A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #January 18th

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

out-of-bounds

 

Out of Bounds by Val McDermid- I think that this book will appeal to lovers of police procedural. It is more character-driven than plot-driven hence the pace is not too fast. However, the characters are so well-developed that it was easy to become immersed in their story. The investigation is explained in detailed and as readers, we get to understand how every case was solved. I also like the fact that the detectives relied on evidence and forensics to solve the cases and not on pure instincts like in some cop procedural/thrillers.  The book was also so well researched that I ended up learning a number of new things. For instance; I didn’t know much about the laws concerning adoptions.  You can read my review here.

 

good-me-bad-me

 

Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land is not your usual fast-paced thriller. It’s the kind of book where the tension slowly builds through each page. I was fascinated by the narrative although for the first time, I read the book with a feeling of uneasiness and dread all the way to the last page. I have never been this nervous or chilled by the actions of characters. Here is my review.

 

 

Currently Reading

little-girl-lost

 

Little Girl Lost by Carol Wyer

I started reading this book yesterday. The prologue made me feel uncomfortable due the theme that was introduced. However, the first few chapters are interesting so I can’t wait to see how the story goes.

 

 

Reading Next

lost-daughter-of-indiaThe Lost Daughter of India by Sharon Maas

I picked this book because of the title and also the beautiful cover. I haven’t read many books set in India but I am intrigued by the country and the culture of the people so I can’t wait to read this.

About the Book

When Caroline meets Kamal the attraction is instant. He’s enchanting, charismatic and she can’t wait to set up a new life with him in India. Both their families are against the union but Caroline is convinced they’ll come round, especially when she gives birth to a beautiful daughter, Asha.

Asha is an adorable child but Caroline, homesick and beginning to hate the remote Indian village they live in, struggles with motherhood. Kamal is hardly ever there and she feels more and more isolated. In the grips of severe depression Caroline flees back to America, leaving Asha behind.

Ten years later …

Caroline recovered from her illness, is consumed by thoughts of the daughter she abandoned. Desperate to find Asha, she reunites with Kamal, intent on tracking her down. Will they ever be able to find their lost daughter? If they have any chance, they must confront the painful truths of the past and a terrible secret that has been kept for many years, until now.

Happy Reading!

 

 

30 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #January 18th

  1. Annie
    January 18, 2017

    All fascinating books, now I’m going to read your review of Good me bad me, I’m especially curious about Little girl lost!

    • Diana
      January 18, 2017

      Little Girl Lost is an interesting read so far. Can’t wait to get home and read some more pages. I will probably be done tomorrow so may review it on Friday:-)

  2. cleopatralovesbooks
    January 18, 2017

    Out of Bounds reignited my love of police procedural Val McDermid really is an excellent writer

    • Diana
      January 18, 2017

      She definitely is. This is my first book by Val but it definitely won’t be the last one 🙂

  3. SnazzyBooks
    January 18, 2017

    Ahh I love Val McDermid’s writing so much, Out of Bounds looks great – and glad
    you enjoyed Good Me, Bad Me too; I really loved it!
    Here’s my WWW post: https://snazzybooks.com/2017/01/18/www-wednesday-18-january-2017/

    • Diana
      January 18, 2017

      Glad to hear that you loved Good Me, Bad Me. It is such an amazing read. I am yet to read any other book but McDermid but I keep hearing good things so I have to find the next one. Thanks for the link. I visited your post just a while ago:-)

      • SnazzyBooks
        January 18, 2017

        Yeah I’d definitely recommend it, it’s a bit creepy at times but a great read! 🙂

  4. mikaela
    January 18, 2017

    Ooh, I’ve been looking at Little Girl Lost! I hope it’s good! 😁

    • Diana
      January 18, 2017

      Its great so far! I hope to post my review on Friday. Crossing my fingers that the ending will be just as good as the rest of the book.

  5. Renee
    January 18, 2017

    Great reading week Diana! Looking forward to your thoughts on Little Girl Lost.

    • Diana
      January 18, 2017

      Thanks Renee. If all goes as planned, I will share my review of Little Girl Lost on Friday evening 🙂

  6. faithrivens
    January 18, 2017

    The Lost Daughter of India looks beautiful!
    I’m always wary of books like Little Girl Lost and the themes that they cover. It really makes me queasy, but I hope you enjoy it!
    Happy Reading 🙂
    https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2017/01/18/www-wednesday-18-01-17/

    • Diana
      January 18, 2017

      It really does. I really like the cover although it seems like an emotional read. Little Girl Lost didn’t strike me as a tough read until the first chapter. However, the other chapters have moved towards the investigation so they are a bit now.

      Thank you and happy reading to you too 🙂

  7. Laurel-Rain Snow
    January 18, 2017

    I love the sound of Out of Bounds…and I’ve been wishing for Good Me, Bad Me for a while. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    • Diana
      January 19, 2017

      You’re welcome and I definitely recommend both books. Enjoy the rest of your week and Happy Reading.

  8. anovelglimpse
    January 18, 2017

    I’m interested in Good Me Bad Me. Did the slowness bother you? Sometimes that kills a good thriller for me, even when it’s interesting.
    Here’s what I’ve been reading.

    • Diana
      January 19, 2017

      The pace was perfect for this story. I hardly noticed it although slow paces usually bug me. Thanks for the link, heading over to your post now. Thanks for visiting. Happy reading 🙂

  9. Yvo
    January 18, 2017

    I’m going to read your Good Me Bad Me review right now! I’ve been excited about this story ever since I first heard about it but my request wasn’t approved… I’ve heard mixed things about it, so I’ve been deciding whether to get a copy ever since (most likely yes though 😉 ) I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    • Diana
      January 19, 2017

      Sorry to hear that your request wasn’t approved but I hope that you will get a copy of the book soon. I really liked and I hope that you will too. Happy reading to you too 🙂

  10. ChrissiReads
    January 18, 2017

    Good me, Bad me looks so good!

    • Diana
      January 19, 2017

      It is. I definitely recommend it.

  11. Sam
    January 19, 2017

    I’m glad you liked Good Me, Bad Me. I’ve been sing that one around for a while. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • Diana
      January 19, 2017

      Thanks for hosting us Sam. Happy reading 🙂

  12. charliegirl
    January 19, 2017

    The Lost Girl in India sounds SO good! I can’t wait for more insights about it.

    https://girlof1000wonders.wordpress.com/2017/01/18/www-wednesdays-january-17th/

    • Diana
      January 19, 2017

      It does sound good. I have high expectations with that one. Thanks for visiting. Heading over to your post now 🙂

  13. Laila@BigReadingLife
    January 20, 2017

    Looking forward to reading about The Lost Girl of India if you choose to review it, Diana. Have a great reading week!

    • Diana
      January 25, 2017

      Sorry I didn’t see this until now. Thank you. I am almost done with Lost Girl of India so I hope to post my review on Friday. Happy reading 🙂

  14. I’ve never read anything like Out of bounds.I really like thrillers that are not too fast-paced so i think i’ll like Good Me Bad me. The Lost Daughter of India really intrigues me since I’m an Indian. Great post! Also, I tagged you for the Mystery Blogger Award Tag. You can check out the post here:
    https://travellingthroughwords.wordpress.com/2017/01/20/mystery-blogger-award-tag/

    • Diana
      January 25, 2017

      I am currently reading The Lost Daughter of India. Its interesting so far and I like the setting especially since I have always wanted to travel to India. The themes in this book are quite dark and heavy though since they involve child prostitution. I will share my review soon though.

      Thank you for the tag. I enjoyed reading your answers and I am now looking for The Perks of Being a Wallflower movie.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2017 by in Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged .
