A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #May 17th

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

Darkest Lies

 

The Darkest Lies by Barbara Copperthwaite is not your regular kind of thriller. It does have all the things that make a good psychological thriller such as unpredictable twists, sneaky characters (and psychopaths), lies and secrets. Nevertheless, the book goes beyond the thrills and tackles a number of heavy themes. One of them is the theme of grief which was dominant throughout. The characters being so realistic made this theme come alive in the story and hence the emotional aspect of the book. You can read my review here.

 

 

Currently Reading

My current read is historical fiction. I am only a few pages in and its quite promising so far. I can tell that it will be a special book.

The Girl from TyneThe Girl from Tyne by Melody Sachs

When ballroom dancer Alice Rooney seduces Jack Wood, he soon finds himself in a volatile marriage. Yet from the moment he meets his baby daughter, he knows he will do anything to make her happy.

But at the start of WWII Jack is drafted by the Air Force, and little Lizzie is left with her mother. Damaged and troubled, Alice grows increasingly unstable and Lizzie finds herself the focus of her mother’s frustration and anger. It’s only when Lizzie arrives at Madame Bella’s Academy for the Theatrical Arts that she blossoms.

Will she escape her mother’s clutches and can her dream of a glittering theatrical future ever come true?

 

Reading Next

Another historical fiction that I can’t wait to read.

Nazi's DaughterThe Nazi’s Daughter by Tim Murgatroyd

The Netherlands, Spring 1943. When her glittering career as a ballerina is cut short by a dancing injury, Elise Van Thooft-Noman, rebellious daughter of a powerful Dutch Nazi, flees to an isolated island off the coast of Holland. Here she meets Pieter Goedhart, reluctant village schoolmaster and Resistance fighter. A dangerous affair is kindled between them. Meanwhile Elise’s Nazi family and the terrifying brutality of war are closing in, threatening to destroy all she holds dear…

New York, September 2008. Uncomfortably overweight, single and scraping thirty, Jenni Malarkey is summoned to a mysterious party to celebrate her estranged grandmother’s glamorous life. Her journey through Elise’s secret history will force her to confront a legacy of guilt and shame…

Past and present intersect, as unlikely hearts connect to seek love and redemption, in this haunting time-shift novel set in wartime Holland and contemporary New York.

 

Happy Reading!

 

 

19 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #May 17th

  1. cleopatralovesbooks
    May 17, 2017

    A full house for me this week – I like the sound of all of these, especially the Nazi’s Daughter as I have a weakness for books where secrets in the past intrude on the present.

    • Diana
      May 17, 2017

      I can’t wait to read Nazi’s Daughter soon. I also like the idea of the dual timelines. Thanks for stopping by Cleo. Have a wonderful week 🙂

  2. Emily Witt
    May 17, 2017

    I love the sound of both The Girl from Tyne and The Nazi’s Daughter. I hope you enjoy them both!

    Here’s my WWW.

    • Diana
      May 17, 2017

      Thank you Emily. Happy reading 🙂

  3. Oh, it’s historical stories week 😀 I haven’t dared venturing into the genre much. Happy reading!!

    • Diana
      May 17, 2017

      I have been reading historical fiction more this year. So far, it has been good. I have high hopes with these two books. Thank you and happy reading too 🙂

  4. I downloaded The Darkest Lie from NG at the weekend so I’m really keen to read it soon. I love the cover of The Girl from the Tyne, and it sounds like a great read too so I might look out for this one. Happy reading 🙂

    Here’s my WWW: https://rathertoofondofbooks.com/2017/05/17/www-wednesday-17-may-what-are-you-reading-today/

    • Diana
      May 19, 2017

      I hope that you will like Darkest Lies. It was a great read. I look forward to reading your review when you get a chance to read it. Girl from the Tyne was as beautiful as the cover. I have just finished reading it. Thank you and happy reading 🙂

  5. faithrivens
    May 17, 2017

    I love the sound of the Nazi’s Daughter!! I hope you enjoy it, my dear! Happy Reading 😀

    • Diana
      May 18, 2017

      Thank you Faith and happy reading to you too ❤

  6. missdarcy87
    May 17, 2017

    The Nazi’s Daughter looks so good! I hope you enjoy it! I look forward to seeing what you think of it!

    Here’s my post for this week. Happy reading!

    • Diana
      May 18, 2017

      It really does. Thanks Darcy. Hopefully I will be able to read and review it before my next WWW. Happy reading 🙂

  7. dez | the fun in reading books
    May 17, 2017

    I always love a good thriller so I’m checking out The Darkest Lie! And I hope you find The Girl from Tyne not disappointing. 🙂

    • Diana
      May 18, 2017

      I love The Girl from Tyne so far. I only have 80 pages remaining but its brilliant. I definitely recommend The Darkest Lies.Thank you. Happy reading 🙂

  8. wonderfilledreads
    May 17, 2017

    Oh, The Nazi’s Daughter sounds so intriguing! I hope you enjoy it!

    • Diana
      May 18, 2017

      Thank you. Enjoy your books too 🙂

  9. Yvo
    May 18, 2017

    I’m glad you were finally able to read and enjoy The Darkest Lies! I will be reading your review next. I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading!

    • Diana
      May 18, 2017

      Thanks dear. Happy reading to you too 🙂

  10. AlexisChateauPR
    June 12, 2017

    Added 2 of these to my Goodreads list. Thanks!

    -Alex

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 17, 2017 by in Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged , .
