A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW Wednesday #January 25th

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @Taking on a World of Words

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

trayvonn-martinRecently Finished

Rest in Power: The Enduring Life of Trayvon Martin by Sybrina Fulton, Tracy Martin

Rest in Power, told through the compelling alternating narratives of Sybrina Fulton and Tracy Martin is the story of the beautiful and complex child they lost, the cruel unresponsiveness of the police and the hostility of the legal system, and the inspiring journey they took from grief and pain to power, and from tragedy and senselessness to meaning.

 

Currently Reading

lost-daughter-of-india

The Lost Daughter of India by Sharon Maas– I started reading this book on Monday. It is beautifully written although the story is quite sad with some really heavy themes. I like the setting though. I will post my review maybe by the end of the week.

 

Reading Next

thesis

I have to take a short break(a few days or a week) from reading and blogging to focus on my thesis. I am currently working on Chapter 2, Literature Review which is really engaging with lots of research and reading so I will not pick any other book until I complete this chapter. Until then, Happy Reading!

30 comments on “WWW Wednesday #January 25th

  1. lbarasa
    January 25, 2017

    Good luck with your thesis girl

    • Diana
      January 25, 2017

      Thanks dear ❀

  2. mikaela
    January 25, 2017

    Ooh, Rest in Power sounds good! And good luck on the thesis; that sounds like a lot of work!

    • Diana
      January 25, 2017

      It is a heartbreaking but powerful story.

      Yeah, the thesis is a bit demanding but I have made some progress now. Thank you πŸ™‚

  3. Donna
    January 25, 2017

    Rest in Power sounds heartbreaking!
    Good luck with your thesis! ❀ I love that it involves literature πŸ™‚ if anything goes as planned, I might have to write one on books and publishing *fingers crossed* but I'm not looking forward to the amount of work it requires!!!

    • Diana
      January 25, 2017

      Books and Publishing sounds interesting. All the best and I hope that things will go your way so that you can do the research and don’t worry about the work, we will get through it although…it really is a lot lol. My thesis is on Media representation and Ethnicity so I have to review literature that covers the two areas and find theories to show how media shapes audience perceptions about ethnic groups.

      Thank you and all the best in your studies too ❀

  4. Rest In Powers sounds really good. I’m going to see if my library has it. Good luck with your thesis Diana!πŸ’πŸ»

    • Diana
      January 26, 2017

      Thank you Kim :-)and I hope that your library will have a copy of the book.

  5. Annie
    January 25, 2017

    The Lost Daughter of India sounds like something I definitely see you reading. I was about to request it… but that week I had more willpower πŸ˜› Not like this week 😦

    • Diana
      January 26, 2017

      haha I just saw the title and the cover and immediately requested it. I see we’ve changed places this week because I haven’t gotten any new books so far. I hope to practice ‘the ban’ until I get through half of the ARCs but its too soon to celebrate so will see how it goes πŸ™‚

  6. dez | the fun in reading books
    January 25, 2017

    Your other books can surely wait but your thesis can’t so good luck with your thesis. Diana! πŸ˜€

    • Diana
      January 26, 2017

      Yes the can, thank you so much πŸ™‚

  7. Laila@BigReadingLife
    January 25, 2017

    Looking forward to your upcoming reviews! Best of luck with your thesis!

    • Diana
      January 26, 2017

      Thanks Laila ❀

  8. Rest in Power sounds like a very moving book. Good luck with your thesis this week.
    Here’s my week in books post: https://rathertoofondofbooks.com/2017/01/25/www-wednesday-25-jan/

    • Diana
      January 26, 2017

      Its an emotional read for sure,one that I highly reccomend.Thanks for the wish πŸ™‚

  9. Renee
    January 26, 2017

    Good luck on your thesis Diana!!

    • Diana
      January 26, 2017

      Thanks Renee ❀

  10. faithrivens
    January 26, 2017

    Glad to hear that the Lost Daughter of India is enjoyable. I will definitely be adding it to my TBR!
    Good luck with your thesis, my dear!
    Happy Reading πŸ™‚

    • Diana
      January 26, 2017

      Thanks dear ❀ and I hope that you'll like The Lost Girl of India as much as I did.Happy reading πŸ™‚

  11. Sue - doddyaboutbooks
    January 26, 2017

    Great books, Rest in power sounds heartbreaking. (I finished Stay With Me, which was also heart breaking!!) Good luck with your thesis! I’m sure you’ll smash it!

    • Diana
      January 26, 2017

      Yeah Stay with Me was really heartbreaking.The struggle of getting kids especially with so much societal pressure is unimaginable.Does the same happen in Australia?

      Thanks for the wonderful wish πŸ™‚

      • Sue - doddyaboutbooks
        January 29, 2017

        I think the cultural pressure for kids is a bit different here, and the focus of that pressure is usually the woman, with the pressure coming from her parents. I think it is more accepted here that people want to wait until they are older for kids although society definitely judges women who don’t want children. Polygamy is illegal here (but people still cheat on spouses etc). I have to say that I think more men abandon their kids here than would go to those sorts of lengths to have them in the first place.

  12. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
    January 26, 2017

    Good luck with your thesis, Diana! Have any of the books you’ve reviewed on this blog been for your thesis research? I would be interested to explore anything you’d recommend which relates. I can’t imagine writing a thesis- it sounds incredible, though.

    • Diana
      January 26, 2017

      Thanks a lot πŸ™‚ I haven’t cited any of the books here though I have spotted some of the issues that my reasearch aims to address.Like in The Whistler,there was a black guy whose character was based on ethnic stereotypes.From his kids,the pentecostal church and other stuff.My research has made me more aware of ethnic representation I books.

      • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
        January 27, 2017

        That’s really fascinating. I don’t know if I’m aware enough to notice those sorts of things. I’m a bit embarrassed to admit that, but honesty is the best policy.

  13. Yvo
    January 26, 2017

    Those two titles are definitely interesting… And good luck with your thesis! ❀

  14. anovelglimpse
    January 26, 2017

    Some times it’s nice to take a short break from reading. I hope you enjoy it and get back to reading soon.
    My WWW Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2017 by in Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged .
