A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Monthly Wrap-up: October /November TBR

October was a great month for me. I have already mentioned this on my blog like a million times already but just in case you missed it, I went on an awesome trip to Uganda. I have always wanted to travel there and so I am definitely glad that I finally did. There was something so peaceful about the whole trip. The scenery, rich culture and hospitality of the Ugandans was wonderful. We camped at the shores of different lakes and rivers for the whole trip and that was quite something too. I haven’t been camping in a long while but I really enjoyed the experience especially waking up to the sounds of nature and catching the sunrise over the waters. My post on the trip will be up soon.

 

 

I also attended the Yetu Concert this past weekend. This is a concert aimed at celebrating Kenya Music. In Swahili, Yetu means ours. I haven’t been to a concert in ages and it was super fun listening and singing along to my favorite songs.

kIDUM.jpg

 

Kidum on Stage

 

Books

Here are the books that I read in October. Just click on the titles to read my reviews.

ARCs

 

Bookshelf

  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky- Review will be up soon
  • 34 Days by Anita Waller
  • Only Daughter by Anna Snokestra

Book Club Pick

Cholera

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Book Awards: October

Favorite Book: The Killing Game by J. S Carol- I have never read a book featuring a hostage situation before. I really enjoyed this one. The action, drama and suspense from the first page to the last one made this a very memorable book.

Most Challenging Book: Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez- This book was huge. It is not fast-paced like the thrillers that I read but it is so beautifully written and quite thought-provoking. I ended up having a number of discussions about it both on the post and in the bookclub. I really liked it.

Emotional Book: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky- I wanted to take a break from my usual kind of books and so I thought of picking this one. I ended up really loving this book. It’s a wonderful coming of age story but it was quite an emotional book for me. I will share my review later this week.

Plans for November

My November TBR list has the following books:

  • Born a Crime by Trevor Noah
  • Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan
  • Stay with me by Adebayo Ayobami
  • Cruel Beautiful World by Caroline Levitt
  • The One that got away by Melissa Pimentel
  • The Girl who stole the apple by Peter Ticker
  • Just a Normal Tuesday by Kim Turrisi
  • While you were sleeping by Kathryn Croft
  • The Murder Game by Catherine McKenzie writing as Julie Apple
  • Love you to Death by Caroline Mitchell

 

I hope that you had a wonderful month. Happy November. Cheers!

 

29 comments on “Monthly Wrap-up: October /November TBR

  1. itsbooktalk
    October 31, 2016

    Great wrap up! I started The Killing game and I’m struggling to get into it, I think it’s my current book mood:) I can’t figure out my struggle because everyone else has loved it and it’s your favorite!

    • Diana
      October 31, 2016

      Oh I’m so sorry to hear that.Perhaps its the mood as you’ve mentioned.Is there any particular thing that you don’t like or is it the story in general?

      • itsbooktalk
        October 31, 2016

        I’m not feeling a connection to any of the characters so far. Along with the fact I may not be in the mood for a straight action thriller. I may come back to it in a week or two

        • Diana
          November 1, 2016

          Okay,I hope the second time will work out for you.

  2. faithrivens
    October 31, 2016

    Fantastic wrap-up! And it looks like you have a lot of great books to look forward to in November as well! Which one are you most excited to read?

    • Diana
      October 31, 2016

      Hard to pick one.Born a Crime,Stay with me and Murder Game are at the top of the list though.Thank you 🙂

  3. BeanCountingBookworm
    October 31, 2016

    Perks of being a Wallflower is definitely one of my favourite books of all time. I’m constantly thinking and remembering it.

    • Diana
      November 1, 2016

      Glad to hear that.Its definitely one of my favourites too now.Such a beautifully written story.

  4. Geronimo Reads
    October 31, 2016

    Great wrap up! I love that you read books that I’ve never heard of before. I’m looking forward to see what you think the books on your November TBR! I’ll be reading your reviews and hopefully adding even more books to my already huge TBR pile lol

    • Diana
      November 1, 2016

      Haha I get what you mean about the huge TBR.I can’t stop adding to mine even if its already overflowing.Thanks for visiting.Have a wonderful November 🙂

      • Geronimo Reads
        November 1, 2016

        lol I have a whole bookshelf full — I have a problem. You too! 🙂

  5. allahtohar
    November 1, 2016

    It’s marvelous milord.

  6. Bookneeders
    November 1, 2016

    Wow what a month! That must have been such a nice trip! I never camped and I don’t think I liked the idea either but that must have made that experience so much better!

    You have super nice books for this month and I already added some to my TBR >.< oops! Also The Perks of Being a Wallflower as been on my TBR for ages and I heard so many amazing things about it! I really really have to pick it up!

    I don't really know much about your November books but I really wanna read Miracle on 5th Avenue! Plus you have so really creepy ones 😛
    Hope you have a super nice November!

    • Diana
      November 2, 2016

      I have been camping a few times before but I have never liked it much.However, the camping sites made everything really wonderful so the experience was great this time:-)

      I had Perks of being a wallflower on my TBR for so long. I started reading it and kept wondering why it had taken me so long to get to it. It is such a wonderful book. I hope that you will enjoy it when you get to it too.

      Thank you so much and have a great November too 🙂

  7. Annie
    November 1, 2016

    What a great month! The photos from the trip are so great!

    The Perks of being…is a wonderful book. I really liked it!!!!

    • Diana
      November 2, 2016

      Thanks you. The Perks… is such a wonderful book. I don’t know why I took so long to get to it. Glad that you liked it too. Have a wonderful November 🙂

  8. Puput @ Sparkling Letters
    November 1, 2016

    Ohhh you did seem to have a great October! 😀 and you also read quite a lot. I also really enjoyed The Perks of Being a Wallflower, I read it when I was a lot younger and I didn’t understand some of it but I loved it anyway 😛 have a great November!

    • Diana
      November 2, 2016

      Glad to hear that The Perks of Being a Wallflower was a memorable and enjoyable read for you. It is such a beautiful book. I am glad that I eventually got to it. Have a great November too 🙂

  9. Zezee
    November 1, 2016

    That’s cool you went to Uganda. How was the camping experience?

    • Diana
      November 2, 2016

      The trip was wonderful. The first night of camping was tough. I don’t think I got any sleep but waking up next to the lake was wonderful. The other nights worked out great. Thanks for asking:-) Do you like camping?

      • Zezee
        November 4, 2016

        Sounds nice 😊. I’ve never been camping but have always wanted to go. I’m not sure if I’ll like it tho. I hate bugs and the cold.

  10. Donna
    November 1, 2016

    Your pictures are stunning! It must have been a wonderful trip 🙂 I am not a fan of camping, at all, but the sight must have made it worth it. I like nature when I can witness it during a walk, or on TV. I’m such a city chick! 🙂
    I like that there’s a lighter book around all those thrillers for your ARC reads, we’ll turn into very dark people if we don’t mix genres a bit, haha.
    While You Were Sleeping has such a creepy name! Happy November!

    • Diana
      November 3, 2016

      Yeah I try to balance it out once in a while though thrillers are so addictive. At least I read 3 non-thrillers lol definitely don’t want to turn too dark though it might be too late seeing how I can predict most of these story-lines:-)

      Camping has its moments. The first night was tough but I guess the views helped. Nature on TV sounds great most days though but I can’t stay away from the outdoors too long🙂

      Have a great November:-)

  11. Jasmine
    November 2, 2016

    Looks like you have an awesome October too! How long were you in Uganda? I have never been there. Hope you get to see many places!

    • Diana
      November 3, 2016

      I was there for only 3 days but I got to tour a lot of places around the capital city, Kampala and the next town, Jinja. It was a wonderful trip 🙂

  12. charliegirlteachergirl
    November 3, 2016

    What a great balance of books! I feel I tend to gravitate and stay with particular genres for the most part. The photos from Uganda are gorgeous!

    • Diana
      November 4, 2016

      Thank you. I can read any genre apart from fantasy which I have never tried out. Have a wonderful November 🙂

  13. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews
    November 6, 2016

    Your trip to Uganda looked amazing! Lovely photos. Great reading month 😀 I’m so glad you enjoyed Perks. It’s one of my all time favourite books.

    • Diana
      November 6, 2016

      Thank you.Perks is definitely a wonderful read so I get why its one of your favourites 🙂 Have a wonderful November.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Monthly Wrap up and tagged , , , .
