A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #October 26th 2016

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words. To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

Hi everyone, I am back. It has been a wonderful week touring parts of Kenya that I have never been to and also crossing the border to Uganda. I will do a travel post especially about my visit to Uganda. I have read three books since October 13th. Here they are:

The Killing Game by J.S Carol

This was a great, suspenseful, very dark thriller. I liked everything about it! I have never read a book about a hostage situation before this one. The book felt so real that at times I thought the hostages were real people perhaps due to the character development and the tense atmosphere masterfully created by the author. You can read my review here.

Safe with me by K. L Slater

When I think about this book, I think about enjoying a cup of coffee on a beautiful, peaceful morning. Suddenly, the cup just drops and shatters and I stand there looking at the mess wondering what happened. In short, I enjoyed the first and middle sections of the book but I don’t know what happened towards the end.

34 days by Anita Waller

This really wasn’t for me. I felt like I was reading a script for a play and not a novel.

 Currently Reading

the-secret

The Secret by Katerina Diamond

I just started reading this book. It is another thriller(police procedural) that I requested without knowing that it is the second book in a series. However, the book is an great so far and I really like the cover.

Reading Next

apple

The Girl who stole the apple by Peter Ticker

I really wanted to read this book. Unfortunately, the font size for my eBook is so tiny and the spacing between lines and paragraphs is small which doesn’t appeal to me. However, my copy is expiring in 10 days so I have to try and read it because it is an ARC.

So how about you, any interesting books that you have read lately? What are you reading now? What do you plan on reading next? Feel free to leave your WWW links in the comments section.

32 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #October 26th 2016

  1. ChrissiReads
    October 26, 2016

    Sounds like you had a lovely time! I shall look out for your post on Uganda! Safe With Me looks really intriguing…

    • Diana
      October 26, 2016

      Thank you Chrissi. It was a wonderful trip. My review of Safe with me will be published by tomorrow.

  2. doddyaboutbooks
    October 26, 2016

    Welcome back!

  3. alilovesbooks
    October 26, 2016

    Glad you enjoyed your trip. Can’t wait to see your post as it’s somewhere I know next to nothing about.

    I’m terrible for accidentally requesting the second or third book in a series without realising. Usually ends in a mad scrabble to track down and read the earlier books but it sounds like The Secret could be read as a standalone?

    • Diana
      October 26, 2016

      Yes luckily The Secret can be read as a standalone. I have seen a couple of reviews whereby most bloggers weren’t bothered by the fact that they had missed the first book. Its wonderful so far.

      Asante(thank you). I hope to post about the trip soon, probably over the weekend. Happy reading 🙂

  4. I’m so glad you enjoyed your vacation Diana.I know next to nothing about Kenya or Uganda so I’m looking forward to your post about them.💁🏻

  5. Clare Stone
    October 26, 2016

    The Killing Game sounds amazing – I’ve been really wanting to try more thrillers lately and that looks like a good one!
    Here’s my WWW Wednesday

    • Diana
      October 26, 2016

      I definitely reccomend it.Let me know if you decide to read it.I’ve visited your post but my comment won’t post.I don’t know it keeps dissapearing

  6. itsbooktalk
    October 26, 2016

    I can’t wait to read about your recent trip, it sounds amazing. I just read your guest post on Kelly’s blog, congrats on the growth of your blog that’s fantastic. I hope mine does as well. I also noticed you have Twenties Girl on your reading list…I love that book as well as pretty much ALL of Sophie Kinsella’s stand alones!

    • Diana
      October 26, 2016

      Great to hear that.I haven’t read anything by Kinsella in a while though I did enjoy the shopaholics series.Thanks for the comment concerning Kelly’s post.How long have you been blogging?

      • itsbooktalk
        October 26, 2016

        Only about 4 weeks! I previously wrote reviews for bookreporter.com and just decided to try my own blog. It’s been fun so far

  7. Susie | Novel Visits
    October 26, 2016

    I hate it when the font is so small. It can totally ruin a book for me. Funny, it never bothered me 10 years ago! Have a great reading week.

    • Diana
      October 26, 2016

      I guess it never used to be an issue for me either but I strain a lot of late and the glasses don’t help much

  8. Laurel-Rain Snow
    October 26, 2016

    Ooh, love the look of all of them! The Killing Game and Safe with Me are books I would definitely pick up…and The Secret looks so tempting! Thanks for sharing, and here’s MY WWW POST

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      Thank you. All three books are great and I know you like thrillers so you may enjoy them. Happy reading. I am on my way to your post now:-)

  9. Donna
    October 26, 2016

    I can’t wait to read your travel post! 🙂
    It was risky for the author to use a hostage situation for The Killing Game as I think it can be hard to keep the tension up, but I’m glad to see it worked for you! Oh no, Safe with Me had a meh ending?? That is too bad!
    It’s a pain when the eARC format is not good and distract you from reading, I hope you don’t kill your eyes trying to read the book! Happy reading 🙂

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      haha I hope my eyes with survive the small fonts:-) The Killing Game is my first book featuring a hostage situation and it was so well executed. I definitely recommend it. I think that I am in the minority concerning Safe with Me but the ending just didn’t work for me although it did for others. Thank you so much for visiting. Happy reading 🙂

  10. faithrivens
    October 26, 2016

    I always know that I’ll discover some intriguing thrillers when I come here Diana 🙂 The cover of the Secret is great! I hope you continue to enjoy it, even though it’s a sequel.

    Happy Reading ❤

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      Thank you so much Faith. Happy reading to you too ❤

  11. dez | the fun in reading books
    October 26, 2016

    Now I’m more excited to read The Killing Game after reading your review! And you have a lot of thrilling books here. 🙂

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      Thank you. I definitely recommend The Killing Game.Happy reading and have a wonderful week 🙂

  12. Curious Daisy
    October 26, 2016

    I want the cupcake on the cover of The Secret hehe 😀 http://www.curious-daisy.com/www-wednesdays/www-wednesday-october-26-2016/

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      I don’t blame you. It does look good. Thanks for visiting. Happy reading 🙂

  13. Sam
    October 27, 2016

    I’m sorry 34 Days wasn’t for you, the cover looks intriguing! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      Thanks for hosting us Sam. Happy reading and enjoy the rest of your week 🙂

  14. Emily Witt
    October 27, 2016

    I love the sound of the Killing Game! I will put that on my list for when I’m reading thrillers again (hopefully soon!).

    Here’s my WWW.

    • Diana
      October 27, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy it if you decide to read it. Thank you so much for the visit. On my way to your post now:-)

  15. Yvo
    October 28, 2016

    I had similar problems with Safe With Me.. It was still good, but the ending was a bit disappointing. And I have requested The Killing Game after I saw your post! I really shouldn’t have, but it was too hard to resist temptation. 😉 I hope you will enjoy your books this week!

    • Diana
      October 28, 2016

      haha I am always adding to my TBR based on your book recommendations. I made a new request just after reading your review yesterday so don’t worry, we are in this together lol. Thank you Yvo. Do enjoy your books too.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2016 by in Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged .
