A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Duplicity by Sibel Hodge

duplicityAbout the Book

There are three sides to every story: Yours. Mine. And the truth…

Max and Alissa have a fairy tale life—newlywed, madly in love and enviously rich. Then Max is brutally stabbed to death at their home and Alissa, miraculously, escapes with her life. But why was she spared?

The hunt for the killer begins, uncovering a number of leads—was Max’s incredible wealth the motive? Had his shady business practices finally caught up with him? Or was it a stalker with a dangerous obsession?

Devoted friends rally around gentle, sweet Alissa as she is left to mourn the loss of her husband and pick up her life. But not everyone is who they seem…Deep-rooted jealousies, secrets and twisted love lie just beneath the surface, and not all fairy tales have a happy ending.

Review

I decided to get a copy of this book after reading a review by Annie(The Misstery). In her review, she mentioned that the book had plenty of twists and well,I do love twists. I am definitely glad that I did because it turned out to be one of the most entertaining thrillers that I have ever read.

Duplicity by Sibel Hodge has a dual narrative. One of the main characters and narrators is DS Carter,an  investigator in the murder case. The second narrator is the unsub(unknown subject) whose identity is not revealed until the last section of the book. I liked the character of Carter from the start.He was a good cop, frustrated by the system but still dedicated to his work. I like how he was able to see past the lies and deceit of other characters. I also like it when detectives go rogue. The author created a clever plot by having two very different detectives working on the same case. The second detective is DI Richard Wilmott who is the exact opposite of Carter. I enjoyed reading about these two conflicting personalities.

On the other hand, the second narrator really intrigued me. The author introduces the unsub(The Other One) from childhood.We get to see a child grow up in very tough circumstances and later see how they turn out as an adult.  These narrations were so dark yet compelling at the same time. It is through them that we get a background story of how the victim and unsub met. We also get some details on the motives behind some of the actions of the MCs.

This book is filled with twists and turns that made it quite a page-turner. One of the main twists that I really liked was about the unsub. The author did a fantastic job revealing bits of information about the unsub’s identity throughout the book. The first revelation was one of the biggest twist for me. All along, I had made assumptions about the unsub. I mean, I didn’t know who they were but I thought one detail was pretty obvious but turned out that it wasn’t. You will have to read the book though to get what I mean.

What I really liked

As I have already mentioned, I really liked the two narrators. The twists also made this book quite an interesting read. I like how the author kept the surprises coming all the way to the end. At some point, it seemed like everything had been settled only for Hodge to come up with another big twist that I  couldn’t have predicted.

If you enjoy psychological/crime thrillers then you should read Duplicity by Sibel Hodge. This book will keep you guessing up to the final chapter. It has everything that makes a great thriller; secrets, obsession, jealousy, lies and a murder case. It is dark, twisted and gripping. As I have already said, this is one of the most entertaining thrillers that I have ever read.

 

26 comments on “Duplicity by Sibel Hodge

  1. blackleaderanalysis
    January 12, 2017

    Sounds interesting.

  2. Clues and Reviews
    January 13, 2017

    I just finished this one the other day! I loved it too- look out for my review soon!

    • Diana
      January 13, 2017

      Glad to hear that you loved it.I look forward to your review 🙂

    • sibelhodge (@sibelhodge)
      January 16, 2017

      And thank you, too, for your amazing review! So glad you enjoyed it 🙂 xx

  3. Annie
    January 13, 2017

    I’m so glad you loved it so much, I had a feeling you would ^^It was crazy but so entertaining! Glad I could recommend it to you ❤

    • Diana
      January 13, 2017

      Thanks Annie ❤ It was such an awesome thriller.I liked the twist.

      Thanks for the reccomendation.

    • sibelhodge (@sibelhodge)
      January 16, 2017

      Really glad you liked it, Annnie! Thanks so much 🙂 xx

  4. jamesfantbooks
    January 13, 2017

    The unsub is an interesting method of telling the story.

  5. mikaela
    January 13, 2017

    I’ve heard good things about this one, so I can’t wait to read it! I have yet to read anything by Sibel Hodge.

    • sibelhodge (@sibelhodge)
      January 16, 2017

      Thanks so much, Mikaela! Hope you like it 🙂 xx

    • Diana
      January 16, 2017

      This was my first book by Sibel but it definitely won’t be my last one. I hope that you will enjoy it as much as I did.

  6. Yvo
    January 13, 2017

    Sounds like a very good thriller read, great review!

  7. sibelhodge (@sibelhodge)
    January 16, 2017

    Thanks so much for taking the time to read & review Duplicity! I’m thrilled you enjoyed it 🙂 xx

    • Diana
      January 16, 2017

      Thank you for the opportunity. It was a brilliant thriller and I loved all the twists:-)

      • Diana
        June 26, 2017

        Hi Sibel,I hope you will see this.Didn’t know how else to contact you or your publishers.My request for Beneath the surface has been approved.Unfortunately,the book is only available on kindle which I don’t have.I usually get all ARCs in the protected PDF format.Are you able to assist?I really would like to read and review your new book.Thank you 🙂

  8. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
    January 17, 2017

    Traditionally, I avoid thrillers. But this one sounds really intriguing. I love the idea of an unsub narrator! Thank you for reviewing this or I never would have even considered it an option.

    • Diana
      January 19, 2017

      Glad to hear that Jackie 🙂

  9. Grab the Lapels
    January 23, 2017

    The author showing who the unsub is from childhood is interesting to me. It’s a balance, though: does a writer suggest that the bad guy’s history and context shaped him into a bad guy, or was it genetic/something psychological?

    • Diana
      January 25, 2017

      In this case, I guess the bad upbringing and abuse influenced the character of the unsub in a way.

      • Grab the Lapels
        January 25, 2017

        It’s a super-complex topic. Environment does play a factor, but psychology does, too. From what I’ve read, we really just DON’T know how psychokillers are formed. That’s why it’s so interesting, compelling, and scary all at once!

  10. Pingback: Hallo February…. | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2017 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged .
