A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Friday Finds #October 21st

Friday Finds is a meme currently hosted by Jenn at Books and a BeatBooks and a Beat This is an opportunity to share the books that you have recently found and added to your TBR.

I added two books to my TBR list this week.

 flawedFlawed by Cecilia Ahern

 You will be punished…

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

I read Ps: I Love you by Ceclia Ahern sometime back and I enjoyed it. I was thrilled when it found this book at my favorite second-hand bookshop being sold at only one dollar.

 kabul.jpgThe Underground Girls of Kabul: In Search of a Hidden Resistance in Afghanistan by Jenny Nordberg

 In Afghanistan, a culture ruled almost entirely by men, the birth of a son is cause for celebration and the arrival of a daughter is often mourned as misfortune. A bacha posh (literally translated from Dari as “dressed up like a boy”) is a third kind of child – a girl temporarily raised as a boy and presented as such to the outside world. Jenny Nordberg, the reporter who broke the story of this phenomenon for the New York Times, constructs a powerful and moving account of those secretly living on the other side of a deeply segregated society where women have almost no rights and little freedom.

The Underground Girls of Kabul is anchored by vivid characters who bring this remarkable story to life: Azita, a female parliamentarian who sees no other choice but to turn her fourth daughter Mehran into a boy; Zahra, the tomboy teenager who struggles with puberty and refuses her parents’ attempts to turn her back into a girl; Shukria, now a married mother of three after living for twenty years as a man; and Nader, who prays with Shahed, the undercover female police officer, as they both remain in male disguise as adults.

At the heart of this emotional narrative is a new perspective on the extreme sacrifices of Afghan women and girls against the violent backdrop of America’s longest war. Divided into four parts, the book follows those born as the unwanted sex in Afghanistan, but who live as the socially favored gender through childhood and puberty, only to later be forced into marriage and childbirth. The Underground Girls of Kabul charts their dramatic life cycles, while examining our own history and the parallels to subversive actions of people who live under oppression everywhere

I got this book from a friend. The whole idea of women/girls growing up disguised as men/boys is shocking. I have never heard about that before this book. This is one book that I really can’t wait to read soon.

Have you read these books yet? And have you added any books to your bookshelf this week? Let me know.

 

Happy Friday!

 

 

9 comments on “Friday Finds #October 21st

  1. ChicNerdReads
    October 21, 2016

    I have Flawed on my bookshelf, it does sound very interesting. However, the second book you added “The Underground Girls of Kabul” sounds AMAZING!!! I will keep an eye on that one for sure

    • Diana
      October 25, 2016

      Thank you. I agree with your view concerning The Underground Girls of Kabul. I can’t wait to read it. I hope that you will also get your copy soon.

      • ChicNerdReads
        October 25, 2016

        I can’t wait to read a review from you for that one!

  2. Donna
    October 21, 2016

    I won a copy of Flawed this year but haven’t found the time to read it yet. It’s a shame, I love dystopians. The Underground Girls of Kabul sounds like a very interesting book! I haven’t added anything to my shelves this week, I’m trying to behave! 🙂

    • Diana
      October 25, 2016

      Flawed is dystopian? I didn’t know that. This is the second time that I have ended up with a dystopian book unknowingly. I enjoyed the first one so I hope to enjoy this one too. Reading the blurb again, I see the mention of the different society now. I wish I could say the same about new additions. I have such an addiction especially to NetGalley:-)

  3. Yvo
    October 22, 2016

    Great finds! The first was already on my TBR but the second sounds really interesting. Have a great weekend!

    • Diana
      October 25, 2016

      Thanks Yvo. A happy reading to you. Have a wonderful week:-)

  4. Annie
    October 22, 2016

    Both seem pretty interesting, maybe Girls of Kabul even better 😀

    • Diana
      October 25, 2016

      Yeah of the two, Girls of Kabul intrigues me more. I can’t wiat to read both books soon. Thanks:-)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Friday Finds and tagged , .
