A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

homosapiensSixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Review

I had this book on my TBR for a while before finally deciding to read it.My decision was influenced by a recommendation on a diversity books post. The main character and narrator of the story is Simon. Simon is writing anonymous letters to another guy only known as Blue. Through the letters, we know more about the two characters and their lives.  There were also other chapters about his friends and family that were not narrated through letters.

At first the story was confusing. There were many characters and so much going on at the same time. I found myself skipping ahead to the letters between Simon and Blue which were adorable by the way but I wasn’t interested in the other chapters. I almost DNFed the book but got some encouragement through my WWW post from other readers who had enjoyed the book.

I think the best thing about this book is the protagonist, Simon. He is witty, weird (in a good way) and quite relatable and likable. Simon made it easy to root for him. I found myself laughing through some chapters but empathizing with him through others as he went through different issues of being bullied and having a crush on a guy who he had never met.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli is a book about family and friendships. The book tackles the issue of homophobia and it was heartbreaking to see just how mean and intolerant people could be. It is also a story about a young, brave man on his road to self-identity and acceptance. It’s a heartwarming story with a number of wonderful diverse characters .The book had me smiling through the final chapters. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a diverse read.

White shouldn’t be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn’t even be a default.

15 comments on “Book Review: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

  1. One of my favorite books from last year Diana! And it gave me a whole new appreciation for Oreos!💁🏻

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      I loved everything about the Simon-Blue relationship:-) I am glad that you enjoyed this book too.

  2. Transhaan
    November 15, 2016

    Great review! Glad to hear the protagonist was fun to hang out with. 😛

    – Lashaan

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      He really was. Thanks 🙂

  3. Yvo
    November 15, 2016

    Great review! I’m glad things got better for you. Simon and Blue are on my list of all time favorite couples; they’re too cute together!

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      I totally agree with you about Simon and Blue.Their relationship was so adorable. I liked the letters and all the little jokes that they used to share. Its a wonderful book. Thank you 🙂

  4. Kayla @ Kdrewkthebookworm
    November 15, 2016

    I’m glad you enjoyed this book! It’s been on my TBR for a little bit, and I really hope to get to it soon. I hope it’s just as good as everyone says it is😉great review!

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      Thanks and I hope that you will enjoy it as much as I did 🙂

  5. I’m hoping to read this book in the next few months, as it’s been on my TBR for ages! What star rating would you give it? Nice review!

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      Thank you and I hope that you will enjoy is as much as I did. I would give it 4 stars. I enjoyed the book but I did struggle with the first sections.

  6. Diana Prince Reviews
    November 15, 2016

    I’m really not sure why this book has been sitting on my TBR for so long, because all I’ve heard is praise for it. I’m so glad you stuck with it and ended up enjoying it more than at the start. Definitely making a note to pick up this one soon!

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      I also had it for quite sometime until someone mentioned it recently and I decided to read it. I hope that you will enjoy it when you get to it 🙂

  7. Annie
    November 15, 2016

    It’s hard for me to understand homophobia, I really can’t believe how people can be cruel to each other just because of their sexual orientation. Anyway, I’m glad you enjoyed this one and ended up smiling because of it ^^ That is a wonderful feeling!

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      Thanks Annie. Yeah its unfortunate that people have so much hate. I feel sorry for the LGBTQ community especially here and most of the other countries in Africa where they are still a long a long way from being accepted and they still get harassed and imprisoned. So much hate and discrimination in the world.

      • Annie
        November 15, 2016

        😦 That’s so horrible… Homophobia and racism are two concepts I’ll never understand.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2016 by in Bookish Post and tagged .
