A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

March Warp-up(April TBR)

March was a nice, quiet month. That means that I was able to read a good number(11) of books. Here’s is a look at some of my favorite titles:

Non-ARCS

I have been trying to read more books from my own bookshelf. I wasn’t able to do that in January and February but luckily, I March was different. I read three non-ARCs.

  • On Becoming by Toke Makinwa
  • The Hairdresser of Harare by Tendai Huchu
  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

ARCs

Here are some of my favorite reads:

  • Impossible Dilemma by Netta Newbound
  • Lioness of Morocco by Julia Drosten
  • The Many by Nathan Field
  • The Trophy Child by Paula Daly

 

  • The Follower by Koethi Zan
  • The Escape by C.L Taylor
  • Say Nothing by Brad Parks
  • The Lost Children by Helen Phifer

 

Favourite Book of the Book

when-dancedWhen We Danced at the end of the Pier by Sandy Taylor-  This reminded me of my favorite book, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. The setting and time period had a number of similarities. Both books gave me characters that I still think of. Characters who I grew attached to. Characters whose stories broke my heart and made me cry. Part of the story was set in Ireland and I found myself thinking of Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt. However, although the book reminded me of my favourite books, it was quite unique in its own ways. The writing and characterization made it different and the story was one of the most beautiful ones that I have ever read. I have found a new favorite book. This is a book that I will not stop recommending to everyone. It is the most beautiful, heart-breaking story that I have read in a while and I want everyone to read it.

 

APRIL TBR

So I went on a NetGalley request spree and ended up with quite a number of books on my TBR. That means that April will be mainly for ARCs. Here are the books that I hope to read:

  • My Husband The Stranger by Rebecca Done
  • Last Breath by Robert Bryndza
  • Here and Gone by Haylen Beck
  • Lie to Me by Jess Ryder
  • Traitor in the Family by Nicholas Searle
  • Ten Birthdays by Terry Wilkinson
  • Want You Gone by Chris Brookmyre
  • The Killer on the Wall by Emma Kavanagh
  • The Girl from Tyne by Melody Sachs
  • Linden Hill by Gloria Naylor
  • One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline

 

I hope that you had a wonderful month. Happy April. Cheers!

 

27 comments on “March Warp-up(April TBR)

  1. Donna
    April 1, 2017

    Now that things are going back to normal for me, I’m hoping to replace all this blogging by some good reading time and be able to get more books read each month 🙂 I love the diversity of covers in your post 🙂 I see we’re both into an April ARCs mode! I have four or five books from there to read this month, plus 4 reviews requested by authors and I need to squeeze in some sci-fi! I love the sound of My Husband The Stranger 🙂 Happy April and Happy reading!

    • Diana
      April 3, 2017

      Your blogging in March was inspiring. I liked seeing the dedication and thought that went into each post. I hope that you will get enough reading time this month though. All the best with your ARCS too. Happy new month 🙂

  2. bookdrblog
    April 1, 2017

    Some really interesting looking books, I really want to read The Trophy Child!

    • Diana
      April 3, 2017

      Thank you. I hope that you will get a chance to read Trophy Child. It has many great reviews although I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would.

  3. Renee (Itsbooktalk)
    April 1, 2017

    Great reading month Diana! Looking forward to April as well and you’ve got some interesting picks lined up. Happy Saturday:)

    • Diana
      April 3, 2017

      Thanks Renee. I am excited about the April TBR. I have some diverse reads coming up as well as thrillers. I hope that you will have a good reading month too.

      Happy new month 🙂

  4. Annie
    April 1, 2017

    Happy month! Curious about Linden Hlls, will wait for your review! This month we don’t have many common reads so I’ll wait for your verdicts 😛

    • Diana
      April 3, 2017

      Just read your TBR again. I read it on phone on Saturday but checked it out again today. We really don’t have any similar books. I have only read The Escape in yours.

      I got a bunch of Historical novels after reading When We Danced at the end of the pier Linden Hills was one of them. I will let you know how it goes.

      Have a wonderful month 🙂

  5. Jasmine
    April 1, 2017

    You sure have a productive reading month and I like that you have so many books in your April TBR. Hope you will enjoy the new reads. I noticed One Perfect Lie and wonder how it is. Looking forward to see your review 🙂

    • Diana
      April 3, 2017

      Thank you Jasmine. My April TBR is a little ambitious but I will be happy even with 70% success.

      Have a wonderful month 🙂

      • Jasmine
        April 3, 2017

        I’m sure you will be able to get through many books if they are fast paced and you couldn’t put it down 😊 Enjoy April Diana!

  6. Eleven books is fantastic!! I read four and started two new books, an ebook and an audiobook. Your April TBR looks like a great mix. Hoping for April showers for all of us. Because more reading! 🙂

    • Diana
      April 3, 2017

      Thank you Charlie. I hope that you are enjoying the ebook and audio-book. I have never listened to audio-book because I fear that I will get distracted. However, I hope to listen to one some day soon.

      Cheers to April showers:-)

  7. faithrivens
    April 2, 2017

    A great number for March. Have a beautiful April, my dear ❤

  8. Yvo
    April 3, 2017

    Yay for being able to read your own books! I love reading ARCs, but sometimes they do get in the way of getting to read other titles… Although it looks like you will have some great titles to look forward to in April (Last Breath!!!) Happy reading and have a great month! ❤

    • Diana
      April 4, 2017

      Thanks Yvo, I can’t wait to read Last Breath. This month I ended up with way too many ARCs but hopefully, I will sneak in at least one non-ARC.Happy April 🙂

  9. Laila@BigReadingLife
    April 4, 2017

    11 is awesome! I read 7 in March. You’ve got some really interesting looking covers in your April ARCs! Looking forward to your reviews!

    • Diana
      April 4, 2017

      7 sounds great and I hope that most, if not all, were enjoyable reads. Thank you and Happy April ❤

  10. gracethoroughgoodbeauty
    April 5, 2017

    OMG you have read so many books in a month!! I’m lucky if I get around to reading 3!! Did you enjoy A Monster Calls? It’s on my to read list ❤

    https://gracethoroughgoodbeauty.wordpress.com/

    • Diana
      April 6, 2017

      Yes I did enjoy Monster Calls. Check it out when you get a chance. Thank you for stopping by. Have a wonderful April 🙂

  11. JoanaDuarte
    April 7, 2017

    I wanted to try When We Danced at the end of the Pier since you loved it so much, but it’s the third in a trilogy, and I never read any of the others >.<
    And Impossible Dilemma seems really interesting to me too, even tho it's a bit scary… Unfortunately, it's not on NetGalley anymore :/
    Hope you have an amazing month, and I can't wait to see your thoughts on Lie to Me and The Killer on the Wall!
    Happy Readings ❤

    • Diana
      April 7, 2017

      I have never read any of the other books in the series too. When We Danced at the end of the Pier felt like a standalone especially since we get to meet the main characters as kids. There is no references to past events not in the book. It seems like the setting is what is similar in all the books but not the characters.

      Thank you. I am currently reading Lie to Me and its great so far. I will let you know how it goes.

      Happy reading to you too and enjoy your April ❤

      • JoanaDuarte
        April 7, 2017

        Then I will definitely try to read it! 😀 I requested it in NetGalley, let’s see if I can get it!

  12. Great job reading so much in March!! I am really impressed. Doesn’t it feel good to read books you own? I’ve gotten out of the habit of buying books unless I’m going to read them *right now*. Alas, NetGalley is a weakness of mine, too. That’s quite a TBR you have for April! Have you considered joining Aimal’s A Very ARCish Readathon? You’re reading so much!

    • Diana
      April 8, 2017

      I saw you mention Animal’s readathon.I’ll go check it out.Perhaps it will help me get through the April ARCs so that I can make a dent.It did feel good reading my own stuff but staying away from ARCs is proving to be a challenge though I’m working on it.Happy April 🙂

      • ARCs are absolutely addicting to me, strangely. I guess it’s the idea of exploring the unexplored? I just love them, and it means I get overwhelmed easily… O_o

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2017 by in Bookish Post, Monthly Wrap up and tagged .
