A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #November 2nd

This meme is currently hosted by Taking on a World of Words

wwwTo take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

It has been an interesting week. I attended the Yetu Concert on Saturday from early afternoon to early Sunday morning then ended up sleeping the whole of Sunday so I didn’t get to read over the weekend. However, I still managed to get through three books since my last WWW post last week.

The Secret by Katerina Diamond– this was quite an interesting thriller. You can read my review here

The Girl who stole the apple by Peter Ticker– This was a fascinating read but it got very confusing at the end. I went through the whole book without knowing why certain events were taking place. I didn’t know the motives behind the villains’ actions and I still don’t why the main characters were on the run. I don’t know if I missed something.

The Perks of being a wallflower by Stephen Chbosky– I started reading this book during my lunch break last week. It ended up being one of the best books that I have read in a while. It is a beautiful although very sad story.

Currently Reading

Cruel Beautiful World by Caroline Leavitt

I love this book so much so far. It is one of those atmospheric books set in the 60s then takes you back in time. I can’t wait to get home from work to continue reading it.

Simon vs the Homosapien Agenda by Becky Albertelli

I started reading this book during my lunch break yesterday. I am not really feeling it right now but will see how it goes.

Reading Next

christmas-day

A Christmas Day at the Office by Matt Dunn

I decided to make a list of my ARCs so as to keep track of the publishing dates. It has made things a bit easier in terms of selecting what to read next. I think it will also help me to stop falling behind and posting reviews weeks after the book has been published. This holiday-themed book is next on my list.

So how about you, any interesting books that you have read lately? What are you reading now? What do you plan on reading next? Feel free to leave your WWW links in the comments section.

22 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #November 2nd

  1. faithrivens
    November 2, 2016

    I’ve been meaning to read Perks of a Wallflower! I watched the movie recently and was surprised by how much I loved it! It goes against my rule of reading the book first so I have to make amends soon 😉
    Happy Reading!
    https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2016/11/02/www-wednesday-11-02-16/

    • Diana
      November 2, 2016

      I can’t wait to watch the movie especially since you loved it that much. The book is excellent so I guess I will enjoy the book too. Thanks for mentioning it and for the link.Happy reading 🙂

  2. Yvo
    November 2, 2016

    I hope Simon will get better for you soon! It was one of my favorite reads last year… Happy reading!

    • Diana
      November 2, 2016

      That’s for mentioning back.I’ll definitely give it a try again.if it was one of your favourites then it must be good.Happy reading 🙂

  3. Laurel-Rain Snow
    November 2, 2016

    Ooh, I also loved Cruel Beautiful World…and I enjoyed The Perks of Being a Wallflower (the movie, too). I think I must add The Secret to my list. Thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog.

    • Diana
      November 2, 2016

      Cruel Beautiful world is amazing.Its definitely not what I expected but I’m glad that I decided to read it.I hope to watch Perks soon.Thanks for visiting too.Enjoy the rest of your week.

  4. cleopatralovesbooks
    November 2, 2016

    I’m very tempted by The Secret despite the heavy issues and of course Perks of a Wallflower is a great read. Thanks for visiting my blog earlier today 🙂

    • Diana
      November 3, 2016

      I hope you will like it. It does have some dark themes but as a thriller, it is a good read. I really loved The Perks of being a Wallflower.Thanks for visiting.Happy reading 🙂

  5. Jasmine
    November 3, 2016

    I heard that Simon book should be really good. I haven’t read it yet.

    • Diana
      November 4, 2016

      I think I wasn’t in the mood for it when I picked it but I will try and read it again soon. I have heard good things about it too 🙂

  6. charliegirlteachergirl
    November 3, 2016

    The Secret looks so ominous! Why the cupcake? lol

    • Diana
      November 4, 2016

      haha interestingly, having read the book, I really don’t know why the cupcake was on the cover.Maybe it supposed to mean that not everything that looks good is actually good. The books is about secrets and deception.

      I liked the cover though and the story was creepy:-)

  7. Birdie
    November 3, 2016

    I still haven’t read Perks of Being a Wallflower. It’s so hyped up, and my sister adores it, that I’m afraid I’ll be the one who doesn’t like it.

    (I really liked Simon vs THSA.)

    • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
      November 3, 2016

      I can relate, Birdy. There are so many hyped books I’m avoiding until I forget it was ever hyped (Six of Crows, I’m looking at you…)

      • Birdie
        November 3, 2016

        Haha! Six of Crows is soooo hyped. Except, I actually really loved that one so I could possibly be on that bandwagon.

        • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
          November 3, 2016

          That’s the problem! I’d say 2/5 times I really adore the book. But the other 3 times I just get disappointed.

          • Birdie
            November 3, 2016

            That’s how it is with me too. But then, on the ones that I do adore, I get sad that I waited so long to read them. I’m a fickle chick, haha.

  8. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
    November 3, 2016

    I love Perks! (You can check out my review here, if you’re interested: http://deathbytsundoku.com/wordpress/the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower/) It would have been a great lunch-hour book for me.
    I’m so sorry about The Girl Who Stole the Apple! That’s so disappointing. At least it was shorter?

    • Diana
      November 4, 2016

      Thank you for sharing your review. I checked it out and I am glad that you also enjoyed the book. It definitely is a beautiful book. The Girl who stole the apple was okay apart from the end. It was really fast-paced so yeah, it was a quick read:-)

  9. Donna
    November 4, 2016

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a must-read I should get to soon. I am glad you enjoyed it. I’m afraid to fall once again on the side of those who don’t love it 🙂 Cruel Beautiful World sounds good! I’ll be waiting for your review! Happy reading!

    • Diana
      November 4, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy Perks when you get to it.It has mixed reviews but crossing my fingers that you will enjoy it like I did.My review for Cruel Beautiful World is scheduled for this weekend.Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2016 by in Bookish Post and tagged .
