A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: 34 Days by Anita Waller

34-daysBlurb

Anna and Ray have been married for thirty-five years. They are parents and grandparents and appear to be a normal couple. But behind closed doors something isn’t right.

On the day of their wedding anniversary Anna makes a decision that changes everything and throws her family into turmoil. Anna will discover that she is not the only one who has suffered and by leaving Ray she sparks a series of events so awful that it might just end in murder…

Mini Review

34 Days by Anita Walker is a fast-paced domestic thriller. The story begins on a normal day with anniversary celebrations. However, it soon becomes clear that something isn’t quite right between the couple.  This sets off Anna’s decision which leads to a series of events that take place in 34 days.

The story is narrated through short chapters that detail events that occur on each day. The final chapters give details of the aftermath. Apart from Anna, there are other characters that bring in more secrets, drama and some surprising twists. I couldn’t guess just how the story would go. We get to know Anna and one other character really well. I don’t want to reveal the identity of the second character since that is one of the twists. We only get to meet Ray briefly at the start of the book after which everything that we learn about him is through other characters.

The reason why I am keeping this review brief is because I don’t think that the book was for me. I read the whole book in a few hours but I still felt like it lacked something. The villain’s actions at some point were not really believable. However, based on the many reviews on goodreads, many reviewers loved the book. Therefore, I recommend that you visit goodreads for alternative views concerning the book. In the meantime, I have heard about the author’s first books, Beautiful and Angel which I can’t wait to read.

6 comments on “Book Review: 34 Days by Anita Waller

  1. Annie
    October 29, 2016

    I love how you were honest but encouraged other people to read other reviews. That’s very kind of you. A book can’t be for everyone 🙂

    • Diana
      October 30, 2016

      Thank you Annie.Its always a struggle to write reviews for books that I didn’t really enjoy so I thought its best to focus on what I like then mention the alternative reviews.Thanks.

  2. Donna
    October 30, 2016

    I can’t resist domestic noirs so I will probably give it a go 🙂 Thank you for the honest review!

    • Diana
      October 31, 2016

      Thank you Donna. I hope that you will have a better experience with the book than I did:-)

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up: October /November TBR | A Haven for Book Lovers

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up: October /November TBR | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 28, 2016 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , .
