A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

April Wrap-up (May TBR)

April was another ARCs month. I didn’t get a chance to read any non-ARCs due to all the pending books that I had on my NetGalley shelf. However, I had a good reading month with a couple of awesome reads so no regrets. Click on the titles to read my review of each book.

From my April TBR, I didn’t manage to read the following books so I will probably read them in May.

  • The Killer on the Wall by Emma Kavanagh
  • The Girl from Tyne by Melody Sachs
  • Linden Hill by Gloria Naylor
  • The Nazi’s Daughter by Tim Murgatroyd

May  TBR

May is going to be another ARC month. I hope to make some progress with my pending Netgalley reviews. Below are the books that I hope to read:

  • Teacher’s Secret by Suzanne Leal
  • The Leavers by Lisa Ko
  • The Darkest Lies by Copperthwaite
  • A Negro and an Ofay by Danny Gardner
  • Lies by TM Logan
  • A Daughter’s Courage by Renita D’Silva
  • Justice Delayed by Marti Green
  • Be My Killer by Richard Parker
  • Stars Over Clear Lake by Loretta Elsworth

 

                                   May  Book Club Read: A City of Thorns by Ben Rawlence

 City of Thorns

Too many books…

book slump

I am a bit overwhelmed right now by the number of books that I need to read and review. I am so behind with ARCs and a couple of them have already been published. I made a few mistakes with the request button and here I am. Oddly, this has sent me to a kind of reading slump. Instead of reading, I am watching more TV and hence getting way behind with the ARCs.  I wonder if I should just ignore the publication dates and get through the books at my own pace. It seems wrong to do that though. I am really interested in the titles that I have so I wouldn’t want the pressure to ruin the reading experience.

Anyway, I hope that May will be a good reading month and the current slump will soon go away.

How was your April? What do you do when you end up with ARCs past publication date? Do you think it matters if reviews are posted weeks after the books are published?

I hope that you had a wonderful month. Happy May! Cheers!

24 comments on “April Wrap-up (May TBR)

  1. If you feel overwhelmed by the ARCs and their pub dates, I’d advise you to pick the ones you want to read no matter the date. The request mistake is done (I’m guilty of it too, and with so many blog tours in May I’ll never squeeze enough ARCs) so the reviews and the reading experience will be better if you put the pressure away and just go with what you’ve got.
    I just bought the first Ruby Preston book to read Sleep Tight soon :p
    I wish you a happy and relaxed May xxxx

    • Diana
      April 30, 2017

      Thanks Donna.I have decided to do exactly that and read them at my own pace.Hopefully,I’ll stay away from NetGalley requests for a while now.

      I hope you’ll enjoy Ruby Preston.Its a pretty good series.Happy reading 🙂

      • Good luck! I just broke all rules and requested a couple of Bookouture I’ve been drooling over, knowing May is full of Blog tours… Idiot! xD

        • Diana
          May 1, 2017

          Haha worry not.Bookouture is almost always full of wins so I know you’ve got some awesome ARC.Happy reading and all the best 🙂

  2. Aoife
    April 30, 2017

    10 Birthdays looks awesome, I’m gonna have to try and find a copy.

    • Diana
      April 30, 2017

      Glad to hear that.You can click on the title to read my review but I definitely reccomend it.

  3. I hope your slump goes away soon. I find that happens to me too – I get approved for a few requests at once and even though I’m so excited to read the books I end up not being able to read anything. I got approved for some requests I’d put in ages ago this week so that was a nice surprise but at the same time it’s made me feel a bit stressed about how many I now need to read. Hopefully we’ll both be back on track soon.
    It looks like you’ve read some good books this month so I hope it’s the same in May. Happy reading 🙂

    • Diana
      May 1, 2017

      Oh I totally get you about the late approvals.Sometimes I get books that I don’t even recall requesting.Right now,I don’t even want to look at my pending requests since they kinda add to the pressure.All the best with getting back on track.Have a wonderful May and happy reading too.Thank you 🙂

  4. I wouldn’t stress about it, just read at your own pace. I think you did great for April though and I certainly couldn’t have done more. I’m trying – trying – not to request any more books.

    • Diana
      May 1, 2017

      Thanks Inge.I’ve decided to do exactly that.Read at my own pace.All the best with the request ban.That always proves to be a challenge for me but I’m trying.Happy new month 🙂

  5. Yvo
    May 1, 2017

    I totally feel you when it comes to ARCs. Every time I only take a glimpse at my ARC schedule I’m starting to feel desperate… But like you said, the pressure of publish dates shouldn’t ruin your reading experience; maybe it’s just best to start reading those titles your most excited about and see where it goes? I have had a few titles I wasn’t able to read before the publish date (both because I didn’t schedule right and because I was only approved just before or even after the publish date), and even though it did make me guilty, I guess that a review is a review even though it’s published weeks later. In the end, it’s publicity for the title no matter what…

    • Diana
      May 1, 2017

      I like what you said Yvonne.Reviews do serve the same purpose.I’ll try stay on schedule but if it fails then no pressure.I’ll do what you’ve suggested by starting with titles that I’m interested in.Perhaps that will help me with getting over the slump.Thanks a lot dear.Have a wonderful month 🙂

      • Yvo
        May 2, 2017

        I hope you will be able to get over your slump soon! Have a wonderful month. ❤

  6. Annie
    May 1, 2017

    Did you finish Imposters? And don’t worry, you’ll read a ton more this month, no pressure at all, do it at your pace!

    • Diana
      May 2, 2017

      Imagine I still have that one episode left. TV shows are tricky here to get so I am still waiting for someone to get me the final episode. Currently watching the new season of Bates Motel.

      Thank you. Working through the ARCs at my own pace is definitely my strategy for the month. I am now in the mood for thrillers so hopefully, I will get through a couple soon.

      Happy new month ❤

  7. I’m still taking a break from ARCs, but I hope you can get through enough this month, so you can enjoy other reads. Happy May!

    • Diana
      May 3, 2017

      Thank you. I hope that I will be able to also take a break soon. Probably in June if things go well. Happy May too. Enjoy your books this month 🙂

  8. So many awesome books! When I first started, I didn’t understand NetGalley, so I made days and days of mistakes with the request button. Still paying the price…and will be for a while. Go through them at your own pace. While it is an ARC, for publishers and authors it is also about exposure and promotion. I read books all the time that have been published recently or years ago. Don’t force yourself to read. It could make you resent the book(s) and not enjoy them as you usually would, which I learned. I hope you find a way out of your slump soon.

    • Diana
      May 6, 2017

      Thank you so much Charlie.I think my requests like book purchases and sometimes reading are guided by mood.I went abit crazy with requests in March.There are 29 books on my shelf and I’m at 76% feedback ration.Hoping to get the books down to 20 but as you’ve advised,I’m not going to pressure myself but will read then at my own pace.Thanks a lot 🙂

  9. Good for you for sticking to ARCs in April! That’s definitely something I need to do– I have to certainly work on purging my NetGalley list and read/review all the books. Oops! In fact, I have ~10 books which have already been published that still need to be read, let alone the 4 which have been read but not reviewed. You aren’t alone. Just read one page at a time– you’ll get there!

    • Diana
      May 9, 2017

      One book at a time is definitely my strategy right now.I decided to stop panicking and just read at my own pace. Its working so far. All the best with your ARCs and reviews too:-)Thank you.

      • You can do it! Plus, with a huge TBR, at least you have the opportunity to mood-read, more or less, right? Sometimes, a short TBR is the worst because none of those books sound good to read.

  10. faithrivens
    May 9, 2017

    I always feel overwhelmed with the books I have to read and that doesn’t include ARCs ;P That’s why I had to stop using NetGalley. Far too much pressure that I don’t in my life so now I just have to stress about my mountainous TBR at home 😉
    Hope the reading goes well in May, my dear 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2017 by in Bookish Post, Monthly Wrap up and tagged , .
