A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

June TBR (May Wrap-Up)

So Long May…

Here are a few highlights about what happened in my life in the month of May.

I finally defended my thesis proposal last Friday. My presentation didn’t go so well because I was too nervous. I sat in front of a panel of 11 and a crowd(fellow students) of about 50 and suddenly, my mind went blank. My throat felt constricted like I was struggling to get  the words out. I ended up rushing through the presentation and used only 3 minutes out of the allocated 10. Luckily, my written work was good and in the end, overall feedback was also good. A few corrections to be made but I can now proceed with the data collection and analysis.

the cliques.png

The Cliques by Diana Gitau – A few of you may know this already,I published my first book last year. There was a bit of confusion at first and I didn’t even know that the book was on sale until three months after it had hit the book stores. By then it had sold 651 copies. I felt left out and but I have now decided to take a more active role in publicizing and selling the books. I started making direct the sales in May. The publishers continue to distribute the books too so its a combined effort. I am trying to work out the publicity bit now. I will share more about the book on a post scheduled for this Sunday.

 

On reading, I read 8 books in May. I am still behind with my ARCs and 5 books have already been published so I need to get to them soon.

 

Books that I didn’t manage to read in May

  • A Mother’s Courage by Renita D’Silva
  • Teacher’s Secret by Suzanne Leal
  • The Leavers by Lisa Ko
  • A Negro and an Ofay by Danny Gardner
  • A Daughter’s Courage by Renita D’Silva
  • Justice Delayed by Marti Green

I hope to read these books alongside the June list.

On blogging– I reached 1,000 followers on wordpress this week. I am currently at 1,004. I do appreciate the fact that so many people decided to follow my blog. I wish that the interactions were more though. I think they are limited to about 30 people right now but will see what the future brings. Thank you all the follows.

June TBR

I have 10 books on my June TBR right now. I hope to have more reading time in June especially since my defense is now over so I hope that I will read all these 10 and the books that I didn’t read in May. Ambitious I know but no pressure.

  • Alphonse by Carl Sever
  • All the Good Things by Clare Fischer
  • Secrets of Southern Girls by Haley Harrigan
  • Part of the Silence by Debbie Howells
  • The Fourth Monkey by J.D Barker
  • The Serial Killer’s Daughter by Lesley Welsh
  • Liar by K.L Slater
  • Two Sisters by Kerry Wilkinson
  • Unsub by Meg Gardiner
  • The Lost History of Stars by David Boling

 

I hope that you enjoyed your May. Have a wonderful new month.

 

33 comments on “June TBR (May Wrap-Up)

  1. noveldeelights
    June 1, 2017

    I look forward to hearing about your book!

    • Diana
      June 1, 2017

      Thank you so much.I’m working on Sunday’s post which will provide details about it.

  2. Kerry
    June 1, 2017

    Congratulations on your proposal defence. Can’t wait to hear about your book.

    • Diana
      June 1, 2017

      Thank you so much dear.I’ll post about my book on Sunday 🙂

  3. lbarasa
    June 1, 2017

    Congrats on your thesis defense and book. I’d really love to get my hands on it this June. Happy Madaraka day and fruitful month ahead.

    • Diana
      June 1, 2017

      Thank gal.I really would like to get you a copy.I’ll message you on fb and we can organize that.Happy Madaraka Day to you too and have a wonderful month 🙂

  4. Renee (Itsbooktalk)
    June 1, 2017

    I didn’t realize you wrote a book Diana, how fantastic! I’ll look forward to hearing more about it. You’ve certainly had a busy May, congrats on defending your thesis! I’m amazed you had time to read at all with that going on:) I’ve also got Unsub coming up in June,

    • Diana
      June 2, 2017

      Thank you Renee. I found out about the book having being published in February. There were a few unresolved issues with the publishers hence the reason as to why it took time for me to start talking about it. However, I will post more about it on Sunday.

      I can’t wait to read Unsub. I hope that we will both enjoy it 🙂

  5. Ali (@thebandarblog)
    June 1, 2017

    Congratulations on the 1000 followers! That’s amazing 😀 And that’s awesome about your book! I saw the name and was like, “Why is that name so familiar??” and then I realized it was you! YAY!

    • Diana
      June 2, 2017

      haha thank you Ali. Yes I did publish a book 🙂 I hope to talk more about it on my post on Sunday. Thank you so much and happy new month 🙂

  6. Tina Woodbury
    June 1, 2017

    Congratulations! Im looking forward to hearing more about your book. Great job, 1000 followers, that amazing. Finally your thesis proposal, I’ll bet your glad that’s done. You have had quite the month, lots to be happy about 😊.

    • Diana
      June 2, 2017

      Yes I did. Thank you 🙂 I am glad that the proposal is done. I hope to finish the final thesis and go through the final defense in September this year.

      Have a wonderful new month 🙂

  7. faithrivens
    June 1, 2017

    Glad to hear the feedback was good for your thesis, Diana! Good luck going forward with it.
    And Congratulations on 1000 followers! So very well deserved!!
    And that’s amazing about your book! I didn’t know you were published *looks shamed face* but I’m going to check it out. Can’t wait to hear more about it on Sunday!
    Hope you have a lovely month, my dear ❤

    • Diana
      June 2, 2017

      Thank you so much Faith. I have never posted anything about my book here so its okay 🙂 I still don’t know exactly what to post but I will write something on Sunday hopefully.

      Have a wonderful month too ❤

  8. Laila@BigReadingLife
    June 1, 2017

    I know you must be relieved that your presentation is over. I would be nervous too under those circumstances!

    Congrats on 1000 followers. It’s funny, for a long time I didn’t have many followers, but now I’m climbing towards 300. But, like you, most of them don’t interact on my blog. it’s okay with me – I just like seeing my “regular” commenters! 🙂

    You have a great excuse for not getting all your planned reading done. Maybe now that your presentation is over you can read more? Also, congrats on the book! I’m so excited to hear more about it!

    • Diana
      June 2, 2017

      I am definitely relieved. I have a few months before the final defense so I hope that I will be better prepared and less nervous for that one. The followers versus interaction thing is usually a little odd, though I guess it makes sense. It would be hard to interact with all the 1000 though I still don’t get the whole idea of following and not interacting. Like you, I love seeing my regular commentors too so its okay 🙂

      Yeah, I hope to read more this month. Thank you so much Laila ❤

  9. Yvo
    June 1, 2017

    Congrats on the 1000 followers! Very well deserved. I will be looking forward to hear more about your book as well! And you have some great titles too look forward to this month; I LOVED Liar. Happy reading!

    • Diana
      June 2, 2017

      Thank you so much Yvonne. I can’t wait to read The Liar. Have a wonderful new month and happy reading 🙂

  10. Emily Witt
    June 2, 2017

    The proposal defence sounds terrifying! I’m glad it went well overall. Good luck with the next stage of your research.

    I hear you on the blog followers. I have around 700 (I think) and my experience is exactly the same. It is the same few people that I find myself engaging with. I’m never sure if there’s really anything to be done about it, though.

    • Diana
      June 2, 2017

      Thank you Emily. I think the followers/interactions thing affects most of us. I used to think that more followers would mean more comments and likes but that is never the case. Most people follow the blog but never visit but I guess its okay since I have a nice group that I interact with on the regular so I have accepted it.

      Thank you.Happy new month 🙂

  11. Annie
    June 2, 2017

    Again, congrats for the book ❤ So proud of you, let me know where I can buy it 😛

    I agree with the followers thing, I don't get more comments now than before even though I have more followers (not as many as you of course :P). But I'm pretty happy with the ones I interact with now !

    • Diana
      June 4, 2017

      I’m suprised that you have fewer followers than I.I always admire how much you interact with others and how many likes and comments you get.You are my blog’s inspiration 🙂 The followers/interaction thing is baffling.Perhaps its just different interests but I’m happy too with my interactions.I’ll find a way of sending you a copy of my book ❤

      • Annie
        June 4, 2017

        Haha To me it’s the opposite, I always see you get tons of comments and think the same 🙂 And you don’t need to send it my way, is it available to purchase online?

  12. Thesis are like such a hard things to go through! You can be proud of yourself, congratulations for going up there, no matter how it happened, you did it, and I’m sure you’ve done a wonderful job. Bravo!
    I cannot wait for your post regarding your book! I had no idea, that’s fantastic!
    Congrats on reaching 1,000 followers!! I also have noticed new followers but less comments and interactions. Perhaps we are all a little bit too busy to always catch up. Likes are always nice, but like you, I’ve noticed only my regulars are now commenting. I’m okay with it because those are people I really like (you included in there!) but I can’t help wondering why it became this way. It can be due to the fact that there are so many blogs to follow now, it’s hard to keep up…

    • Diana
      June 4, 2017

      I think you are right about the too many blogs.I think it becomes a routine at some point.We can’t comment on all blogs so we stick to a few and in turn,the few become the regulars.Its okay though.I do enjoy my interactions,y’all have made my blogging experience very wonderful.Thanks Donna ❤

      • I also feel it’s okay to stick with the people you know are genuinely blogging for the same reasons as you and enjoy interacting. There’s no need squandering your time with blogs which never reply back! As for new followers, I always wait a little and see if they are truly interested in chatting 🙂

  13. JoanaDuarte
    June 4, 2017

    Whaaat?! I have been so out of wordpress that I didn’t even know you wrote a book! That’s so amazing!! I can’t wait to hear more about it! Congrats! 😀
    And congrats for your thesis! I believe you did a wonderful job even if you’re nervous. And I mean, who wouldn’t? What matters is that you went there and did it! So congrats! ❤
    I most interested in reading what you thought of Two Sisters! It seems quite interesting but I never read anything from the author.
    Also, congratulations on 1000 followers! You definetly deserve it! 😀

    • Diana
      June 4, 2017

      Thank you so much Joana <3.I have never posted about my book so perhaps that's why.I'll have shared more about it on a post today though.

      Two Sisters does look promising.The author's previous book was ten birthdays.Its so different from this one but I'm excited to see how it goes 🙂

  14. Jasmine
    June 6, 2017

    Congrats Diana on publishing your first book! and defending your thesis!! that’s amazing!! I do get nervous at public speaking too. Sorry you had to go through all that. So now it’s all over huh? School is done for you? Congrats also to 1000 followers! 8 books is great! Good luck to reading more books in June! So many titles I don’t recognize but I do look forward to reading your reviews 🙂

    • Diana
      June 27, 2017

      Hey Jasmine, sorry I missed this comment. Just seen it now. I am still working on the thesis. The first defense was for the research proposal so I am now collecting data and will have final defense in September. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2017 by in Bookish Post, Monthly Wrap up.
