A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Friday Finds #November 18th

Friday Finds is a meme currently hosted by Jenn at Books and a Beat This is an opportunity to share the books that you have recently found and added to your TBR.

 I added three books to my TBR this week.

 

Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

 California’s gold country, 1850. A time when men sold their souls for a bag of gold and women sold their bodies for a place to sleep.

Angel expects nothing from men but betrayal. Sold into prostitution as a child she survives by keeping her hatred alive. And what she hates most are the men who use her, leaving her empty and dead inside.

Then she meets Michael Hosea. A man who seeks his Father’s heart in everything, Michael obeys God’s call to marry Angel and to love her unconditionally. Slowly, day by day, he defies Angel’s every bitter expectation, until despite her resistance, her frozen heart begins to thaw.

But with her unexpected softening come overwhelming feelings of unworthiness and fear. And so Angel runs. Back to the darkness, away from her husband’s pursuing love, terrified of the truth she no longer can deny: Her final healing must come from the One who loves her even more than Michael does … the One who will never let her go.

 

I almost Forgot about you by Terry McMillan

 In I Almost Forgot About You, Dr. Georgia Young’s wonderful life–great friends, family, and successful career–aren’t enough to keep her from feeling stuck and restless. When she decides to make some major changes in her life, quitting her job as an optometrist, and moving house, she finds herself on a wild journey that may or may not include a second chance at love. Like Waiting to Exhale and How Stella Got Her Groove Back, I Almost Forgot About You will show legions of readers what can happen when you face your fears, take a chance, and open yourself up to life, love, and the possibility of a new direction

 

I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid

 In this deeply suspenseful and irresistibly unnerving debut novel, a man and his girlfriend are on their way to a secluded farm. When the two take an unexpected detour, she is left stranded in a deserted high school, wondering if there is any escape at all. What follows is a twisted unraveling that will haunt you long after the last page is turned.

In this smart, suspenseful, and intense literary thriller, debut novelist Iain Reid explores the depths of the human psyche, questioning consciousness, free will, the value of relationships, fear, and the limitations of solitude. Reminiscent of Jose Saramago’s early work, Michel Faber’s cult classic Under the Skin, and Lionel Shriver’s We Need to Talk about Kevin, I’m Thinking of Ending Things is an edgy, haunting debut. Tense, gripping, and atmospheric, this novel pulls you in from the very first page…and never lets you go

So those are my newest books. How about you? Did you add any books to your bookshelf this week? Have you read of my new finds? Let me know.

 

Happy Friday!

 

 

16 comments on “Friday Finds #November 18th

  1. The Suspense Is Thrilling Me
    November 18, 2016

    Redeeming Love is one of my all time favs-enjoy!

    • Diana
      November 19, 2016

      Glad to hear that.I have read a few titles by Rivers which I enjoyed.I can’t wait to read this one 🙂

  2. Donna
    November 18, 2016

    I love the sound of I Almost Forgot About You!

    • Diana
      November 19, 2016

      I do too.I have never read anything but the author though I watched the movie for How Stella got her groove back.

  3. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
    November 19, 2016

    Oooh- all of these are new to me. I can’t wait to hear what you think of them!

    • Diana
      November 19, 2016

      Thank you :-)Have a wonderful weekend and enjoy your books 🙂

  4. Susie | Novel Visits
    November 19, 2016

    I read I’m Thinking of Ending Things last summer. At first I didn’t like it that much, but then it really grew on me. It’s very different, scary. There’s a review on my blog, under multi-book reviews. (I did it with a few others.) Happy reading!

    • Diana
      November 19, 2016

      I will look for your review.I picked the book without having read any reviews about it.I’d definitely like to read what you thought about it.your comment has me intrigued already

    • JP Robinson
      March 2, 2017

      I just wrote my first Christian Fiction novel, Twiceborn, that is set in 16th century France at the beautiful Palace of Versailles. Would you be able to read the free chapter I have available on my website and email me with your feedback?
      https://www.jprobinsonbooks.com/

  5. Yvo
    November 19, 2016

    Great finds! I like the sound of all three of them. Happy reading and have a great weekend!

    • Diana
      November 19, 2016

      Thank you.Enjoy your weekend too 🙂

  6. Annie
    November 20, 2016

    Redeeming love seems super interesting. I’m curious about I’m thinking of ending things since I’ve read so many negative reviews!!

    • Diana
      November 22, 2016

      I started reading I’m thinking of ending things but it starts out so slow so I have put it aside for later. It sounds like an interesting read though the setting is a bit weird/unique. I will check out some of its review on goodreads.

      • Annie
        November 22, 2016

        Ouch, I hope you end up liking it!

  7. JP Robinson
    January 18, 2017

    Have to admit even though I’m a guy the story of Redeeming Love was powerful. It actually helped shape my own manuscript: Twiceborn.

  8. JP Robinson
    January 18, 2017

    It has a powerful message.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 18, 2016 by in Bookish Post and tagged , , .
