A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Kill the Next One by Federico Axat

kill-the-next-oneAbout the book

An audacious psychological thriller where nothing is what it seems.

Ted McKay had it all: a beautiful wife, two daughters, a high-paying job. But after being diagnosed with a terminal brain tumor he finds himself with a gun to his temple, ready to pull the trigger. Then the doorbell rings.

A stranger makes him a proposition: why not kill two deserving men before dying? The first target is a criminal, and the second is a man with terminal cancer who, like Ted, wants to die. After executing these kills, Ted will become someone else’s next target, like a kind of suicidal daisy chain. Ted understands the stranger’s logic: it’s easier for a victim’s family to deal with a murder than with a suicide. However, after killing his targets, Ted’s reality begins to unravel. KILL THE NEXT ONE, an immersive psychological thriller from an exciting new voice.

Review

Kill the next one by Federico Axat had one of the most twisted plots that I have ever read. The story begins with Ted McKay just about to commit suicide before he interrupted and given an offer to kill two other men. One of the intended victims is also  suicidal and needed help ending his life. The second victim is someone who had committed some vile crimes and so killing him will be a service to society. Sounds a bit straight forward, right?

The book has so many twists that I was confused at first. I felt like I did when I was watching Inception (the DiCaprio movie). Every time I thought that I had figured out the book, something new happened that threw the whole story into a different direction. I don’t want to spoil the book for those who haven’t read it yet but this book will mess with your mind so much that you won’t even know what is real and what is not.

It took a few chapters before I started figuring  out the plot and becoming more engrossed in the narrative. Undoubtedly, the book has a unique premise and some of the most complex characters that I have ever encountered. I found myself sympathizing with the main character through some pages then being repulsed by him in other pages.

The book took me on a crazy roller-coaster ride and just when things started slowing down, a major twist was thrown into the mix throwing the story in another different direction towards the end. The twists and revelations made this a fascinating read. The mix of characters made it more entertaining. I can’t say much about the characters without giving too many details but they were definitely  memorable. Even the support characters were well developed.

I am not sure how exactly to categorize this book. It is sort of a thriller with some elements of science fiction. Some chapters were super creepy with aspects of psychology coming into play while others were action filled. I recommend this book to fans of these genres.

 

About the Book

  • Title: Kill the next one
  • Author: Federico Axat
  • Hardcover, 407 pages
  • Published December 13th 2016 by Mulholland Books (first published March 13th 2016)
  • Original Title: La Última salida

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

20 comments on “Kill the Next One by Federico Axat

  1. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
    January 10, 2017

    What a fascinating premise! I just finished reading Dark Matter, so I can relate to not know what is real and what isn’t. Would you say that you enjoyed reading this book overall?

    • Diana
      January 11, 2017

      I have heard so much about Dark Matter. It seems to be very hyped. Did you like it?I will check out your review.

      Yes, I did enjoy the book especially once I got over the initial confusion 🙂

      • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
        January 11, 2017

        I liked it and disliked it. I had more negative things to say about Dark Matter than positive ones, but I think I just wasn’t emotionally ready for what I encountered. I think it’s a good book, it just wasn’t the book I needed when I read it. Does that make sense?
        I’m glad you enjoyed this! I’ll have to add it to my TBR. 🙂

  2. Lilyn G
    January 10, 2017

    This looks interesting!

    • Diana
      January 11, 2017

      It is 🙂 You may like it due to the Sci-Fi aspect I think.

  3. thebookishlibra
    January 11, 2017

    Great review. It sounds like an exciting read and I liked the comparison to the movie Inception. That really gives me a vivid picture of what kind of a wild ride this book must be.

    • Diana
      January 11, 2017

      Wild ride is exactly how I would describe the book 🙂 Thank you. Let me know if you decide to read it.

  4. Annie
    January 11, 2017

    I’m already guessing that those two men don’t really are who the MC thinks they are? hahaha This sounds great! It reminded me of a movie with Nicolas Cage (lol), where there was also a chain, but it was a chain of revenge!

    • Diana
      January 11, 2017

      haha I fear your ability to predict the twists in almost every book so I am not going to confirm or deny your guess lol. I haven’t watched the Nicholas Cage movie but yeah, this one has a chain too. In this case, its a suicide chain.

      • Annie
        January 11, 2017

        Hahaha ❤

  5. Pingback: WWW-Wednesday #January 11th | A Haven for Book Lovers

  6. Yvo
    January 11, 2017

    Great review! I was kind of confused reading some parts of this book as well; it almost felt like magical realism at some points? But there is no doubt this is an imaginative plot.

    • Diana
      January 13, 2017

      Yeah it does.I don’t think I quite got the whole possum and other animals bit.Is that magical realism or sci-fi?Twisted plot though kinda confusion especially at first.

  7. Laila@BigReadingLife
    January 11, 2017

    Wow, this one sounds really intriguing! I’m going to have to give it a try. I love a good mind-bending thriller!

    • Diana
      January 13, 2017

      I hope that you will enjoy it as much as I did 🙂

  8. Donna
    January 12, 2017

    Wow, this book sounds like an experience in itself! I love the originality of the premise and the pace seems relentless. The perfect book to forget what day it is 🙂

    • Diana
      January 19, 2017

      Exactly. It was an experience and its the kind of book that requires concentration so it was kinda engrossing. Thanks 🙂

  9. Grab the Lapels
    January 15, 2017

    Your review reminded me of the movie The Box that had a sort of Daisy chain effect like you mention.

    • Diana
      January 19, 2017

      I have never heard of the movie but just checked it out on imdb. It seems really interesting and yeah, that is the same thing with the book minus the money.

  10. Sue - doddyaboutbooks
    February 3, 2017

    Ooh, this sounds great! Wonderful review Diana!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2017 by in Bookish Post and tagged .
