A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Blink by K. L Slater

blink-by-k-l-slaterAbout the Book

What if the person you love most in the world was in terrible danger … because of you?

Three years ago, Toni’s five-year-old daughter Evie disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace.

But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself, and a devastating truth.

Toni’s mind is trapped in a world of silence, her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible. She must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter.

 

Review

I read Slater’s first book last year. Safe with me was a memorable, fast-paced psychological thriller. I didn’t like the ending but I still enjoyed the book so I was super thriller when I found out that the author has a second book.

Blink by K. L Slater begins with a chapter titled before. In this chapter, we get to find out about the missing child. In subsequent chapters, there are narrations about events that took place three years before and other chapters about present events. The narration goes back and forth between the two timelines with the past dominating the first part and the present taking over the final part. The two timelines helps in explaining the events that led to Evie’s disappearance.

The book has multiple narrators. Toni is the main narrator. We get to see her trying to start a new life with her daughter after the death of her husband. Toni is likeable and easy to sympathize with even though I didn’t agree with all her decisions. She is portrayed as loving mother who is currently undergoing some struggles. There is another dark, twisted narrator whose identity I will not reveal for now. I have already said this before but I am always intrigued by the darker narrations. This narration was scary yet intriguing as we got to see the workings of a very twisted mind. I also really liked the fact that Evie was also one of the narrators. Another key narrator is introduced towards the final chapters of the book. The book definitely had really well-developed, memorable characters.

One of the main characters in the story is in a coma. I was fascinated by this character’s narration. It was interesting to see things from this perspective especially because the character is trapped in a world that nobody else can reach. The identity of this character remains a mystery up to the final section of the book. All along I thought that I knew who it was but I was dead wrong.

What I really liked…

Blink by K. L. Slater is quite suspenseful read, masterfully narrated. I couldn’t put the book down and I ended up getting through it last Saturday. The multiple narrations are interwoven skillfully to heighten the tension and bring everything together. I liked the twists and revelations throughout the book. I had a number of suspects throughout the book but I couldn’t have guessed the identity of the kidnapper.

I definitely recommend this book to all fans of psychological thrillers. If you are looking for a twisted, fast-paced thriller with unique, well-developed characters then I definitely recommend this one.

About the Book

  • Title: Blink
  • Author: K. L Slater
  • Kindle Edition, 295 pages
  • Expected publication: February 16th 2017 by Bookouture
  • Source: NetGalley ARCs
  • Rating: 5 Stars

 

 

 

 

 

23 comments on “Blink by K. L Slater

  1. Annie
    February 16, 2017

    It was good, wasn’t it? 🙂 Suspenseful and well written, the creepy narrator was my favorite part 😛

    • Diana
      February 20, 2017

      The coma narrator was definitely different. I can’t imagine what it would be like to hear people and not be able to respond in any way. Creepy but weirdly fascinating narration lol

      • Annie
        February 20, 2017

        I saw a movie once… it was terrifying XD I think it’s called Awake!

        • Diana
          February 20, 2017

          I have to watch that.Thanks for mentioning it.

  2. Renee
    February 16, 2017

    I love it when there are many suspects and I can’t figure how who did it!! This book sounds pretty suspenseful, glad you enjoyed it:)

    • Diana
      February 20, 2017

      Thanks Renee and it was a wonderful read 🙂

  3. Awesome review Diana! Despite my issues with the characters, this is definitely a page-turner!💁🏻

    • Diana
      February 20, 2017

      Thanks Kim and I totally agree with you about it being a page-turner 🙂

  4. jamesfantbooks
    February 17, 2017

    Great review. I love whodunits and have actually started a series in the sub-genre. I like the way the reader acts as an investigator. Following the clues. Making assessments. And it’s nothing like a healthy dose of suspense to keep you on your toes.

    • Diana
      February 21, 2017

      Thank you and I totally agree with you. I like mystery/thrillers for that same reasons. I especially like it when authors give readers so many suspects so you keep trying to solve the mystery up to the end 🙂

  5. faithrivens
    February 17, 2017

    Another great review, Diana! I look forward to reading this one 🙂

    • Diana
      February 21, 2017

      Thanks Faith. I hope that you will like it as much as I did:-)

  6. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
    February 17, 2017

    Very well-articulated review, Diana. Where do people come up with the ideas for these books? Not only is the premise terrifying, but the idea of a character narrating from a coma? I don’t read thrillers… but this one really intrigues me. We shall see if I end up reading this or not. I’ve added it to my TBR!

    • Diana
      February 21, 2017

      I totally agree with you. The whole coma narration was quite interesting and new. It made me think though. Can you imagine what it would be like to be trapped in a world like that. If you can hear people but can’t respond in any way. Its terrifying but fascinating at the same time 🙂

      • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
        February 22, 2017

        There is a disease called Lock-In Syndrome where something similar to that happens. It’s terrifying. John Scalzi’s Lock In is a sci-fi book based on that. But there is also a memoir I haven’t read about the editor of Elle in Paris experiencing it. He learned to speak to people by BLINKING. WHAT?! I really need to read that book…

        • Diana
          February 24, 2017

          OMG that is interesting. I think that is the condition that the coma narrator was on and I guess you’ve guessed exactly why the book is called blinking. Without sharing any spoilers, the whole story is about a missing child. The patient in a coma knows what happened but she can’t tell anyone because she can’t communicate. Thanks for letting me know about the memoir. I need to read that one 🙂

          • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku
            February 28, 2017

            I hope you enjoy it! I have to read it too… But now I want to read Blinking, as well. What a neat connection.

  7. Yvo
    February 19, 2017

    Great review! I’m so glad you enjoyed this one as much as I did. Such a brilliant story…

    • Diana
      February 21, 2017

      I totally agree with Yvo.It was a great story. Can’t wait for the next book by Slater.

  8. Donna
    February 21, 2017

    I was just so impressed by how masterfully the author managed to keep every POV and timelines so interesting and tense! Great review 🙂

    • Diana
      February 24, 2017

      Thanks Donna and I agree with you. I liked everything about the book and especially the coma and teacher PoVs.

  9. Pingback: New books that I can’t wait to read in June | A Haven for Book Lovers

  10. Pingback: Liar by K. L. Slater | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2017 by in Book Review, Bookish Post.
