A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: This Child of Mine by Sinéad Moriarty

child-of-mineBook Description

This Child of Mine is the story of two daughters, two mothers and the extraordinary bond of motherly love. It’s a unique blend of the storytelling genius of Jodi Picoult and the compassion and humour of Marian Keyes, in a complex and deeply involving story that will have readers arguing about the nature of motherhood and the rights and wrongs of the characters’ actions.

Sophie is a happy 18-year-old living in London with Anna, her Irish mother. Anna has devoted her life to Sophie. It may be just the two of them but Anna has more than enough love to give. Sophie has everything she could ever need.

Laura is a not-so-happy artist. She too has a daughter, Mandy. But Laura is haunted by the loss of her first child, Jody. Happy-go-lucky as she is, Mandy lives in Jody’s shadow and wonders why her mother can never let go.

Both mothers carry secrets and cannot forget the day their paths crossed. But a chance discovery is about to bring everything into the open and mothers and daughters, love and lies, past and future, will spectacularly collide.

Review

This Child of Mine by Sinéad Moriarty is a book about love, loss and family. It tells the story of two women, Anna and Laura, who have had to make very tough choices concerning their daughters and are now being forced to deal with the consequences.

The story begins with the discovery of the secret connection between the two mothers and their daughters. Sophie sees something on the news that throws her whole world into chaos as it dawns on her that her mother may have  been lying to her for the past seventeen years. After the first chapter, the story goes back eighteen years before the two women are mothers. Laura was only nineteen years when she got pregnant after a one nightstand with a stranger. On the other hand, Anna and her husband are looking forward to parenthood. The two women’s paths cross setting events in motion that ends up affecting everyone in their lives.

child-of-mine-3

My favorite character in the book was Sophie. I could relate to the emotions that she was going through. In addition, she was genuinely a nice person just caught up in a crazy situation. However, all the other characters were unlikable. Anna and Laura were sympathetic in some chapters and  despicable in others. I found myself shifting sympathies between the two . Other characters like Frank were just mean. Joan was a complex character who shifted between being nice and just hateful.

The story-line was interesting but there was so much going on at the same time. I know this isn’t exactly a thriller so I didn’t expect it to be fast-paced. Nevertheless, too much was going on that didn’t add much to the story. I didn’t care about the little details about the characters and the mundane information about their days and conversations. This is not an issue with the book though. I just find myself enjoying books that are plot driven rather than character-driven so the extra details unrelated to the story tend to bug me.

child-of-mine-2This Child of Mine by Sinéad Moriarty is a story about motherhood. What makes a good mother? Should bad mothers lose the right to raise their kids?Is it ever justified to take a child away from the mother? Is there a limit to a mother’s love? The book also focuses on the children at the heart of the story. Nobody chooses when and where to be born. We also don’t get to choose our parents but have to survive in the situations that we end up in. It is a thought-provoking book. Sections of the book reminded me of Switched at Birth though the story-line is not the same. I recommend this book to readers who enjoy books with themes about family.

Ps: I saw the reviews on goodreads before reading this book and honestly, I was a bit scared and even considered skipping it. The fact that this was an Arc is what made me read it in the end.  Suprisingly, I ended up enjoying the book. Give the book a chance…that is all that I am saying.

5 comments on “Book Review: This Child of Mine by Sinéad Moriarty

  1. Great review Diana! I’m going to see if I can get this at my library.💁🏻

  2. Donna
    November 27, 2016

    It’s too bad the story was lost in a sea of mundane information and details at times. I am curious about the subject though so I should give it a try, I enjoy character-driven stories when they’re well-handled 🙂 Great review!

    • Diana
      November 28, 2016

      I think that you will like this one more than I did because its definitely character driven. I usually get lost in all the details and lose track of the story when there is so much going on at the same time and too much information is being given outside the story-line. Check this one if you get a chance. Thank you 🙂

  3. Annie
    November 27, 2016

    If it’s similar to Jodi Picoult then it will be super dramatic lol I read two books by her and I was left super depressed!

    But I also love character-driven stories, as DOnna says. Excellent review Diana ^^

    • Diana
      November 28, 2016

      Thanks Annie. Character-driven stories are a challenge for me. Like Missing Presumed which everyone liked but I didn’t because of the details. This book had some interesting themes though.

      Jodi has some really emotional books lol. This one is emotional but no so much.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 27, 2016 by in Book Review, Bookish Post.
