A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #April 19th

 This meme is currently hosted by Sam @ https://samannelizabeth.wordpress.com/

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline- This book ended up surprising me though I am still not sure if I liked it or not. The story began in a way that got me super interested in finding out what was going on. A few chapters in and it took a rather dramatic turn. I sort of felt deceived like I had been lied to and made to believe that something totally different was going on. It was still interesting but not in a way that I expected. In addition, I found out the answer to one of the main mysteries by reading the blurb. My full review should be up by tomorrow.

An Extraordinary Union by Alyssa Cole – As I explained last week, I liked the premise of this book but the romance was a bit on the heavy side for me so I ended up not enjoying the book as much as I thought I would.

Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell- This was great. It’s the second book in the Detective Ruby Preston series and I think it is even better than the first book. You can read my review here.

Currently Reading

husband-stranger

 

My Husband The Stranger by Rebecca Done

A tragic accident. A terrible injury. And in a moment, the man you fell in love with is transformed into a total stranger. How would you cope? What would you do? Would you be strong enough to stay? But what if you found out that it wasn’t an accident at all…?

It took a bit of time for to get into this story. I wasn’t feeling it at first. However, I am now totally hooked. I can’t wait to get home in the evening and finish reading the remaining chapters.

 

Reading Next

Wany you goneWant You Gone by Christopher Brookmyre

What if all your secrets were put online? Sam Morpeth is growing up way too fast, left to fend for a younger sister with learning difficulties when their mother goes to prison and watching her dreams of university evaporate. But Sam learns what it is to be truly powerless when a stranger begins to blackmail her online, drawing her into a trap she may not escape alive. Who would you turn to? Meanwhile, reporter Jack Parlabane has finally got his career back on track, but his success has left him indebted to a volatile source on the wrong side of the law. Now that debt is being called in, and it could cost him everything. What would you be capable of? Thrown together by a common enemy, Sam and Jack are about to discover they have more in common than they realise – and might be each other’s only hope.

 

Traitor in the familyA Traitor in the Family by Nicholas Searle

‘While her husband prepared to murder a young man he had never met, Bridget O’Neill completed her packing for Christmas with her in-laws.’

Francis O’Neill is a terrorist, trained to kill for his cause. Bridget is his wife, expected to be loyal and stand by her husband. She has learned not to hope for much more, until the day she glimpses, for the first time, the chance of a new life. A life without violence, without secrets, and without knocks on the door in the dead of night. A life without her husband.

But what if freedom for Bridget means grave danger for Francis?

 

 

 “Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.”
― Charles William Eliot

Happy Reading!

 

 

23 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #April 19th

  1. I cannot wait for your review of A Perfect Lie! I’m intrigued by what you said and it always feels weird to finish a book and not knowing whether or not you actually liked it! My Husband The Stranger, I have been dying to get it but I’ve been a good girl and stayed away xD As for Brookmyre, I’m gonna try and read the rest of the series in order! Happy reading! x

    • Diana
      April 19, 2017

      I have been trying to write a review for One Perfect Lie but its still so confusing. As for Brookmyre, you introduced me to the series when you recommended Black Widow. I really hope that this one will be a great read. I like the idea of cyber-crime and the publisher asked me to be part of the blog tour(I have never been asked before) so there is a lot of excitement around the book 🙂 How many books have you read in the series so far?

  2. I’ve only read one Chris Brookmyre novel (Black Widow) and it’s in my top 10 of 2016 fav reads. I have high hopes for this one then although I wonder how it could be as amazing as that other one.

    • Diana
      April 19, 2017

      I also really liked Black Widow although like you, it was my first and only book so far in the series. This one does sound good too. I don’t know why but I am drawn to cyber-crimes and they are not so common in thrillers.That first line about secrets being online really has me intrigued. Hopefully, we will both like this book 🙂

  3. ChrissiReads
    April 19, 2017

    My Husband The Stranger looks like my sort of read! I hope you have a fabulous reading week.

    • Diana
      April 19, 2017

      Its a really interesting read so far so I definitely recommend it. Thank you and happy reading to you too 🙂

  4. Renee (Itsbooktalk)
    April 19, 2017

    I’ll be interested in your thoughts on One Perfect Lie, I’m always put off when I feel like I’ve been deceived rather than just logically fooled if that makes sense:)

    • Diana
      April 19, 2017

      I totally understand what you mean and I agree with you. I like twists especially when they are unpredictable and cleverly executed but really don’t like being deceived lol. It makes the plot feel unrealistic and sort of disjointed.

  5. AvalinahsBooks
    April 19, 2017

    My husband the stranger sounds pretty interesting, actually!

    • Diana
      April 20, 2017

      I finished reading it yesterday.It was great.Definitely recommended 🙂

  6. I just finished One Perfect Lie and I’m planning on reviewing it sometime in the next week. I’m a little torn in my feelings toward it so I’m looking forward to your review Diana.

    • Diana
      April 20, 2017

      I can see that I’m not the only who had mixed feelings about it.My review will probably be up over the weekend.I look forward to reading yours too.

  7. anovelglimpse
    April 19, 2017

    I wasn’t interested in reading One Perfect Lie until I read your comments about it here. Now, I want to read it to understand what you’re talking about!
    My WWW Wednesday.

    • Diana
      April 20, 2017

      I hope you’ll like it better than I did if you get a chance to read.Thanks for the link.Heading over to your post now

  8. missdarcy87
    April 19, 2017

    My Husband the Stranger looks intriguing! I hope you’re enjoying it!

    Here is my post for this week. Happy reading! 🙂

    • Diana
      April 20, 2017

      I totally loved the book.Thank you 🙂

  9. Annie
    April 19, 2017

    Have an amazing week D! Will you write a review of An Extraordinary Union?

    • Diana
      April 20, 2017

      Hey Annie,yes I will.Already drafted it.Still had mixed feelings but there were a couple of things that I liked so I’ll focus more on that 🙂

  10. cleopatralovesbooks
    April 19, 2017

    I have the Chris Brookmyre coming up soon too and I like the sound of A Traitor in the Family!

    • Diana
      April 20, 2017

      Brookmyre looks very promising.I hope it will be as good as Black Widow or even better.A Traitor in the Family starts out really slow but I hope it will pick up soon.

  11. I’m sorry One Perfect Lie fell a little flat. I get this hackling feeling when I’ve been deceived by a blurb or the plot. I don’t like it. And you shouldn’t be able to solve the heart of the mystery by reading the blurb! Who writes like that!? I hope you enjoy your current reads!

    • Diana
      April 22, 2017

      The premise of One Perfect Lie was very interesting.I just wish the author had stuck with the initial storyline.As for the blurb,I’ve had people complain before about blurbs that are too revealing.Unfortunate when that happens since it can ruin a good book.Thanks.

  12. faithrivens
    April 23, 2017

    Hope you’ve been enjoying your reads this week, my dear 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2017 by in Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged .
