A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Witness – Caroline Mitchell

witnessAbout the Book

To Rebecca it was a brave decision that led to her freedom from domestic abuse. To Solomon it was the ultimate betrayal.

It’s been ten years since Rebecca’s testimony saw Solomon locked away. Enough time for the nightmares to recede, the nerves to relax; enough time to rebuild her life and put the past behind her.

Then one day a phone rings in her bedroom—but it’s not her phone. Solomon has been in her home, and has a very simple message for her: for each of the ten years he has spent in jail, Rebecca must witness a crime. And, to make matters worse, she has to choose the victims.

Fail to respond and you get hurt. Talk to police and you die. Ready to play? You have sixty seconds to decide…

As the crimes grow more severe, the victims closer to home, Rebecca is forced to confront a past she had hoped was gone forever.

Review

Witness by Caroline Mitchell tells the story of Rebecca who is trapped in a nightmare. Someone from her past is back in her life determined to make her suffer as a way of taking his revenge on her. Rebecca’s testimony is what put Solomon in prison. As a way of punishing her, he forces her to witness ten crimes with a threat that she will be killed if she reports any of these crimes.

The book started out a bit slow for me but once the crimes started, I just couldn’t put it down. It was interesting yet frightening waiting to see what kind of crime Solomon would pick and the victims that Rebecca was forced to choose. The crimes were all different and seemingly random so it was hard to predict what would happen next.

The story is narrated through two timelines. We get to learn about Rebecca and Solomon from the  time that they met to when the relationship fell apart.  I liked how the author used Rebecca’s diary to narrate about the past. I kept looking forward to the diary entries to find out what happened between the two.  Apart from the diary entries, there were text messages that added to the tension in the book. I kept dreading the texts while looking forward to them at the same time. The use of dual narrative by Rebecca and Solomon was brilliant. As usual (don’t ask why), I found myself intrigued by the darker narrations. They were frightening but intriguing at the same time.

What I really liked…

I thought I had figured out the whole book. It seemed pretty straight forward but then again, the writer managed to really surprise me with a major twist/reveal towards the end. The twist made the whole book way creepier although it was already creepy enough. This brought the book to a chilling but brilliant ending.

Witness by Caroline Mitchell is definitely a thriller that I recommend to all fans of this genre. The book is quite fast-paced with a unique premise. In addition, the story is narrated in short chapters with each ending with a cliffhanger hence making it hard to put down the book.  This is a book about secrets, betrayal, manipulation and all this made it quite a page-turner. If you like domestic noirs, I think that you will like this one!

12 comments on “Witness – Caroline Mitchell

  1. Annie
    January 9, 2017

    So glad you enjoyed this so much! I think knowing about the final twist prevented me from loving this more, but it was such a thrilling read! And I did like the ending part 😀

    • Diana
      January 10, 2017

      Did you know about the twist before reading the book or were you able to predict it? Sorry about that though. The ending was so unexpected. I really liked it too.

      • Annie
        January 10, 2017

        Haha No, I guessed it 😂 I read an extremely similar book in the summer.

        • Grab the Lapels
          January 14, 2017

          I think it was on Annie’s blog that I commented on why I don’t think this type of story is for me. I get tired of the “game” aspect, which is seen in movies like Saw. The idea that someone could have so much control over an individual in this way doesn’t seem credible to me, but I think I’m also sickened by the idea that powerful people and powerless people have been reduced to “let’s play a game” when such relationships exist in real life (such as domestic violence).

          • Annie
            January 15, 2017

            I agree with you! But here there’s a reason why he has so much control.

          • Grab the Lapels
            January 15, 2017

            Hmmm…now I’m intrigued! Yoooou! 😀

  2. jamesfantbooks
    January 10, 2017

    The way the author uses dual narration through a narrator and diaries/text, is intriguing. I’m not a big fan of extremely dark story lines. But if I could put that preference aside for Stephen King, just because he’s such a brilliant story teller, perhaps I can put it aside for this story. Thanks for hipping me to the book.

    • Diana
      January 11, 2017

      You’re welcome.

      I have only read one book by Stephen King, 23/11/63. Which other book would you recommend? I have heard a number of people talk about Carrie though I am yet to read it.

      • jamesfantbooks
        January 12, 2017

        I’ve read 23/11/63 twice! Loved it. I’ve also read IT; that was deep. I would recommend it.

  3. I’m so glad you liked this Diana. I love books like this so I’m definitely adding this to my list.💁🏻

    • Diana
      January 10, 2017

      Glad to hear that. I hope that you will enjoy this one as much as I did:-)

  4. Pingback: WWW-Wednesday #January 11th | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2017 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , .
