A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #April 26th

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @Taking on a World of Words

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

My Husband The Stranger by Rebecca Done – I really enjoyed this book.  It started out slow but once I got hooked, that was it. You can read my review here.

Want You Gone by Christopher Brookmyre – Another fantastic book by Brookmyre. Cyber-crime, hackers, industry espionage, awesome characters, Wow, this was quite a ride. My review will be up on 3rd May as part of the blog tour. Yeah, my first blog tour, Yay!

A Traitor in the Family by Nicholas Searle – This ended up being quite a surprise. I wasn’t feeling the book at first but by chapter 3, I was totally lost in the story. I ended up reading the whole book in one evening. My review will be up later on tonight.

Currently Reading

here-and-goneHere and Gone by Haylen Beck

Here and Gone is a gripping, wonderfully tense suspense thriller about a mother’s desperate fight to recover her stolen children from corrupt authorities. It begins with a woman fleeing through Arizona with her kids in tow, trying to escape an abusive marriage. When she’s pulled over by an unsettling local sheriff, things soon go awry and she is taken into custody. Only when she gets to the station, her kids are gone. And then the cops start saying they never saw any kids with her, that if they’re gone than she must have done something with them… Meanwhile, halfway across the country a man hears the frenzied news reports about the missing kids, which are eerily similar to events in his own past. As the clock ticks down on the search for the lost children, he too is drawn into the desperate fight for their return.

Sounds good, right? I am a few chapters in and it is good. Really good. I have a good feeling about this one.

Reading Next

I am undecided on exactly which book I will read next but if will definitely be one of these three.  I decided to mix it up a little bit so I have historical fiction, legal and psychological thrillers. With the long weekend coming up (thanks to Labor Day), perhaps I will read all three by next WWW

Nazi's DaughterThe Nazi’s Daughter by Tim Murgatroyd

The Netherlands, Spring 1943. When her glittering career as a ballerina is cut short by a dancing injury, Elise Van Thooft-Noman, rebellious daughter of a powerful Dutch Nazi, flees to an isolated island off the coast of Holland. Here she meets Pieter Goedhart, reluctant village schoolmaster and Resistance fighter. A dangerous affair is kindled between them. Meanwhile Elise’s Nazi family and the terrifying brutality of war are closing in, threatening to destroy all she holds dear…

New York, September 2008. Uncomfortably overweight, single and scraping thirty, Jenni Malarkey is summoned to a mysterious party to celebrate her estranged grandmother’s glamorous life. Her journey through Elise’s secret history will force her to confront a legacy of guilt and shame…

Past and present intersect, as unlikely hearts connect to seek love and redemption, in this haunting time-shift novel set in wartime Holland and contemporary New York.

killer on the wallThe Killer on the Wall by Emma Kavanagh

When fifteen-year-old Isla Bell finds three bodies propped against Hadrian’s Wall, her whole world falls apart. In such a close-knit community, everyone knows the victims, and the man who did it.

Twenty years on and Isla has dedicated her life to forensic psychology; studying the brains of serial killers, and even coming face to face with the convicted murderer who turned her world upside down. She is safe after all, with him behind bars.

Then another body appears against the Wall. And another. As the nightmare returns and the body count rises, everyone in town is a suspect. Who is the Killer on the Wall?

A Criminal DefenseA Criminal Defense by William L. Myers Jr.

When a young reporter is found dead and a prominent Philadelphia businessman is accused of her murder, Mick McFarland finds himself involved in the case of his life. The defendant, David Hanson, is Mick’s best friend, and the victim, a TV news reporter, had reached out to Mick for legal help only hours before her death.

Mick’s played both sides of Philadelphia’s courtrooms. As a top-shelf defense attorney and former prosecutor, he knows all the tricks of the trade. And he’ll need every one of them to win.

But as the trial progresses, he’s disturbed by developments that confirm his deepest fears. This trial, one that already hits too close to home, may jeopardize his firm, his family—everything. Now Mick’s only way out is to mastermind the most brilliant defense he’s ever spun, one that may cross every legal and moral boundary.

 

Happy Reading!

20 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #April 26th

  1. I love your list of books. They all look inrtiguing especially A Criminal Defense. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on that one. Here is my post

    http://totallyaddictedtoreading.blogspot.com/2017/04/what-are-you-reading-wednesdays-9.html

    • Diana
      April 27, 2017

      Thank you and thanks for the link. Just from your blog right now. Happy reading 🙂

  2. missdarcy87
    April 26, 2017

    So many great books on your list! The Nazi’s Daughter especially looks good!

    Here’s my post for this week. Happy reading!

    • Diana
      April 27, 2017

      Thanks and Happy Reading to you too 🙂

  3. Laurel-Rain Snow
    April 26, 2017

    Wow, Here and Gone looks like one I have to read! Also, My Husband, the Stranger. Thanks for sharing, and here’s MY WWW POST

    • Diana
      April 27, 2017

      Here and Gone was a wonderful read. Definitely highly recommended. Thank you.

  4. anovelglimpse
    April 26, 2017

    I loved reading your review of My Husband the Stranger. It made me want to read it.
    My WWW Wednesday.

    • Diana
      April 27, 2017

      I am glad to hear that. Thank you 🙂

  5. ChrissiReads
    April 26, 2017

    Here and Gone looks good! 🙂 I hope you enjoy these books!

    • Diana
      April 27, 2017

      It was quite enjoyable. Thank you 🙂

  6. Yvo
    April 26, 2017

    Congrats on your first blog tour! I’m still too afraid to actually sign up for one of those haha. You have so many interesting sounding titles coming up; I hope you will enjoy them and happy reading!

    • Diana
      April 27, 2017

      I get what you mean. I have always been afraid of them. I think the fact that the publisher approached me and was really nice is part of the reason I agreed to do this one though I had to ensure that I read the book in good time and its a bit big but luckily, it was interesting. Thank you and happy reading too 🙂

  7. rabbitearsblog
    April 27, 2017

    Congrats on your first blog tour! I haven’t really done any reviews for a blog tour since I usually have a hard time reading the book on time, but I can’t wait to see your review!

    Here’s my WWW:

    https://rabbitearsblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/27/www-wednesdays-6-april-26-2017/

    • Diana
      April 28, 2017

      Thank you. Yeah, there is pressure to read the book ahead of time when you are part of the tour but luckily in this case, the book was brilliant so I got through it pretty fast 🙂

  8. Annie
    April 27, 2017

    Ohhh and Here and gone is still pending on my Netgalley haha Eagerly awaiting your review!

    • Diana
      April 28, 2017

      Oh sorry about that. I hope you will get approved though. My review will be up today.

  9. I’m late to the week. No surprise. :/ Want You Gone looks like something I’d enjoy. The Killer on the Wall gives me a slight case of the heebie jeebies. Happy reading! Good luck finishing your three new books by next WWW.

    • Diana
      April 28, 2017

      Thank you. I think 3 books was ambitious but will see how it goes 🙂

  10. 21stcdee
    May 11, 2017

    Lovely!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2017 by in Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged , .
