A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

baby-doll-1Description

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.

This is what happens next…

…to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter…and to her captor.

Review

I received a copy of this book last Friday evening and immediately started reading it. It was 3:00am in the morning when I finally turned the last page. I haven’t found myself that engrossed in a book in quite a while. Baby Doll by Hollie Overton starts with Lily and her daughter, Sky, locked up in the basement of a cabin. We soon find out that she had spent 8 years in the basement held as a sex slave. However, Lily soon managed to breakout when her captor forgot to lock the door one night and that is where it all begins.

The book focuses on Lily’s life after captivity. She tries to rebuild her shattered life but finds out that it is not so easy. Years in captivity have taken a toll on her physically and mentally. In addition, the world moved on while she seems to have gotten stuck to the day when she was kidnapped. I found myself sympathizing with her as she struggled to get back her life.

On the other hand, her captor is still alive and he is determined to get her back or at least find a replacement. I thought it was really interesting that the author include this  PoV. As readers, we get an insight of the depraved workings of the captor’s mind. We learn about his motives and addictions. His mind is a creepy place to be stuck in but it is also very fascinating in a weird way. I looked forward to his twisted narrations with both dread and anticipation.

The third narrator in the book was Abby, Lily’s twin sister. We get to learn more about Abby’s life after she lost her twin. She is riddled with guilt based on decisions made on that fateful day that Lilly disappeared and also the guilt of having moved on in some ways when Lily was gone.  The last PoV was narrated by Eve, Lily’s mother. Losing her daughter affected her in a number of ways and as readers; we get to go through different emotions with Eve as gets her daughter back.

This book had such a wonderful, easy flow to it. I liked the pacing and the fact that there were a number of little twists along the way. There was also the suspense surrounding the villain especially when it became apparent just how committed he was in getting his revenge. The title of the book becomes really creepy once you find out what it meant especially to the captor.

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton is a wonderful psychological thriller. I liked how it focused on life after captivity instead of the abduction. It was quite an emotional read in some chapters as we get to see how Lily and her daughter, Sky are coping with the new life. The book reminded me of Room by Emma Donoghue in some ways but it was still unique in its own way.

baby-doll-2

26 comments on “Book Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

  1. Ooh! This definitely sounds like my cup of tea Diana! Fabulous review!💁🏻

    • Diana
      December 21, 2016

      Thank you. I hope that you will like the book if you decide to read it 🙂

  2. Travelling inside books
    December 20, 2016

    Amazing review, this books sounds awesome ❤ I wish I could receive an arc too 😦

    I do not want to take of your time, but please if you have some free 5min would you please check my post (https://inesninous.wordpress.com/2016/12/20/how-did-reading-introduce-me-to-tshirt-designing/) I need some opinions
    Thnaks a lot

  3. Jasmine
    December 20, 2016

    Oh wow. On the news in recent years I have heard of this kind of hostage. But the news hardly talk about the victims adjusting to life after captivity. It does sounds like an interesting read. Really awesome review! Can’t wait to read this book!

    • Diana
      December 21, 2016

      I think this is why I liked this book and Room by Emma,Donoghue.They focus more on life after captivity.Its sad that these stuff happens in the world today.

      • Jasmine
        December 21, 2016

        Yes, very sad. In USA a man was caught for holding 3 girls captive for over 10 years. One of the girls is his daughter’s friend and he even helped that family searched for the girl while her family thought she went missing. I’m appalled by what people allowed themselves to do to another being.

  4. Annie
    December 20, 2016

    3 in the morning? Haha How addictive! I can’t read at night, I already told you, I always fall asleep. I love the sound of this, but as I told you, I also read some things that made me think I wouldn’t enjoy this as much! Excellent review ❤

    • Diana
      December 21, 2016

      Yeah I remember you mentioning about not reading at night.For me,sometimes its the only time I can and I was home alone then so I decided to maximize and read the whole book :-)I have seen the mixed reviews on goodreads so I kinda get what you mean.Thank you 🙂

  5. cleopatralovesbooks
    December 21, 2016

    This does sound fab Diana – isn’t it great (well until the next day) when you get a book you simply have to keep reading?

    • Diana
      December 21, 2016

      One of the best feeling ever :-)I really wanted to read this oneand so I ended up dropping everything else when I got my copy.Glad it ended up being worth it 🙂

  6. alilovesbooks
    December 21, 2016

    Great review. I have this but haven’t gotten around to yet so I’m really glad to hear you enjoyed it so much.

    • Diana
      December 21, 2016

      I hope that you will like it too. Looking forward to your review. Happy reading 🙂

  7. Zezee
    December 21, 2016

    Sounds like a really good read. I hardly go for these sort of books because I always get impatient and just read the end to see how it wraps up and make sure the characters I like are okay. But it would be cool to see a movie or TV show of it. I have no choice but to wait for the end to come then.

    • Diana
      December 21, 2016

      I think the movie will be great though,that is if they decide to make one.I have never skipped to the end but I do get why you would do that especially if its not a genre that you don’t read much 🙂

  8. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense
    December 21, 2016

    This sounds like a such an intriguing read. What a crazy story, I can feel the suspense from here. Great review!

    • Diana
      December 21, 2016

      Yes it is. I liked the fact that the suspense and tension was maintained even after the captives escaped. Thank you 🙂

  9. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
    December 22, 2016

    Wow! This must have been so addicting for you to keep reading until 3am. I am a bit jealous– it’s been a while since my attention has been captured like that. All these thriller reviews make me feel like I’m really missing out on a great genre!
    Does Sky escape with Lily (if that’s a spoiler, don’t share!), and does this story also follow her? Or is she more there to help us understand the struggles that Lily is facing?

    • Diana
      January 9, 2017

      Sorry I am replying this a little late.

      Yes, Sky does escape with Lily but she plays more of a supporting role though as readers, we also get to see her readjusting to life on the outside.

      Thank you 🙂

  10. Grab the Lapels
    December 28, 2016

    In 2013 Ariel Castro was arrested after neighbors heard a woman crying for help. He had kidnapped three young women over two years, kept them for ten years, and starved and beat one woman until she miscarried. One woman DID have a child by Castro during that time. I very distinctly remember this story breaking and my dear and horror. I can’t read and be entertained by books using the premiss of sex slaves, rape, torture, and then a big revenge plot. To me, there are ethical issues for profiting on such stories, unless the author is donating her money to abuse victims.

    • Diana
      January 9, 2017

      I do get what you mean but I also think how we perceive the books maybe a bit different.

      I feel like it is important to have books about abuse. Last year, I read Wrecked by Maria Padian which tackled the issue of women being raped while drunk. It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover tackled the issue of domestic abuse. This book tackles a number of issues about abuse survivors(adult and child). It also gives both the perspective of the abused and the abuser.

      Like the synopsis explains, Babydoll is about the woman and her child and their life after captivity. The tagline sums it up as …this is just the beginning… It is not about entertainment but more about authors creating characters who get tell the difficult stories in a way that is relatable. As a survivor of abuse, I don’t know how to explain it but it means a lot to find someone who understands what you have been through (even if they are fictional characters). Their story makes you feel like you are not alone. It kind of gives you some hope to see how they survive the ordeal and rebuild their lives.

      In this book, the author tackled some really sensitive issues and one that stood out for me was about getting pregnant through rape and making the decision on whether to keep the baby or not and how the victim feels about the issue versus society’s perceptions. Other issues include how family members are affected by the ordeal and how they support the victim.

      I think these are real issues and the author tackled them with the sensitivity that they deserve.

      • Grab the Lapels
        January 9, 2017

        Ahhh, I see what you mean. I was more focused on the the revenge aspect, like the victim becomes a sensationalized vigilante.

  11. Rose Hart
    January 6, 2017

    Oh this does sound good! Thanks for the review, glad I stumbled across your blog!

    • Diana
      January 9, 2017

      Thank you Rose. Nice to meet you 🙂 I will check out your blog shortly.

  12. Pingback: The Walls by Hollie Overton | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 20, 2016 by in Bookish Post.
