A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Sleep Tight (Detective Ruby Preston #2) by Caroline Mitchell

Sleep TightAbout the Book

Close your eyes … Just pray you don’t wake up.

A killer stalks the streets of East London. All over the area, murdered young women are discovered, their bodies posed into a sickening recreation of fairytale princesses.

Detective Ruby Preston is determined to hunt down a disturbed individual who is using the women to realise his dark fantasies. But when body parts are found at the home of someone known to her, Ruby is torn between her job and her heart.  Convinced that he is being framed, Ruby must catch the killer. But as more victims are found, it becomes harder to prove her his innocence.

Review

Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell is the second book in the Detective Ruby Preston series. The first book was Love You to Death which I reviewed here. In Sleep Tight, a serial killer hits the streets of London targeting young women who are killed and then dressed up as fairy-tale princesses before being posed awaiting discovery. The killings are gruesome and the detectives are stuck trying to solve the mystery which was complex as the killer leaves no clues behind.

The beginning of this story was a bit slow for me. The first murder and suspect were introduced in the beginning chapters of the book. The investigation seemed to drag on as it focused on the first suspect. However, things quickly turned around when the second suspect was introduced. This was someone known to the lead detective hence making the case personal. I started enjoying the book more after this and became completely hooked as the story progressed.

As in the first book, Detective Ruby Preston stands out as a different kind of detective. She is not the usual lead with a bit of baggage and sad history. What makes her unique is her connections with the underworld. Her relationship with the Crosby brothers is unorthodox though undoubtedly quite interesting. In this book, Ruby is strong, intuitive and a lot more confident. In addition, she continues to balance between the right and wrong. Ruby knows what it means to go rogue and I totally enjoy reading about her daring moves.  It was a delight to follow her as she solved the case by all means necessary. What I like about Ruby is that she can be a badass but she still has a softer, caring side that made her attached to the case and those close to her. I think she is the kind of friend that I would like to have in my corner.

The case was intriguing in more different ways. I remember reading the villain’s POVs and thinking about the crazy Unsubs of Criminal Minds. The villain was dark and twisted. Selfish, personal motives kept the body count going up. In addition, the villain wasn’t just cold but creepy as hell. As always, the darker narrations were both scary and fascinating. I couldn’t wait for the detectives to put everything together though.

Caroline wrote this book in a way that the focus was on the case and the investigation. The villain’s name is revealed almost midway the story but this doesn’t take away the mystery. It is one thing to know who the killer is and quite a different issue to find them especially if they live off the grid. The detectives had quite a task but it was fascinating to see all the pieces coming together. There was an unexpected twist towards the end of the story which I really liked.

Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell is a book that will appeal to fans of crime thrillers. Although part of a series, it can be read as a standalone.

 

The Detective Ruby Preston Series so far

19 comments on “Sleep Tight (Detective Ruby Preston #2) by Caroline Mitchell

  1. Renee (Itsbooktalk)
    April 18, 2017

    Enjoyed your review Diana! If you’re a Criminal Minds fan you might like 2 upcoming books on Netgalley if you haven’t already seen and requested:) …The Fourth Monkey and Unsub….

    • Diana
      April 19, 2017

      Thank you Renee. I have just requested both books and they do sound like awesome reads. It seems that there are some restrictions and UK bloggers are preferred for both but I do have my fingers crossed. Criminal Minds is one of my favourite shows though this season has been a bit disappointing with the changes in the cast.

  2. Fab review! I still love reading about Ruby too. Her bonds with the other side of the law and her walking the thin line make it all the more interesting. I’ve really enjoyed this one as well!

    • Diana
      April 19, 2017

      Thank you.Ruby is definitely unique. I had issues with her portrayal at first especially with the mafia links. I am warming up to her and Nathan now though.Glad to know that you also enjoyed this one 🙂

  3. I love twisted villain! 🙂 I can’t remember if I already own the first book, but I sure will get both read soon! Great review!

    • Diana
      April 19, 2017

      This villain is as twisted as they come. Totally messed up but this added to the intrigue of the story. I hope that you will enjoy the series when you get to read it 🙂

  4. cleopatralovesbooks
    April 18, 2017

    A great review and another author I need to try before too long!

    • Diana
      April 19, 2017

      She is really good. As a former detective, her experience comes through and this can be seen in the details of the investigation.I hope that you will like the series if you decide to read it 🙂

  5. Annie
    April 18, 2017

    Still haven’t read this! Loved the previous one but trying to take it slow XD

    • Diana
      April 19, 2017

      Taking it slow is something that I am totally failing at. My shelf is still so full with 33 books. I hope to take it slow now. lol. I hope that you will get a chance to read this book someday though. Its great 🙂

  6. Yvo
    April 19, 2017

    Great review! I’m glad you enjoyed this one as well. 🙂

    • Diana
      April 19, 2017

      Thanks Yvo. Yes I did and I totally agree with you. It was a great read. The series does seem to be getting better.

  7. Pingback: WWW-Wednesday #April 19th | A Haven for Book Lovers

  8. Jasmine
    April 22, 2017

    Were you scared reading the villain’s narratives? Creepy as you described already makes me afraid to read this book haha.. It is definitely a great read when the detectives have to work extra hard to find the killer. Glad to know you enjoyed another read 🙂

    • Diana
      April 22, 2017

      Thank you and I love the creepy narrations.I usually enjoy the villains POVs in thrillers more than the detectives.Abit scary but always intriguing 🙂

  9. Laila@BigReadingLife
    April 22, 2017

    Enjoyed your review – that the person possibly being framed is someone close to the detective makes for an intriguing premise!

    • Diana
      April 22, 2017

      It really did.Made things more interesting and tense and set the detective against everyone else in the investigation team.

      Thank you 🙂

  10. Well-written, Diana! I appreciate how you can discuss a mystery or thriller clearly without giving too much away. After all the books in these genres you’ve read, though, I’m not surprised. It sounds like the Ruby Preston books are only improving. Would you agree? Also, how do you feel that Ruby has developed between the books? That’s my favorite part about serial mysteries– I love watching the detectives grow and change. 🙂

  11. Pingback: April Warp-up (May TBR) | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

