A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: A Christmas Day at the Office by Matt Dunn

christmas-dayOne Christmas party. Two merging companies. Free-flowing champagne. What could possibly go wrong?

With her new billionaire boss in town, Sophie’s determined to swap the No-Jobs she meets on Tinder for her very own Steve Jobs. But will looking like a million dollars be enough to kick-start a Fifty Shades adventure?

A ring in his pocket and dressed to kill, Calum’s planning to get down on one knee. Though if Mia doesn’t say ‘yes’, he’s not sure he’ll ever get back up.

Julie’s got a surprise for Mark—though it’s something she’s not even sure she wants. Meanwhile, Mark’s got another choice to make: the love of his life, or the opportunity of a lifetime?

With his job on the line, and the ex who broke his heart back on the scene, Nathan’s day is becoming a nightmare. But he’s about to meet the woman of his dreams.

This year’s office Christmas party should be a night to remember—but for five of Seek Software’s employees, it might be one they’d sooner forget.

Review

I picked this book on recommendation by Ali. I was in the mood for holiday-themed books and this sounded perfect. A Christmas Day at the Office by Matt Dunn tells the story of 5 employees of Seek Software Company. On this day, the employees have to attend a Christmas dinner on invitation by their new CEO who has just bought the company. The employees are nervous about the merger and they all feel insecure about their jobs although some are a bit more confident than others.

As mentioned in the blurb, Sophie is looking for love. We get to learn about her search for love online on sites like Tinder before she sets her eyes on her new boss. Her personality really bugged me from the start. She appeared a bit desperate for my liking but my opinion of her changed towards the end of the book. Calum is the man intending to propose to his girlfriend before the end of the day. He was my favorite character in the book. There was something quite endearing about him even as he was nervous about the proposal. He comes off as a sweet guy and I found myself rooting for him and hoping that things go well for him. His attempts at proposing had me laughing . I didn’t know it was that hard to find the right moment to propose. Getting down on one knee and people immediately assuming that you have lost something…oh well, poor Calum!

I can’t say much about Mark and Julie without spoiling the book but I liked their relationship. I am sort of in the same situation (the work thing not the other stuff) so this drew me to them. Nathan was also a wonderful character. His back-story was heartbreaking but it was nice to see how the day ended up for him.

A Christmas Day at the Office by Matt Dunn describes events that take place on a single day. We get to see the employees go to work on that day and later to the Christmas dinner. I liked the fact that there was so much going on that day. The intricacies of their personal love lives mixed up with the impending merger provided some tension and a lot of drama in the narrative which kept things interesting to the last page. I have watched romantic comedies before but this is the first book that I have read of this genre and it was wonderful.

I recommend this book to fans of romantic comedies or anyone looking for a holiday-themed book.

I received this e-book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

About Matt Dunn(Goodreads profile)

matt-dunn

Matt was born in Margate, but eventually escaped to Spain to write his first novel (in between working as a newspaper columnist, and playing a lot of tennis). Previously he has been a professional lifeguard, fitness equipment salesman, and an IT head hunter, but he prefers writing for a living, so hopes people will keep buying his books.

Matt is the author of four contemporary romantic comedy novels; Best Man, The Ex-Boyfriend’s Handbook (which was shortlisted for both the Romantic Novel Of The Year award, as well as the Melissa Nathan Award for Comedy Romance), From Here To Paternity, and Ex-Girlfriends United. He’s also written about life, love, and relationships for various publications including The Times, Guardian, Cosmopolitan, Company, Elle, Glamour, and The Sun.

Several of Matt’s novels have been translated for various European markets (he’s big in the Balkans, apparently), as well as as far afield as Malaysia and Indonesia. He’s a regular on the literary festival scene, and rates the recent lecturing stint he did on the Creative Writing degree course at London Metropolitan University as one of the most rewarding things he’s ever done – and not only because of the number of ideas he was able to appropriate from his students for his books

 

 

12 comments on “Book Review: A Christmas Day at the Office by Matt Dunn

  1. Donna
    November 4, 2016

    I like the sound of this book! I’m looking for well-crafted characters to make my heart softer when it comes to Christmas, and it looks like this story might help! Haha, proposing is a big and difficult step! I’m curious about what happens, I’ll have to get it and see for myself 🙂 Loved your review!

    • Diana
      November 4, 2016

      He he well this is a lovely Christmas story so I definitely reccomend it.I have never really thought of what guys go through with proposals and trying to get everything just right.This books makes me want to ask all my married friends and especially the guys about how they proposed :-)I hope that you will enjoy it as my much as I did if you get it 🙂

      • Donna
        November 4, 2016

        Haha, I totally understand, I’m always curious about that too!

  2. alilovesbooks
    November 4, 2016

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this. I have still to get to it but really looking forward to it now.

    • Diana
      November 4, 2016

      Thanks for the reccomendation.I hope that you will enjoy it when you get to it 🙂

  3. Annie
    November 4, 2016

    This sounds lovely 🙂 When I’m in the mood for something Christmas-y, I’ll remember this one haha (Not now, I’m still thinking about summer XD)

    • Diana
      November 5, 2016

      Haha I’m still waiting to see you read a holiday-themed book 🙂 Enjoy your current reads though.

  4. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
    November 5, 2016

    Ooh, this sounds like a lot of fun! Particularly as we are about to enter the holiday season. Wonderful review, Diana- you definitely got me intrigued.

    • Diana
      November 5, 2016

      Thank you.Its a wonderful holiday read perfect for the coming season 🙂

  5. Pingback: WWW-Wednesday #November 9th | A Haven for Book Lovers

  6. Grab the Lapels
    November 15, 2016

    Interesting to see a romantic Christmas novel written by a man!

    • Diana
      November 17, 2016

      Yes it was:-) Actually the person who recommended this book to me pointed that out when she asked that I check it out.

Leave a Reply

