A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

A Criminal Defense by William L. Myers, Jr.

A Criminal DefenseLosing the trial of his life could mean losing everything.

When a young reporter is found dead and a prominent Philadelphia businessman is accused of her murder, Mick McFarland finds himself involved in the case of his life. The defendant, David Hanson, was Mick’s close friend in law school, and the victim, a TV news reporter, had reached out to Mick for legal help only hours before her death.

Mick’s played both sides of Philadelphia’s courtrooms. As a top-shelf defense attorney and former prosecutor, he knows all the tricks of the trade. And he’ll need every one of them to win.

But as the trial progresses, he’s disturbed by developments that confirm his deepest fears. This trial, one that already hits too close to home, may jeopardize his firm, his family—everything. Now Mick’s only way out is to mastermind the most brilliant defense he’s ever spun, one that will cross every legal and moral boundary.

Review

I have had this book since March but didn’t get a chance to read  it until last Saturday. It took only one sitting to get through it. This book was something else. It’s the kind of book that you read and end up thinking about long after the last page.

A Criminal Defense by William L. Myers, Jr. tells the story of Mick and David. The two are friends but soon become lawyer and client when David is accused of murder. Right from the start, David claims that he is innocent. Of course, few criminals admit their guilt so this is isn’t quite a surprise. Mick decides to represent him even though it is not clear if he believes in his innocence or not. One thing that was very clear was that Mick was not going to let anyone else defend David. He was totally committed to be the one to do it.

In the first chapters, readers get to meet all the key characters from Mick, his wife Piper, David and his wife, Marci and Tommy who is Mick’s brother. The chapters give their background stories in detail. The relationships are so complex but contain juicy details that made me want to know more about this group of people. They were complex but realistic. There were instances when my heart broke due to the things that they underwent. Most of the time though, their actions just baffled me in a way but I totally loved it.

The story has so many twists. It isn’t a regular case. There are lies, schemes and blackmail. The number of affairs was crazy and this just complicated the case. Both sides of the case are playing dirty and everyone desperately wants to win. The schemes had me shaking my head. I loved seeing what the teams were coming up with especially on the side of the defendant.

This book has one of the best main twists that I have ever read in a thriller. It shocked me so much that I had to stop reading and take a walk to clear my mind. It was unpredictable and just perfect. Looking back, I guess the clues were there but still, I don’t think that I could ever have guessed that ending.

As you can see, I loved A Criminal Defense by William L. Myers Jr. I think the author did a brilliant job with the twists, criminal case and the character development. The book had everything that I like in thrillers. It was suspenseful with twisted, devious characters that I liked due to all the drama that they brought to the story. I liked how brilliant the lawyer was and the courtroom drama was so intense. Throughout the trial, I knew a bombshell was coming but I couldn’t have guessed it. If you like legal thrillers, domestic noirs or simply suspenseful, well-written books with great twists then you should definitely read this one.

16 comments on “A Criminal Defense by William L. Myers, Jr.

  1. I love that it’s so twisty and not a boring courtroom thriller (like I’ve read before), this sounds very good!

    • Diana
      May 8, 2017

      II have only read legal thrillers by Grisham. This was definitely different due to the the fact it didn’t just involve the case. yes, it really was good 🙂

      • I read Defending Jacob (and Dangerous Girls) but it was a little bit boring for me.. I’m sure I’d like this one better!

  2. Yvo
    May 8, 2017

    Excellent review! This definitely sounds like a very good legal thriller; I’m glad you enjoyed it that much!

    • Diana
      May 8, 2017

      It definitely surprised me.I didn’t think it would be that great but it really was.Thank you 🙂

  3. Renee (Itsbooktalk)
    May 8, 2017

    I’ve added this to my tbr, it sounds fantastic! I’m literally dying to know what happened to make you put it down and take a walk…I must find out😂Excellent review Diana!

    • Diana
      May 9, 2017

      haha for real though, that twist was something else. I don’t know why I had totally no clue that it was coming. The author did a great job with the character development in the beginning so the revelation about one of them came as a total shock. I hope that you will enjoy the book as much as I did:-)

  4. Annie
    May 8, 2017

    Sounds amazing, adding it to the TBR right now, your enthusiasm is contagious! 😀

    • Diana
      May 9, 2017

      yay glad to hear that. I hope that it will not disappoint you 🙂

  5. One of the best twists in a thriller?! That is saying something coming from you– I feel like you’ve read them all. I’ve read other reviews of this book and they are all similar. It must be a great read.

    • Diana
      May 9, 2017

      I really liked it. It reminded me of the TV show, House of Cards due to all the plotting and scheming especially between the couples. It really was a great read 🙂

  6. cleopatralovesbooks
    May 9, 2017

    This sounds excellent especially with all the twists and turns.

    • Diana
      May 12, 2017

      It was really enjoyable and the twists especially the main was perfect.

  7. Intense court drama?? Me Need! Add twists and turns galore and it’s a book for me! Fantastic review, you convinced me from the very start!

    • Diana
      May 12, 2017

      yay, glad to hear that I convinced you. I know you like legal drama/thrillers. I think that you will enjoy this one. Thank you 🙂

  8. Pingback: June TBR (May Wrap-Up) | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2017 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , , .
