversity Spotlight Thursday and tagged .
