A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan

5th-avenueAbout the book

It will take a Christmas miracle for two very different souls to find each other in this perfectly festive fairy tale of New York!

Hopeless romantic Eva Jordan loves everything about Christmas. She might be spending the holidays alone this year, but when she’s given an opportunity to house-sit a spectacular penthouse on Fifth Avenue, she leaps at the chance. What better place to celebrate than in snow-kissed Manhattan? What she didn’t expect was to find the penthouse still occupied by its gorgeous—and mysterious—owner.

Bestselling crime writer Lucas Blade is having the nightmare before Christmas. With a deadline and the anniversary of his wife’s death looming, he’s isolated himself in his penthouse with only his grief for company. He wants no interruptions, no decorations and he certainly doesn’t appreciate being distracted by his beautiful, bubbly new housekeeper. But when the blizzard of the century leaves Eva snowbound in his apartment, Lucas starts to open up to the magic she brings…This Christmas, is Lucas finally ready to trust that happily-ever-afters do exist?

Review

I was in the mood for some holiday romance when I decided to read this book. I ended up reading it right before Christmas but was unable to post a review until now. Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan is a story about two very different people who are forced by circumstances to spend a few days together in an apartment in New York during Christmas time. The two were strangers when they first met. Eva was supposed to be remodeling the apartment while the tenant, Lucas was away. Unfortunately, Lucas is back without notice and a blizzard has the two stuck together despite the fact that Lucas made it very clear that he never wanted Eva anywhere near him.

Eva is portrayed as being happy-go-lucky. She has a bubbly personality, loves to sing, cook and dance. She is also a hopeless romantic. I was drawn to her right from the start. She is the kind of character that you find yourself rooting for. On the other hand, Lucas is dark and mysterious and at first comes off as being unlikable.

What I really liked…

I liked the setting. New York during the Christmas sounds amazing. The apartment where most of the book is set had amazing views which gave way to some wonderful descriptions of the city and the weather at the backdrop. I could picture the snow falling and the people walking around in stylish winter clothes(New Yorkers are stylish, right). The characters were well-developed and quite complex. At first, they seemed easy to figure out but through the pages, we get to learn that there is more to them. In addition, although romance is the main theme, the book covers some heavy themes such as death which added more depth the the MCs.

What I didn’t like…

There is nothing wrong with the book really. However, romance is not really a genre that I often read so I found myself struggling with the pace wondering if anything ‘major’ will happen (yeah, I know how that sounds but I like twists). The middle section especially felt really slow and I wasn’t too crazy about some of the ‘love’ scenes. So as you can see there was nothing wrong with the book but I think that this may not have been for me.

I recommend this book to fans of romance. It is not too late for a holiday-themed love story. So you should definitely check this one out. I think that anyone interested in this book should read the goodreads reviews. There are some fabulous views about the book that will provide you with an alternate opinion about it.

 

 

15 comments on “Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan

  1. I don’t normally read romances, but this does sound sweet. And I love that cover!💁🏻

    • Diana
      January 13, 2017

      It is sweet.The setting and the holidays made it perfect for the romance and yeah,I loved the cover too 🙂

  2. Charlotte Graham
    January 11, 2017

    I’m a sucker for Christmas books, especially if they involve romance (as long as “things” are implied rather than outright described in detail). This sounds right up my alley!

    • Diana
      January 13, 2017

      I think that you’ll enjoy this one.I guarantee you that things are implied.Its not explicit in any way.The story was cute and the setting worked out great for the romance. I reccomend that you check out the book 🙂

  3. cleopatralovesbooks
    January 11, 2017

    Like you I don’t read too much romantic fiction although I do make an exception for historical novels because I prefer more action but this does sound a good read and it has such a pretty cover.

    • Diana
      January 13, 2017

      I haven’t read many historical novels although that’s a genre that I’m interested in.This had everything working well and the setting was perfect. I think maybe I was just in the mood for something faster/different but the book was good.

  4. jamesfantbooks
    January 12, 2017

    Great review. I wonder if more Romance readers would like a spice of action added to move the story along? Even if it’s not fight scenes or car chases. Something, as you say, with a twist.

    • Diana
      January 13, 2017

      I think that some readers especially those who like the genre don’t mind the lack of twists.The story had some conflict which kept the tension and suspense in the narrative.In my case,I’m used to thrillers so maybe that’s why the pace felt too slow for me 🙂

  5. alilovesbooks
    January 12, 2017

    Sorry to hear you didn’t love but I can definitely understand that if you’re not a fan of the romance genre. I have to admit that I love a romance and I absolutely loved this one. I’m a sucker for just about any Christmas, New York set romance but I particularly liked the two main characters in this and the fact that he was a writer.

    • Diana
      January 13, 2017

      I ended up not enjoying the book as much I thought I would but I think its the genre and not the writing.Everything was right but I think that I enjoy romantic movies more than the books.
      I forgot to mention it but I did like the fact Lucas was an author too.

  6. Annie
    January 13, 2017

    “so I found myself struggling with the pace wondering if anything ‘major’ will happen”

    we’re soulmates hahahaha

    • Diana
      January 13, 2017

      Lol romance is tough and the pace drags abit 🙂 No murders,lies,secrets…its quite a different genre.

      • Annie
        January 13, 2017

        Tell me about it hahaha

  7. Grab the Lapels
    January 19, 2017

    It’s definitely too late for Christmas books in my neck of the woods: it’s already raining here 😦

    • Diana
      January 19, 2017

      haha I can watch read Christmas books/movies any time of the year. Sometimes I even listen to the Jim Reeves Christmas album months before the season begins 🙂

      We really need rain here though. Its drought/famine this January. Wish we could get some showers like you guys.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2017 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged .
