A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Movie Adaptations

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

This week’s instructions: Movie Freebie — top ten all time favorite movies, top ten foreign films, top ten rom-coms, top ten 90’s movies, top ten action flicks, top ten tear-jerkers, top ten movies your favorite actor/actress is in, top ten movies with PoC leads, etc. etc.)

Here are my favorite movie adaptations

The Book ThiefThis is one of my favorite books of all time. I also liked the movie although of course all the missing parts(some scenes that I thought were important) bugged me. However, I still liked it and ended up watching it a couple of times perhaps hoping for a different ending. The movie also made me realize that I had been pronouncing Liesel’s name wrongly when reading the book

Me Before youThe Characters made this movie much more enjoyable. I didn’t love the book like most people did but I liked it and the movie was nice

gone-girl-ben-affleck-rosamund-pike-entertainment-weekly-cover

Gone Girl-The movie and the book were both great

Memoirs of GeishaOne of the best movies that I have ever watched. The cinematography was amazing although I complained to everyone about all the parts that were left out from the book lol. I kept thinking that my friends were not quite getting the movie because of all the missing parts.Seriously, at some point I was watching them watch the movie to see their reactions. I mean how could they live out so much.I guess that must have annoyed them.

Nicholas Sparks- I love the Nicholas Sparks movie adaptations. I have watched The Notebook so many times yet it still remains one of my favorite movies. His movies are all great!

  • The Notebook
  • Dear John
  • Safe Haven
  • A Walk to remember
  • The Message in a Bottle

 

John Grisham-I have always enjoyed Grisham books and the movie adaptations. My favorite one is A Time to Kill. I haven’t watched any of his movies in a while though.

  • A Time to Kill
  • The Chambers
  • The Firm
  • Runaway Jury

 

A Movie that I can’t wait to watch

the-girl

Movies and Books that I would want to read/watch

  • The Queen of Katwe– This movie is set in Uganda and one of the main actresses is Lupita Nyongo.
  • Miss Peregrine Home for Peculiar Children– I have seen  many bloggers mention this book though I am yet to read it. I think that I will start with the movie though.

 

Movies that I enjoyed but don’t plan on reading the book

  • The Lord of the Rings Trilogy- My preecciiioouus!~

 

Happy Tuesday!

 

 

 

30 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Movie Adaptations

  1. Annie
    November 15, 2016

    What a great post! Gone Girl movie was amazing, Dark Places not so much (it is not so well known!)

    The Notebook is a wonderful movie, but I didn’t enjoy the others that much (except for A walk to remember but I think it’s more because I was like 12 when I watched it XD)
    As for Grisham, my favorite is Runaway Jury because in addition it’s one of my favorite movies ever. I watch it every year lol I know the book is so different, but I believe the film is just perfect. A time to kill is a close second!

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      I havent read or watched Dark Places yet.Lol I only got to read and watch A Walk to Remember last year :-)It must have made an impression on you though at such a young age.

      Your comment on Runaway Jury makes me want to rewatcg it.Its been forever

      • Annie
        November 15, 2016

        Read the book first 😛

        A walk to remember the film is also super different to the book, I liked the film better. I feel like I’m the only one who sometimes likes films better than the books.

        Like with Brooklyn. THE MOVIE WAS SO MUCH BETTER XD

  2. The Book Thief was a really good adaptation, which I was really pleased about because it’s one of my favourite books. I’ve not read Memoirs of a Geisha or seen the film, but I’m really keen to get to both. Great post!

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      Glad to meet someone else who loved The Book Thief(book and movie).Memoir was great.Start with the book though to enjoy the movie more 🙂

  3. Anastasia
    November 15, 2016

    I’m scared for my poor heart…haven’t dared to watch Me Before You yet! Maybe soon 😀 I really liked Book Thief and Memoirs of a Geisha as films too.

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      I totally get you and Me Before You movie is wonderful though has the same effect as the book.You should watch it soon though.

  4. faithrivens
    November 15, 2016

    Oh, you have to read The Lord of the Rings! They’re classic fantasy! I hope you change your mind 🙂
    Have a great week!

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      Your comment may have just convinced me not to dismiss the book completely.Perhaps I’ll read it someday.Thanks 🙂

      • faithrivens
        November 16, 2016

        Yay! I hope you enjoy if you do!
        Stay well 🙂

  5. elenasquareeyes
    November 15, 2016

    I love Gone Girl! That is definitely a brilliant film adaptation. Queen of Katwe is really good btw, both the book and the film are really touching and inspirational.
    While I love Lord of The Rings films it took me years to actually read the books, I’ve only read them once and that’s enough for me. 🙂

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      I will probably watch Queen of Katwe before reading the book because the movie is easier to get at the moment.Glad to hear that you enjoyed both.I can’t wait to watch it.

      I feel like Lord of the Rings will be like reading Game if Thrones Big,complex books so I’m not sure about ever reading them 🙂

  6. ChrissiReads
    November 15, 2016

    I’m happy to see Me Before You on your favourite list. I’m so nervous about reading it, as I love the book so much! Gone Girl is a great adaptation!

    • Diana
      November 15, 2016

      The cast helped make the adaption great.You should check out the movie if you get a chance 🙂

  7. Diana Prince Reviews
    November 16, 2016

    There are so many of these I desperately need to watch, especially Me Before You, which I was so excited for but wasn’t able to catch while it was on the big screen. I tried reading the LOTR books a couple years ago, but I could not manage it. The movies are still incredible, though 🙂 awesome list!

    My TTT

    • Diana
      November 16, 2016

      I agree with you concerning LOTR movies. I loved them though I don’t think that I will ever pick the books. I hope that you will get to watch Me Before You Soon. Its wonderful 🙂 Thanks for visiting. I am heading over to your post now 🙂

  8. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense
    November 16, 2016

    I haven’t read Lord of the Rings, but the films are so great. Like you, I’m not sure if I’ll ever read the books. Gone Girl was a really good adaptation of the novel. Great list!

    • Diana
      November 17, 2016

      I agree with you about Gone Girl and yeah I don’t think I will read Lord of The Rings but I always recommend the movies to others. Thank you 🙂

  9. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews
    November 16, 2016

    I wasn’t a fan of the Gone Girl book, but I loved the movie!!

    • Diana
      November 17, 2016

      The movie was great. I liked both though 🙂

  10. Jamie Wu
    November 16, 2016

    Great list! I can’t wait to watch the Girl on the Train and Miss Peregrine’s too. I haven’t read the books yet but I wonder if I should wait until after I’ve read them to watch them.
    I hope you’ll change your mind and read the Lord of the Rings one day. There are some differences between the books and the film that the film improved on, but I think a lot of the story is better experienced on the pages.

    • Diana
      November 17, 2016

      I definitely recommend reading The Girl on the Train especially if you like thrillers. I really enjoyed the book though I am not sure about the movie since I haven’t yet watched it. I am definitely going to watch Miss Perengrine first though 🙂

      Thanks for your comment concerning Lord of The Rings. I will consider reading them someday

  11. Donna
    November 16, 2016

    I couldn’t agree more on Me Before You! We had the same opinion on it 🙂 I couldn’t enjoy Memoirs of a Geisha because of the mainly Korean cast. As a student in Japanese, it annoyed me to no end that they didn’t choose Japanese women. I’ll be reading The Firm very soon (I hope!) and I can’t to see the movie after!

    • Diana
      November 17, 2016

      I get what you mean about Memoirs of a Geisha. I didn’t know much about the cast but I do understand what you mean. That happens a lot with African movies which always end up with Hollywood actors. I mean I love Idris Alba but I don’t get why he is the go to guy in Nigerian movies while the country has its own actors.

      I hope that you will enjoy The Firm 🙂

      • Donna
        November 18, 2016

        Exactly, why do they feel the need to do this? Baffles me every time…!

  12. Sara McIntyre
    November 23, 2016

    Hi there! I love your selection, although for most of them i have only seen the movie adaptation and have not read the book, being the film nerd that I am. If you’re interested in some great movie suggestions, I would really appreciate it if you could take a few minutes to check out my blog! (I noticed that you really want to watch Girl on the Train and it just so happens that its on my upcoming list of films to review) Good luck with that one, it stuck with me for at least a week and not exactly in a good way at all. Anyways I hope my blog will be of some interest to you in the future! Thanks again.
    https://reelviewsbysara.wordpress.com

    • Diana
      November 24, 2016

      Thanks Sara.I have just followed your blog and will be checking out your reviews.Nice to meet you 🙂

      • Sara McIntyre
        November 24, 2016

        Thank you so much! I hope you enjoy them. It’s nice to meet you too.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2016 by in Bookish Post and tagged .
