A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: A Mother’s Confession by Kelly Rimmer

mothers-confessionDescription

‘He’s dead and I’m safe, but I’m still scared. Sometimes I actually miss him, but then in the very next breath I find that I hate him so much that I hope there is a hell, just so that he can be suffering like he left me here to suffer.’

Olivia and David were the perfect couple with their whole lives in front of them. When beautiful baby daughter Zoe came along, their world seemed complete.

But now David is dead and Olivia’s world is in pieces. While she is consumed with grief, her mother-in-law Ivy is also mourning the loss of her son. Both women are hiding secrets about the man they loved. Secrets that have put the family in danger.

Something was very wrong in Olivia and David’s marriage. Can Olivia and Ivy break their silence and speak the truth? A mother should protect her child, whatever the cost…shouldn’t she?

Review

A Mother’s Confession by Kelly Rimmer begins at the aftermath of David’s death. His wife, Olivia, is left picking up the pieces and she also contemplates on the marriage that they had. On the other hand, his mother, Ivy, is coming to terms with the loss of her son. These are the two POVs through which the story is told.

The story is narrated in two timelines. Olivia’s narrations are about life after David’s death. It is evident that she is battling with depression and having a hard time dealing with everything. On the other hand, the second timeline is about the past. We get a glimpse into David’s life from the time he was born to his death. This narration was quite chilling. It was obvious from the blurb to the first chapters that David was abusive. However, through Ivy’s narration, we sort of get a glimpse into the making of an abuser.

This book reminded me a lot of It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover. The theme is the same but I like how both books tackled the issue of abuse without seeming preachy. Through the pages you get some details from the narratives that will make you stop and think. I know some of them may seem obvious to many people but they are still important. I once dated someone who liked going through my phone (openly) and I never thought much about it (apart from the fact that I hated it) but now I see that whole issue in a different light. This book is thought provoking in every way.

The two main characters are opposites of each other. I don’t want to give away many details but I really liked one of them and was so disgusted by the other one. The one who disgusted me made me so angry. I didn’t understand her actions in any way. The two women and both mothers but still, one of them is just vile as much as she hides behind the veil of a mother’s unconditional love. The author did a great job with the character development in this book. Olivia is so realistic. Her order is relatable because it is what we hear about domestic abuse. The covering up of bruises, being asked to quit work, making excuses for the abuser, the possessiveness and the jealousy. It is all real. Ivy is like most mothers who would do anything for their kids. Mothers who believe that their kids are just misunderstood and hence end up being blind to all their children’s faults. Even David was a memorable character. He is an abuser but I was intrigued about him. One question I still ask myself about him and all other abusers is if they really think that they are in love with their victims. Do they believe that what they are doing comes from love? Did David love Olivia or did he just want to control and possess her? Are they aware of their own actions and the effect on their victims?

A Mother’s Confession by Kelly Kimmer is a slow-paced narrative. This is the kind of narration that moves slow but it works well that way. However, there was a huge, devastating twist at some point that I could never have guessed. It’s the kind of twist that makes you want to go to the beginning of the book and read everything just to see the story unfold with the new knowledge. It was heartbreaking, shocking and I was totally blindsided.

Final Thoughts: I really liked this book. It’s the kind of book that I feel like everyone should read. This is the third book that has made me feel that way this year. The other two are Wrecked by Maria Padian and It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover. I definitely recommend it to everyone. It’s an intriguing domestic noir that was hard to put down. The twist was shocking, heartbreaking and just unpredictable. Seriously, just get the book because I don’t even have enough words to recommend it enough!

My gratitude to Bookouture and NetGalley for providing a copy of this wonderful book and this is my honest review. By the way, I really like Bookouture, all their books are awesome and they have given me so many opportunities to read their titles!

13 comments on “Book Review: A Mother’s Confession by Kelly Rimmer

  1. Yvo
    November 12, 2016

    Sounds like a great read; I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it! 🙂

    • Diana
      November 13, 2016

      It is.Thank you 🙂

  2. caffeinatious
    November 12, 2016

    I have It Ends with Us on my TBR list, but this one sounds worth reading also. Thanks and great post! 🙂

    • Diana
      November 13, 2016

      Thank you.Both books are great.I hope that you will like them as much as I did.

  3. Grab the Lapels
    November 12, 2016

    I felt i learned a lot about domestic violence when I read this book: https://grabthelapels.com/2016/03/15/how-to-knock-a-bravebird-from-her-perch/

    • Diana
      November 13, 2016

      Thanks.I’ll check it out.Haven’t heard about the book before

      • Grab the Lapels
        November 13, 2016

        It’s published by a very strong and entrepreneurial woman!

  4. Donna
    November 12, 2016

    I am greatly intrigued by this book! I love Bookouture, they never disappoint! 🙂

    • Diana
      November 13, 2016

      Bookouture is great especially for thrillers 🙂 I definitely reccomend this book

  5. Annie
    November 13, 2016

    I’m super intrigued by this as everyone I trust is loving it! OK JUST REQUESTED IT. I’m the worst, I don’t even have the time xDD

    • Diana
      November 13, 2016

      Haha that is how I end up with an overflowing NetGalley shelf 🙂 I hope that you get approved though and end up liking the book.

  6. Pingback: WWW-Wednesday #November 16th | A Haven for Book Lovers

  7. Pingback: A Mother’s Confession (Kelly Rimmer) – THE MISSTERY

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2016 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , , .
