A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Ten Books I’ve added to My To-Be-Read List Lately

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by  The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

I keep adding new books to my TBR despite the fact that my bookshelves are already overflowing. I don’t have a TBR list on goodreads so what I have on my post today are books that I have recently acquired and added to my reading list over the past two weeks.

Source: NetGalley

while-you-were-sleeping

While You were Sleeping by Kathryn Croft

You wake up to find the man beside you is dead.
He is not your husband. This is not your bed.
What do you do?

Tara Logan lives a quiet life with her husband, Noah, and two children, teenager Rosie and eleven-year-old Spencer.  But her peace is shattered when she wakes in her neighbour Lee’s bed, with no memory of how she got there or what happened between them.  And worse – he has been stabbed to death. Tara soon realizes that someone in her life knows what really happened to Lee. She must get to the truth before they do.
I fell in love with the cover and the blurb and so I ended up reading this book immediately I received it. Here is my review.

 
child-of-mineThe Child is Mine by Sinead Moriarty

how far would you go to save a child?

Single mom Anna and her eighteen-year-old daughter Sophie have always got along like two peas in a pod. But for the past seventeen years, Anna has been keeping a dark secret from Sophie. When Sophie sees a woman who is her spitting image on TV, talking about the loss of her daughter at sea, seventeen years earlier, her whole world is turned upside down.

Can she forgive Anna? Does she want to find out the truth? Does she want to know her real mother? Does she really want to search for the truth? Where does she belong? Who is her real mother? What should she do?

 

 

normal-tuesdayJust a Normal Tuesday by Kim Turrisi

What begins as just a normal Tuesday becomes a day that will shatter sixteen-year-old Kai’s life forever. All it takes is a letter, tucked into a pile of their family’s mail. It’s from Kai’s older sister, Jen, who lives nearby. And it begins, “If you are reading this, I am already gone.” Jen has committed suicide. Dazed, Kai helps to plan Jen’s funeral and tries to cope with their devastated parents, all the while searching for answers. How could Jen do this, and why? Kai is heartbroken and furious, and soon she’s caught in a vicious downward spiral, self-medicating and lashing out at the people she loves. That’s when her parents shock her: they’re sending her to the Tree House, a summer camp for grieving teens.

 

mothers-confessionA Mother’s Confession by Kelly Rimmer

Olivia and David were the perfect couple with their whole lives in front of them. When beautiful baby daughter Zoe came along, their world seemed complete.

But now David is dead and Olivia’s world is in pieces. While she is consumed with grief, her mother-in-law Ivy is also mourning the loss of her son. Both women are hiding secrets about the man they loved. Secrets that have put the family in danger.
Something was very wrong in Olivia and David’s marriage. Can Olivia and Ivy break their silence and speak the truth? A mother should protect her child, whatever the cost…shouldn’t she?

I have already started reading this book. The story is interesting so far and I like the two POVs that detail life with David. It is interesting to look at him from the POV of his mother and the wife that he abused.

 

murder-gameThe Murder Game by Catherine McKenzie as Julie Apple

Ten years working as a prosecutor have left Meredith Delay jaded and unsure of what she wants out of life. She’s good at her job, but it haunts her. Her boyfriend wants her to commit, but she keeps him at arm’s length. Then Meredith is assigned to a high-profile prosecution involving the violent murder of a fallen hockey star. At first, it appears to be just another case to work. But when her old friend Julian is accused of the murder, it takes on a whole new dimension.

Meredith, Julian, Jonathan, and Lily were a tight-knit group in law school. But now, Jonathan’s defending Julian, and Lily’s loyalties aren’t clear. And when Julian invokes a rare—and risky—defence, Meredith is forced to confront their past.

I picked this book because I liked Fractured by Catherine McKenzie. The book is mentioned in the first novel. Julie Apple is the protagonist in Fractured. She was also an author who was being stalked after writing a novel titled, The Murder Game. Interesting to see the fictional author and her book being brought to life.

 

trophy-childThe Trophy Child by Paula Daly

Karen Bloom is not the coddling mother type. She believes in raising her children for success. Some in the neighborhood call her assertive, others say she’s driven, but in gossiping circles she’s known as: the tiger mother. Karen believes that tough discipline is the true art of parenting and that achievement leads to ultimate happiness. She expects her husband and her children to perform at 200 percent—no matter the cost. But in an unending quest for excellence, her seemingly flawless family start to rebel against her.

Her husband Noel is a handsome doctor with a proclivity for alcohol and women. Their prodigy daughter, Bronte, is excelling at school, music lessons, dance classes, and yet she longs to run away. Verity, Noel’s teenage daughter from his first marriage, is starting to display aggressive behavior. And Karen’s son from a previous relationship falls deeper into drug use. When tragedy strikes the Blooms, Karen’s carefully constructed facade begins to fall apart—and once the deadly cracks appear, they are impossible to stop.

 

Source: Purchased

whistler.jpgThe Whistler by John Grisham

We expect our judges to be honest and wise. Their integrity and impartiality are the bedrock of the entire judicial system. We trust them to ensure fair trials, to protect the rights of all litigants, to punish those who do wrong, and to oversee the orderly and efficient flow of justice.

But what happens when a judge bends the law or takes a bribe? It’s rare, but it happens.

Lacy Stoltz is an investigator for the Florida Board on Judicial Conduct. She is a lawyer, not a cop, and it is her job to respond to complaints dealing with judicial misconduct. After nine years with the Board, she knows that most problems are caused by incompetence, not corruption.

Dangerous is one thing. Deadly is something else.

 

small great things.jpgSmall Great Things by Jodi Piccoult

Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years’ experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she’s been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don’t want Ruth, who is African American, to touch their child. The hospital complies with their request, but the next day, the baby goes into cardiac distress while Ruth is alone in the nursery. Does she obey orders or does she intervene?

Ruth hesitates before performing CPR and, as a result, is charged with a serious crime. Kennedy McQuarrie, a white public defender, takes her case but gives unexpected advice: Kennedy insists that mentioning race in the courtroom is not a winning strategy. Conflicted by Kennedy’s counsel, Ruth tries to keep life as normal as possible for her family—especially her teenage son—as the case becomes a media sensation. As the trial moves forward, Ruth and Kennedy must gain each other’s trust, and come to see that what they’ve been taught their whole lives about others—and themselves—might be wrong.

 

vanishingThe Vanishing Year by Kate Moretti

Zoe Whittaker is living a charmed life. She is the beautiful young wife to handsome, charming Wall Street tycoon Henry Whittaker. She is a member of Manhattan’s social elite. She is on the board of one of the city’s most prestigious philanthropic organizations. She has a perfect Tribeca penthouse in the city and a gorgeous lake house in the country. The finest wine, the most up-to-date fashion, and the most luxurious vacations are all at her fingertips.

What no one knows is that five years ago, Zoe’s life was in danger. Back then, Zoe wasn’t Zoe at all. Now her secrets are coming back to haunt her. As the past and present collide, Zoe must decide who she can trust before she—whoever she is—vanishes completely.

 

killing-kate

Killing Kate by Alex Lake

A serial killer is stalking your home town.He has a type: all his victims look the same.

And they all look like you.

Kate returns from a post break-up holiday with her girlfriends to news of a serial killer in her home town – and his victims all look like her.

It could, of course, be a simple coincidence. Or maybe not.

She becomes convinced she is being watched, followed even. Is she next? And could her mild-mannered ex-boyfriend really be a deranged murderer? Or is the truth something far more sinister?

 

Have you read any of these books? What is new on your TBR list? Feel free to leave me your links on the comment sections. Happy Tuesday!

23 comments on “Ten Books I’ve added to My To-Be-Read List Lately

  1. 4thhouseontheleft
    November 8, 2016

    I want to read the new Jodi Picoult book, too! I have taken a long break from her books, but this one might draw me back to the author. Great TTT!

    • Diana
      November 8, 2016

      I get what you mean. I have only read three of her books but its been a while. I hope this one will be great for both of us. Thanks:-)

  2. itsbooktalk
    November 8, 2016

    I have The Vanishing Year and The Whister on my list and I’m adding The Trophy Child which I have heard about but forgot to add to my goodreads shelf, so I’m glad you had this one up to remind me:) I haven’t read any of these picks but they all look interesting. I can’t wait to try The Vanishing Year

    • Diana
      November 8, 2016

      The Vanishing Year has such good reviews. I cant wait to try it too. Hopefully, we will both like it. I have been waiting for the Whistler for quite sometime. I think I will read it in December though. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      • itsbooktalk
        November 8, 2016

        I’m waiting on the Vanishing Year at the library as well, we’ll have to compare our thoughts after we read it:) and you’re welcome, I’m enjoying reading your reviews and chatting, that’s what makes blogging so fun….and all the great book recommendations:)

  3. Clues and Reviews
    November 8, 2016

    I read While You Were Sleeping and Small Great Things and loved them both! I have The Vanishing Year on my list of books to read. Killing Kate looks awesome too!!

    • Diana
      December 8, 2016

      sorry, I have just seen your comment. I don’t know why it had been spammed. I can’t wait to read Small Great Things. I also enjoyed While you were sleeping. I started reading Killing Kate but I am not enjoying it as much as I thought I would.

  4. alilovesbooks
    November 8, 2016

    I read quite a few Jodi Picoult books a few years and really enjoyed. They just started to become a bit samey so had to take a break but her latest one does sound good. I will be looking forward to your review.

    The Whistler is also on my TBR. He’s another author I used to read a lot but not much recently. I have read the first few chapters of this one and it did seem like my kind of book.

    • Diana
      November 8, 2016

      Jodi does seem to write about the same themes and most of her books are emotional reads.I do agree with you though.This one sounds really good.Gladto hear that The Whistler’s first chapters were good.I hope to enjoy it.I have read all his books apart from Gray Mountain and now this.I don’t know any other writers for legal thrillers but Grisham is great.Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      • alilovesbooks
        November 9, 2016

        I can’t actually think of any other legal thriller writers either now you mention it. I’m sure I must be missing someone obvious :/

  5. faithrivens
    November 8, 2016

    John Grisham is an author I know well, one whose film adaptations I’ve watched, and yet I’ve never read a single one of his books!
    Seems like you have a lot of great books to read! Hope you enjoy 😉

    • Diana
      November 8, 2016
      • Diana
        November 8, 2016

        His books do make great movies.I liked A Time to Kill,Runaway Jury and the Chamber.His books are really good too.Give them a try someday 🙂

        Thanks Faith 🙂

  6. ChrissiReads
    November 8, 2016

    While You Were Sleeping looks amazing! I’ll have to add that to my TBR! I’m also intrigued by the Paula Daly. I love her writing!

    • Diana
      November 10, 2016

      I can’t wait to read Trophy Child. I haven’t read anything else by Paula Day. Glad to hear that you enjoy her writing though. I hope I will too. Thanks for stopping by.Happy reading 🙂

  7. Annie
    November 8, 2016

    I’ve read great things about A Mother’s Confessions, can’t wait to read what yo think. And of course, about The Murder Game 😀

    • Diana
      November 10, 2016

      Thank you. I am almost through with A Mother’s Confession. It is a really good read though it has some really heavy themes. I can’t wait to read The Murder Game especially after reading your review.Thanks Annie 🙂

  8. Pingback: The Black Cat Blue Sea Award – How Useful It Is

  9. Jasmine
    November 9, 2016

    I like John Grisham’s books.. I have read a few but it has been many years since I have read them. Is this his newest one?

    • Diana
      November 10, 2016

      Yes, The Whistler is his latest book released in October this year. I haven’t read any of his books in a while but this one sounds really good. Thanks for stopping by Jasmine. Happy reading 🙂

  10. Lisa
    November 10, 2016

    So many of these look great! I don’t read a lot of thrillers, but I may need to check into a few of these. I did read the Jodi PIcoult book recently — will be interested to hear your thoughts once you read it!

    • Diana
      November 10, 2016

      Did you like Jodi’s book? I can’t wait to read it. Thanks for stopping by.Happy reading 🙂

      • Lisa
        November 10, 2016

        I did! I had a few minor quibbles with certain plot points, but overall, thought it was a powerful read.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , .
