A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #April 12th

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

Lie To Me

 

I was able to predict the twists in this book a few chapters ahead of the reveal which hindered me from enjoying this book as much as I thought I would. Lie to Me by Jess Ryder is about secrets, obsession, lies and betrayal. You can read my full review of the book here.

 

Last Breath

 

Last Breath by Robert Bryndza– The DCI Erika Foster series remains my favourite series to date. Each book keeps getting. I don’t know how Bryndza does it since he releases two to three books each year but he just keeps getting better. I loved this book so much that I sacrificed my sleep on a weekday and read it up to 2am in the morning.  Today is the publication day for this book. My review will be up later on tonight.

 

Currently Reading

One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline

I just started reading this book yesterday. It started really strong and I do hope that it will remain the same to the end.

one perfect LieAbout the Book

On paper, Chris Brennan looks perfect.But everything about Chris Brennan is a lie.

 Susan Sematov is proud of her son Raz, a high school pitcher.   Heather Larkin is a struggling single mother who lives for her son Justin’s baseball games.  But Justin is shy, and Heather fears he is being lured down a dark path by one of his teammates. Mindy Kostis succumbs to the pressure of being a surgeon’s wife by filling her days with social events and too many gin and tonics. But she doesn’t know that her husband and her son, Evan, are keeping secrets from her. At the center of all of them is Chris Brennan. Why is he there? What does he want? And what is he willing to do to get it?

 

An Extraordinary UnionAn Extraordinary Union by Alyssa Cole

I am slowly making my way through this one. The setting and characters are wonderful. I like the two MCs. However, the romance is heavier than I expected and this is my main issue with the book. I hope to finish reading it soon though.

About the Book

As the Civil War rages between the states, a courageous pair of spies plunge fearlessly into a maelstrom of ignorance, deceit, and danger, combining their unique skills to alter the course of history and break the chains of the past . . .

Elle Burns is a former slave with a passion for justice and an eidetic memory. Trading in her life of freedom in Massachusetts, she returns to the indignity of slavery in the South—to spy for the Union Army. Malcolm McCall is a detective for Pinkerton’s Secret Service. Subterfuge is his calling, but he’s facing his deadliest mission yet—risking his life to infiltrate a Rebel enclave in Virginia. Two undercover agents who share a common cause—and an undeniable attraction—Malcolm and Elle join forces when they discover a plot that could turn the tide of the war in the Confederacy’s favor…

 

Reading Next

Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell

I liked the first book in this series so I can’t wait to see how this one goes.

About the Book

Sleep TightClose your eyes … Just pray you don’t wake up. A killer stalks the streets of East London. All over the area, murdered young women are discovered, their bodies posed into a sickening recreation of fairytale princesses.

Detective Ruby Preston is determined to hunt down a disturbed individual who is using the women to realise his dark fantasies. But when body parts are found at the home of her lover, Nathan Crosby, Ruby is torn between her job and her heart.
Convinced that he is being framed, Ruby must catch the killer before Nathan becomes the number one suspect. But as more victims are found, it becomes harder to prove his innocence.

As Ruby starts to close in on the twisted individual, can she stop him before he strikes again? And how well does she really know the man she loves?

 

Happy Reading!

19 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #April 12th

  1. Donna
    April 12, 2017

    One perfect lie sounds full of secrets, lies and betrayals! I can’t wait to read your thoughts about it! So far I’ve resisted the temptation to read Sleep Tight 🙂 Happy reading! x

    • Diana
      April 12, 2017

      Its really good so far. I have about 100 pages to go so I will get through it tonight and its full of secrets so far. Haha I think you mentioned that you haven’t read the first book in the series. I will let you know how it goes though. Happy Wednesday 🙂

  2. One Perfect Lie seems like a read with a lot of questions, I love those. I’m on the blog tour for Sleep Tight so definitely reading that one :-). Happy reading!

    • Diana
      April 12, 2017

      I look forward to your review of Sleep Tight. It does look like a promising read though so I hope that we will both enjoy it 🙂

  3. ChrissiReads
    April 12, 2017

    Sleep Tight looks very intriguing! 🙂 I hope you have a great week of reading!

    • Diana
      April 12, 2017

      It does 🙂 Thank you and happy reading to you too.

  4. Ooh some fab books in your post. I love the sound of One Perfect Lie and it’s good to know it has such a strong opening. Sleep Tight sounds really good too, I’ve been thinking of requesting that one but I’m really trying to catch up on some of my NG reads first. Hope you enjoy all your books. Happy reading 🙂
    Here’s my week in books post: https://rathertoofondofbooks.com/2017/04/12/www-wednesday-11-april/

    • Diana
      April 12, 2017

      Thank you Hayley. One Perfect Lie is an awesome read so far. I think I will be through with it tonight. Will share my review soon. I get what you mean about catching up with NG reads first. I am currently feeling overwhelmed because of too many ARCs.

      Happy reading too and thanks for the link 🙂

  5. Jasmine
    April 12, 2017

    How are you liking One Perfect Lie? I’m contemplating about reading it.

    • Diana
      April 14, 2017

      It wasn’t what I expected.I thought it would be a psychological thriller but it ended up being a crime thriller though it was still okay.

      • Jasmine
        April 14, 2017

        Is most books you read more focused on psychological thrillers? More into the chase & hunt of the detectives and narrowly escaped of the killer? I prefer that more than the gruesome killing.

  6. anovelglimpse
    April 12, 2017

    I just read a review on One Perfect Lie and it sounded really good. Hopefully, it continues to be so for you!
    Here’s my WWW Wednesday.

    • Diana
      April 18, 2017

      It was a good read. Thank you 🙂

  7. I hate when the upcoming twist is predictable! One Predictable Lie and An Extraordinary Union both look so good! I hope you enjoy them both.

    • Diana
      April 18, 2017

      Thank you. Both books turned out to be really good. I just finished reading Extraordinary Union yesterday and was surprised by how the final chapters turned out to be more interesting than the start of the book.

  8. Yvo
    April 13, 2017

    I’ll be reading your Last Breath review next! I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as I did. Happy reading!

    • Diana
      April 14, 2017

      Thanks Yvo.Happy reading to you too 🙂

  9. Annie
    April 13, 2017

    Hmm too much romance? At least it’s historical, I can handle those better haha

    • Diana
      April 14, 2017

      Lol the genre is the only reason I am still reading it.The story outside the romance is interesting so far and I like the setting 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2017 by in Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged , .
