A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Impossible Dilemma by Netta Newbound

dilemmaBook Description

Local vets Victoria and Jonathan Lyons seem to have everything—a perfect marriage, a beautiful five-year-old daughter, Emily, and a successful business. Until they discover Emily has a rare and fatal illness.

Early trials show that a temporary fix would be to transplant a hormone from a living donor. However in the trials; the donors had died within twenty four hours. They have no choice but to accept their daughter is going to die.

A series of events present the characters with a situation that, although illegal, could help save Emily.

Will they take it?

Review

I can’t remember the last time that I screamed at a book. Impossible Dilemma by Netta Newbound had me screaming. Some of the twists were so good that I  couldn’t believe what I had  read. This book got me excited due to the captivating plot although in the end, it also gave me nightmares. I think it’s a book that I won’t forget anytime soon.

The story begins with a regular couple, Vic and Jon, who seems to have everything going for them until their little girl, Emily, is diagnosed with a terminal illness.  I have edited the blurb a little bit since it gives away one of the first major occurrences in the story.   After the first twist which happens early in the story, things got crazy. I remember when the first reveal occurred, I thought to myself…no way, I mean why did that happen? Turns out that there was more to come and it just got crazier with each new chapter. The twists are many and the author did a great job at making each one of them a surprise.

As you can tell, I truly liked this book. Unfortunately, it is not a book that I can talk much about without spoiling. I can’t even tell you about the characters without ruining the experience for you. What I will say though is that the book is full of surprises. The characters changed so much as the story progressed. It was like reading a book about a nun who turns into a pimp or a Chemistry high school teacher who starts cooking meth (What’s up Walt?). However, the changes are gradual so in a way, they sort of make sense. The author takes you through the characters thought processes and makes you see the justification behind their actions.

As I was reading this book, I kept thinking about suspension of disbelief. I remember messaging my friend, Annie and asking her about the phrase( I have never used it before then so had to be sure its correct). I think it applies to this book.  There are things that occurred that seemed a bit unrealistic. However, once you accept the ‘bizarreness’ and just go with the flow then this won’t be an issue.

When the book started out, I thought it was more of a psychological thriller. However, at some point, it appeared like a cross-genre of thriller and horror. There were some really disturbing, gory scenes. Like way more disturbing than the serial killer next door in most thrillers. The squirmy kind of disturbing. This book took twisted to a whole new level. I am still thinking about some of the scenes and I don’t think I will be eating any pork products anytime soon. OMG! There is something wrong with pigs, maybe just the ones in this book but you never know. You have to read the book and find out more about this though. Disturbing but such a thrilling read.

18 comments on “Impossible Dilemma by Netta Newbound

  1. Renee (Itsbooktalk)
    March 24, 2017

    Diana you got my attention as soon as you said screaming:) It’s really made me curious and I’m going to check this out…thanks for giving me a new read and author to look at! Excellent review and I appreciate you not giving plot details, I’ve been really trying to go into most reads knowing as little as possible so it’s more surprising:)

    • Diana
      March 24, 2017

      Some books are just better experienced without knowing too many details beforehand. This was definitely one of those books. I hope that you will get to read it someday Renee. Its truly a good, interesting thriller 🙂

  2. Any book that stirs such emotion is definitely a success Diana. Another one for my tbr.💁🏻

    • Diana
      March 26, 2017

      Glad to hear that.I hope that you will like this one as much as I did 🙂

  3. novelgossip
    March 24, 2017

    Totally agree about pork!! It was much darker and more gory than I expected.

    • Diana
      March 26, 2017

      Yeah I didn’t see that coming at all.Took a dark turn but it was still a thrill.

      I requested this book after reading your review about it so thanks for the recommendation.

  4. Little Bookness Lane
    March 24, 2017

    Sounds excellent. It’s not a book I would have chosen myself but it’s most definitely on my radar now!

    • Diana
      March 26, 2017

      Glad that I’ve made you consider it:-)

  5. Annie
    March 25, 2017

    I can’t make up my mind about this one… I wouldn’t read a book about an illness but then you said all that other stuff and I’m so curious… I don’t know what to do haha

    • Diana
      March 26, 2017

      Haha well i get what you mean but this really isn’t a book about illness.Its more of tough choices/dillemas and what people would do for those they love.Seriously though,check it out if you ever get the chance.

      • Annie
        March 28, 2017

        Hmmm yes, I’m definitely intrigued. Adding it!

  6. faithrivens
    March 26, 2017

    I love this review! Now off to add this one to my TBR… 🙂

  7. Hmm I can take serial killer scenes but the gory that you allude to, combined with pork has me imagining the worst things.. I’m a big animal lover too so I don’t know if that’s really my cup of tea ;-).

    • Diana
      April 6, 2017

      Oh I totally get you. This book leaned more towards horror so its really gory. So I get why it may not work for you especially if you don’t like books that are that dark.

  8. Grab the Lapels
    March 28, 2017

    I feel like more and more of the reviews I read at heading toward thriller-horror! I’d it the next big thing??? I love horror!

    • Diana
      April 6, 2017

      In March, I read two such books. Maybe its a new thing. I am not a fan of horror but the mix works sometime 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2017 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , .
