A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Diversity Spotlight Thursday# November 10th

diverse-spotlight1

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly feature hosted by Aimal at Bookshelves and Paperbacks . Please click on this link to get more details about the feature.

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

A Book that I Have Read

perksThe Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Charlie is a freshman.

And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

I read this book last week and fell in love with it and the characters. It covers so many different themes such as mental health issues and homosexuality. It is about being different and accepted. You can read my review here.

A Book on my TBR

Born on a Tuesday.jpgBorn on a Tuesday by Elnathan John

In the far reaches of northwestern Nigeria, Dantala lives among a gang of street boys who sleep under a kuka tree. During the election, the boys are paid by the Small Party to cause trouble. When their attempt to burn down the opposition’s local headquarters ends in disaster, Dantala must run for his life, leaving his best friend behind. He makes his way to a mosque that provides him with food, shelter, and guidance. With his quick aptitude and modest nature, Dantala becomes a favored apprentice to the mosque’s benevolent sheikh. But before long, he is faced with a terrible conflict of loyalties. His mother is dying back in his native village, his brothers have joined a rival sect, and one of the sheikh’s closest advisers begins to raise his own radical movement. As bloodshed erupts in the city around him, Dantala must decide what kind of Muslim—and what kind of man—he wants to be.

Told in Dantala’s naive, searching voice, this astonishing debut explores the ways in which young men are seduced by religious fundamentalism and violence, and how friendship can prove to be the strongest bond of all.

I like the sound of this book especially because it covers aspects of religion and radicalism.

A Book yet to be released

leaversThe leavers by Lisa Ko

An emotionally harrowing debut novel that explores assimilation and loss, immigration and homeland, independence and connection.

One morning, Deming Guo’s mother, an undocumented Chinese immigrant named Polly, goes to her job at the nail salon and never comes home. No one can find any trace of her.

With his mother gone, eleven-year-old Deming is left with no one to care for him. He is eventually adopted by two white college professors who move him from the Bronx to a small town upstate. They rename him Daniel Wilkinson in their efforts to make him over into their version of an “all-American boy.” But far away from all he’s ever known, Daniel struggles to reconcile his new life with his mother’s disappearance and the memories of the family and community he left behind.

Set in New York and China, The Leavers is a vivid and moving examination of borders and belonging. It’s the story of how one boy comes into his own when everything he’s loved has been taken away–and how a mother learns to live with the mistakes of her past.This powerful debut is the winner of the 2016 PEN/Bellwether Prize for fiction, awarded by Barbara Kingsolver for a novel that addresses issues of social justice.

This book will be published on May 2, 2017. I have requested it on NetGalley but I am still waiting for feedback.

Have you read any of these books?

Happy Thursday

12 comments on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday# November 10th

  1. Annie
    November 10, 2016

    The leavers sounds pretty interesting! I have a question,how do you search these type of books?

    • Diana
      November 11, 2016

      which ones? The ones yet to be released or the Diverse reads in general? Yeah I really liked the sound of the Leavers.

      • Annie
        November 11, 2016

        Diverse 😃

        • Diana
          November 11, 2016

          Oh Ok. I just get them the same way as the other books. For instance; I saw Leavers on my Dashboard on NetGalley and the description is what made me request it. Some of the other books like Perks were books I didn’t even know were diverse when I get them. So I guess I am not deliberate in my searches(I hope that makes sense) but If I find one that I like then I pick it.

          • Annie
            November 11, 2016

            Oh, I thought there was a blog or a website haha For example, the historical reads I usually see them on Historical Novel Society or the Goodreads 2017 Historical list haha

          • Diana
            November 11, 2016

            lol no but thanks for mentioning that. I will check the sites and Google page :-)Perhaps I will make some interesting new finds.

  2. Pingback: Diversity Spotlight Thursday: #13 – Bookshelves & Paperbacks

  3. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
    November 13, 2016

    Great collection of books, Diana. I also found The Leavers of NetGalley, but I don’t know whether I will want to read it. Either way, I love reading these posts. Keep ’em coming!

    • Diana
      November 14, 2016

      Thank you.What made you uncertain about The Leavers?Im yet to get feedback on my request though.

      • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
        November 14, 2016

        Honestly, because it sounds sad! There are only so many free moments in the day and I don’t want to fill them with sadness intentionally. I plan on waiting until I hear from more reviewers before making me decision on whether to read it.

        • Diana
          November 15, 2016

          I get what you mean and you should definitely read the books that you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Diversity Spotlight Thursday and tagged , .
