A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Blog Tour: Want You Gone by Chris Brookmyre @cbrookmyre @LittleBrownUK

wany-you-gone

What if all your secrets were put online?

 Sam Morpeth is growing up way too fast, left to fend for a younger sister with learning difficulties when their mother goes to prison and watching her dreams of university evaporate. But Sam learns what it is to be truly powerless when a stranger begins to blackmail her online, drawing her into a trap she may not escape alive.

 Who would you turn to?

 Meanwhile, reporter Jack Parlabane has finally got his career back on track, but his success has left him indebted to a volatile source on the wrong side of the law. Now that debt is being called in, and it could cost him everything.

 What would you be capable of?

 Thrown together by a common enemy, Sam and Jack about to discover they have

 

 

Blog Tour Header

Review

Welcome to my stop of the Want You Gone blog tour!

This is the second book that I have read by Chris Brookmyre. The first one was Black Widow which I reviewed here. I loved Black Widow so I had really high expectations with Want You Gone. In addition, I was curious about how the author would handle the cyber-crime angle mentioned in the blurb. I have to admit, this book totally impressed me. It surpassed all my expectations. Let me try and explain why.

The story begins with Chris trying to get a new job. He has made a few mistakes in the past but as usual, he is determined to rise above it and re-invent himself. On the other hand, there is something dark going down online. A group of hackers are committing an industrial espionage. We don’t know who these hackers are since they work with code names but I couldn’t help but admire how flawlessly they executed the first crime. Everything comes together and I was left wondering about the people behind the online masks. Two seemingly separate stories, right? However, the two become tangled at some point.

Sam is a young woman in a tough situation. Struggling to make ends meet and taking care of her little sister while her mother is in jail is a lot to handle for a nineteen year old. As Sam tries to survive, Chris seems to have found a way back into journalism. Opposite worlds collide when Sam is blackmailed online. I can’t say more about the plot because I don’t want to ruin it for those who haven’t read the book yet but I let me just say this, it was quite a crazy ride.

The action is non-stop. A very unlikely team is forced to work together and do what seems like the impossible. What is worse, they don’t have a choice in the matter. The story is told through Jack and Sam’s perspectives. There were so many tense moments in the book. I didn’t even know that I was holding my breath at some point until things worked out for the MCs. The twists are many and unpredictable. The anonymity of the internet means that it is even harder to guess the people behind the online identities.

Want You Gone by Chris Brookymre had me at the edge of my seat turning pages up to the end. Hackers, cyber crimes, industrial espionage and high tension, this was a fantastic read.  It made me think about all the risks that we take when we share our personal information online. How safe are those photos backed up online? The idea of hackers is scary though a bit intriguing (in books only… I don’t want to meet hackers in real life lol) and in this book, it made this quite a page-turner. I like how the author went into detail explaining how hacking takes place. It’s crazy. For instance, if you found a flash-disk on your desk, would you be tempted to plug it in to check what it contains? Is your facebook profile visible to people outside your friends’ list? This book had me thinking about my online safety. It was realistic in portraying current situations especially surrounding cyber security and this added to its appeal.

 Although this is the 8th book in the series, it can be read as a standalone. I have read two books in the series so far and the each one tackles different issues hence it is easy to follow the stories. Highly recommended.

About the Book

  • Hardcover, 1st Edition, 432 pages
  • Published February 2nd 2017 by Little, Brown and Company
    Genre: Crime Fiction – Jack Parlabane Series
    Amazon UK
    Amazon US

Want to know more about the book ? Check out the rest of the blog tour!

Blog Tour

18 comments on “Blog Tour: Want You Gone by Chris Brookmyre @cbrookmyre @LittleBrownUK

  1. I have read black widow last year and loved it, this seems like one I would like too 🙂

    • Diana
      May 3, 2017

      I think you would. The two books are different due to the themes but they are both pretty interesting though I think I liked this one better due to the cyber-crimes angle. Give it a look though when you get a chance 🙂

  2. I read Black Widow too and loved that one! If I remember correctly, there was also some internet vigilante in that one.. it seems it’s one of his fav themes. I think I’d like this one too, especially if he can take those different plotlines and make them collide in a great way. Great review!

    • Diana
      May 3, 2017

      yes, there was a hacker in Black Widow though the theme was not as prominent as it is in this one. Yeah, seems that he is fond of it though in this case, he goes deeper into the cyber-crime angle.

      I hope that you’ll get a chance to read it because its great and yes, I think you will like it too. Thank you 🙂

  3. Yvo
    May 3, 2017

    Great review! I defintely have to try and pick up one of his books soon… It sounds right up my alley. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    • Diana
      May 4, 2017

      Thank you. I think that you will enjoy this series. The books can be read as standalones so you can pick any to start with. I wold recommend Black Widow and this one since I have read the two. Of course, you can start with the first book too if you can.

  4. Laila@BigReadingLife
    May 3, 2017

    Holding your breath while reading – sounds like it was an exciting book! Glad it surpassed your expectations!

    • Diana
      May 4, 2017

      It sure did. The tension was so high throughout especially in some of the scenes. I was so nervous just reading them. Thank you 🙂

  5. Renee (Itsbooktalk)
    May 3, 2017

    I’m really looking froward to reading this book and you’re review has made me even more so! Non stop action and tension sounds perfect. I just got it on net galley, it’s title will be The Last Hack for US publication in July. Awesome review!!

    • Diana
      May 4, 2017

      I think I like that title even better. I hope that you will enjoy the book as much as I did Renee. Thank you 🙂

  6. I am SO HAPPY this book lived up to your expectations! I have high hopes for the entire series and I love that the author is able to create a little world with Parlabane as a link between then. I wasn’t sure about the hacking story as I don’t know a thing about it but it seems you don’t need any extra knowledge to be engrossed in the book! Fantastic review!

    • Diana
      May 6, 2017

      I can assure that its not techie at all.I don’t like technical stuff luckily the author focused more on the blackmail and crimes and the hacking just fit in without taking the focus away from the story.I hope that you’ll enjoy the series.I’m thinking of getting books 1-6 too.Thank you 🙂

  7. Grab the Lapels
    May 5, 2017

    That’s quite a big blog tour! I actually knew a woman who owned a business selling plus-sized clothes. The woman in the next store over HATED her, so that woman was getting online and posting horrible pictures on a review page about the clothing shop! The owner of the clothes store tried to contact the police to see what to do about this slander and harassment, but they have no clue. Police today still have no clue how to help you if someone is scaring, threatening, or bullying you. That, to me, is the scariest part. Police sort of shrug their shoulders and talk about how the internet is too big and anonymous.

    • Diana
      May 6, 2017

      Omg that’s crazy that someone would go to such lengths to get rid of competition.My big brother had an online stalker who managed to take over his Facebook account.She started messaging females on his friends list including me,not knowing that I’m his sister.It was a long process to get his fb back but the damage was done.Internet can be a blessing but s scary place too.

      • Grab the Lapels
        May 6, 2017

        I just can’t imagine being so determined to ruin someone’s life online. The person who stalked your brother had to have some serious emotional issues. I’m sorry that happened to him.

  8. I love books which are part of a series but can be read as a standalone– I don’t think we see that often enough in book series! This makes me excited. Your review really hooked me– and this isn’t the sort of book I typically read. I’ll definitely check it out. Great review, Diana!

    • Diana
      May 9, 2017

      I am glad to hear that Jackie. I have only read two books in this series, book 7 and 8 and I don’t feel like I missed out on anything. Each book is unique although the Jack Parlabane story continues. However, the author gives a quick background on Jack’s storyhence making it easy to follow. Thank you 🙂

  9. danupondrake
    May 26, 2017

    Nice post and book.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2017 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , , .
