A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Tangle of Strings (Sweeney Sisters #4) by Ashley Farley

tangle-of-stringsAbout the Book

 A nearly tragic accident leads to a discovery that rocks the Sweeney family’s world

Some families never resolve conflicts. Not so with the Sweeneys. Their sense of family, their love for one another, and their willingness to forgive have always triumphed and brought them back together. Until now. The latest crisis threatens to tear the family apart and crumble the foundation that has always proved itself rock solid.

At the heart of the matter are sixteen-year-old Annie Bethune and her boyfriend, Cooper. At stake are their dreams for the future. As to these dreams, no one in the family holds back when asserting an opinion.

Annie soon begins to feel like a puppet on strings with all those she loves telling her what to do. When those strings become tangled and a family feud develops, Annie, unable to bear the pressure, runs away. Straight into the arms of danger.

Review

This was a cover pick for me. I like converse shoes and own a few pairs in different of colors. There is history and symbolism associated with these shoes but that is a story for another day and no, this is not a book about converse shoes. Anyway, Tangle of Strings by Ashley Farley is an issue-based Young Adult fiction.

The story begins with an accident taking place. Annie is involved in the accident and it is through this incident that her family is introduced to readers. Although I haven’t read the other books in the series, I was able to quickly catch up on the relationship dynamics.

The book deals with quite heavy themes. One that really stood out is the issue of teenage pregnancy. Through the characters, readers get to see how this issue affects different people. The teens involved are overwhelmed with the decisions ahead of them. However, even more overwhelming is the response by adults around them. Everyone has their own opinion based on their beliefs and this provides a very tough environment for the already scared teens. It was informative to see how different characters handled the situation. I think the author provided a very realistic outlook of this issue. It’s a story that most readers are familiar with. This book made me think about the teen moms that I know and what they may have gone through.

I found myself judging the characters based on how they reacted to different situations. Annie and Cooper was such a cute, strong couple and I loved how mature they were in handling their situation. I can’t say much about the other characters without revealing too many details but I’ll just say that the characterization is one of the things that I liked most about this book.

The book had a few surprises along the way. There were a number of conflicts that I possibly couldn’t have predicted. I am still not sure exactly how I feel about this though. Usually I like twists but for this story, an action-filled twist was a bit out there. That is the only niggle that I have about this book although it is not a major one.

I recommend Tangle of Strings by Ashley Farley to all fans of issue-based YAs.

10 comments on “Tangle of Strings (Sweeney Sisters #4) by Ashley Farley

  1. Renee
    January 19, 2017

    Love that you picked this book for the converse shoe cover!! Sounds like overall it was a solid read though

    • Diana
      January 19, 2017

      I like those shoes…so comfortable 🙂 and yeah,it was a good read.Thanks 🙂

  2. Yvo
    January 19, 2017

    I’m a big fan of converse shoes as well! I always have at least a pair or two in use. Great review by the way, it sounds like an interesting read. 🙂

    • Diana
      January 20, 2017

      yaya, nice to meet someone else who likes the shoes:-) Thanks Yvonne.

  3. I love that You initially picked this for the cover. I do that all too often myself.😊

    • Diana
      January 20, 2017

      Sometimes it is okay to judge a book by its cover and it always feels great when it turns out to be a great read 🙂

  4. Annie
    January 19, 2017

    Haha I want to read the COnverse story 😛 I always admire those authors that make books in a series that you can read even if you haven’t read any of the previous ones. And of course, I’m curious about the twist hahaha

    • Diana
      January 20, 2017

      I am not so sure about that twist lol. I read it and just went like…why? Yeah, its always nice to find books in a series that can be read as standalone although its always better to read all of them in order I guess.

  5. kimbacaffeinate
    January 20, 2017

    Great review! Thank you.

    • Diana
      January 25, 2017

      Thank you and You’re welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2017 by in Bookish Post and tagged .
