A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline

one perfect Lie

On paper, Chris Brennan looks perfect. He’s applying for a job as a high school government teacher, he’s ready to step in as an assistant baseball coach, and his references are impeccable.

But everything about Chris Brennan is a lie.

Susan Sematov is proud of her son Raz, a high school pitcher so athletically talented. Heather Larkin is a struggling single mother who lives for her son Justin’s baseball games. Mindy Kostis succumbs to the pressure of being a surgeon’s wife by filling her days with social events and too many gin and tonics.

At the center of all of them is Chris Brennan. Why is he there? What does he want? And what is he willing to do to get it?
Review

When I first decided to read One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline, I thought it would be a psychological thriller. The blurb spoke about secrets and lies which are two things that I like in my thrillers. The story begins with Chris at the new school. He has impeccable references although from the start, we are told that everything about him is a lie. Hints are dropped throughout the first chapters that indicate that Chris is hiding a secret about his identity and why he has moved to the town and in particular, the new school. I was immediately hooked to the story and couldn’t wait to find out the truth about his secrets. Why was he there? What was he hiding?  And most importantly, who is Chris?

However, the storyline shifted after a few chapters. I can’t say more about this because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it yet and honestly, I think it is better if you read the book with minimal prior knowledge about the plot. The shift that I am alluding to was one of the main twists in the book. I was able to predict the rest of the twists from then on although this didn’t affect my reading experience.

Although lies and deceit seem to be the main themes in this story, there are other themes that emerge through the sub-plots. There is loss and mourning, infidelity, family and peer pressure. I liked the background stories for the three mothers the most. Each woman had a different personal struggle that they were trying to sort out as they also tried to do the best for their teenage sons and deal with all the other drama going on in the town.

Writing this review was a bit difficult for me. I can’t say much about the plotline because as I mentioned, that would ruin the experience for those who haven’t read the book. My main issue with the story occurred after the first twist. The story until the twist was my kind of book. The turn it took was something else; it’s a direction that I don’t really like in thrillers. Nevertheless, the book was well-written that I found myself hooked to the story until the last page. So did I like the book? Well, I liked it but I would have loved it if it had taken that different direction.

If you are looking for a suburban crime/domestic thriller then I think that you will enjoy this book. If you like books about lies, deceit and some hint of romance then this will be perfect for you. The less you know about the plotline, the better your reading experience will be. If you can avoid reading the blurb on goodreads(I edited it for this review, leaving out the clues) then I would advise that you do that. I was actually able to guess one of the twists in the book just by reading the blurb. I have heard great things about Lisa Scottoline and I did like her writing so I can’t wait to read her other books.

19 comments on “One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline

  1. Spot on review Diana! I had the same issues that you did. I also liked the mother’s backstories though.☺

    • Diana
      April 24, 2017

      The three women made this a wonderful read and they were so real:-) Glad to hear that I am not the only one who had the issues.

  2. Renee (Itsbooktalk)
    April 24, 2017

    Awesome review Diana! I’ve decided to pass on this one. I really hate when blurbs give too much away and I’m finding that I avoid them for the most part these days!

    • Diana
      April 25, 2017

      I try to avoid them too but sometimes I get curious and read them. In this case, I made the mistake of going back to the blurb after the first twist. The book took a turn that confused me so I wanted to see if there was anything in the blurb about it. This sort of made me easy to figure out everything and solve the mystery. I don’t know why some blurbs are written like that though since they ruin the book.

  3. Yvo
    April 24, 2017

    Great review! You’ve definitely made me curious about this one.

    • Diana
      April 25, 2017

      Glad to hear that. Thank you 🙂

  4. Ugh. I’m so sorry things were downhill after the first twist! I have read books like that. Once I start to put everything together and the book gets predictable I tend to lose interest. I hope that your next book lifts you up a bit more!

    • Diana
      April 25, 2017

      Thank you. Surprisingly, the predictability wasn’t even my main issue with this book. It was the first book. The story-line completely changed and so did the genre in a way. It was like two books combined into one and I only liked the first one.

      • That’s such an odd experience to have! Fascinating. But it’s nice to see a cross-book comparison like this. I don’t think people often reflect on how these books relate back to each other.

  5. A bit mysterious here 😉 but I like all of the themes you mention and I think I’d quite like this one too. Great review!

    • Diana
      April 25, 2017

      Thanks Inge and I hope that you will enjoy it if you get a chance to read it 🙂

  6. Annie
    April 25, 2017

    I was on the fence about this book and I think I’m still are, it looks so good! But… too many!

    • Diana
      April 28, 2017

      Too many characters? I don’t know how it feel about it. There are many reviewers who liked it though so perhaps give it a try if you ever get the chance.

  7. thebookishlibra
    April 26, 2017

    Kind of a bummer to hear that so many of the plot twists were predictable. I’ve read a couple of her books and enjoyed them so I may still give this one a try. Will definitely avoid the blurb if I do though, so thanks for the head’s up on that. 🙂

    • Diana
      April 28, 2017

      You’re welcome. This was my first book by her. A lot of people seem to have enjoyed it so perhaps I was in the minority of those who had an issue with it. I hope that you will like it though and yes, stay away from the blurb 🙂

  8. Laila@BigReadingLife
    April 26, 2017

    I’ve never read her before but she’s incredibly popular with our library patrons. Some of her books sound kind of “issue” driven, and I’m not really into that kind of book – but this one sounds more like a domestic thriller with secrets. You did a nice job reviewing it without giving too much away!

    • Diana
      April 28, 2017

      I think I will try and get some of her other books. I like issue-driven books. This was definitely more action than even thriller. They described it as a suburban crime/thriller. Thank you 🙂

  9. Pingback: April Warp-up (May TBR) | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2017 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , .
