A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Part of The Silence by Debbie Howells

Part of SilenceWhen they find Evie Sherman, battered and left for dead in a maize field, the young woman has no recollection of who she is. After three days in a hospital bed, the fog in her head begins to lift, and she remembers two names: her own, and that of her three-year-old daughter, Angel. Evie is convinced that Angel is in grave danger. But the police can find no evidence of the girl’s existence.

It’s clear that Evie is having some kind of mental breakdown–or is it? Even in the depths of her amnesiac darkness, Evie knows her daughter’s voice, her chameleon eyes, every precious hair on her head. So how can she be losing her mind?
As Evie’s grasp on reality slips away, she finds herself haunted by the same three-word warning, which she hears over and over: Trust no one. But whom is she being warned against? The police? The doctors and nurses? Or the mysterious figure who’s been watching her, who knows all her secrets, has a hidden agenda–and perhaps their own twisted version of reality.

Review

Evie wakes up from a coma asking for her daughter. She was attacked and doesn’t remember much apart from the fact that she had a little girl. However, nobody else has seen the girl. In addition, Evie’s home is devoid of any proof that a girl ever lived there. Nonetheless, detectives cannot ignore her claims and so they start investigating and looking for the girl. Soon, the case becomes even more complicated when they discover details about Evie’s real identity and life before the attack. It gets more complex when another murder occurs.

The story is told through alternating POVs. Charlotte is the only one who recognizes Evie and so she comes in to help with the investigation. I can’t say much about her without spoiling the book but I kept wondering whether she was genuine or not. Jack is one of the detective working on the case. His character is simply endearing and I enjoyed reading his narrations. I also liked Evie and sympathized with her. She was an unreliable narrator due to her amnesia and sometimes her memories seemed all jumbled up but it was hard not to feel sorry for her. There was another narration that started from the past all the way to the present. This narrator provided details that helped connect the dots especially about the relationships between characters and their backgrounds.

Throughout the book, I had doubts about Evie. How was it possible that she had a daughter that nobody knew about? There was no evidence of the little girl at all. I kept wondering about her attack. I couldn’t wait to find out what her memory would eventually reveal. At the same time, there were other things happening around the story, a second murder and suspicious people all around heightened the tension in the story.

Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy the book as much as I thought I would. I liked it but I didn’t love it.  I can’t really pinpoint why. Something just didn’t quite fit. I don’t know if it is because some sections felt slower than I would have liked them to be. Perhaps it was because I was able to guess the villain quite early in the book. At the end of the book, I just fell like a connection was missing hence my uncertainty about the book. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the author’s previous book Beauty at the End (which I reviewed here). So I will definitely look out for her next title.

15 comments on “Part of The Silence by Debbie Howells

  1. I felt the exact same way about this one Diana.

    • Diana
      June 20, 2017

      Sorry to hear that. Hopefully her next book will be better for both of us.

  2. lbarasa
    June 20, 2017

    I love your honesty, ‘I liked it but I didn’t love it’ hehe

    • Diana
      June 20, 2017

      I usually struggle with these kind of reviews. I like the author, her writing,most of the story-line but just couldn’t get totally into it. Thanks dear 🙂

  3. Renee (Itsbooktalk)
    June 20, 2017

    Sorry this didn’t quite work for you Diana, I’m finding myself in a similar situation with way too many books lately and I feel that an overhaul may be needed in my tbr before I hit a big reading slump! Hopefully your next read is great!!

    • Diana
      June 20, 2017

      I totally get you. For me it has been 50-50, one good one and then another one that I don’t like so much plus a few DNFs but I hope that the next reads will be great for both of us. All the best. Thank you 🙂

  4. I’ve had mixed feelings about this authors previous books, so I think I’ll skip this one.

    • Diana
      June 21, 2017

      Sorry to hear that. I have only read two books by her. The previous one was great although this one wasn’t for me. I will try out another one of her titles though.

  5. Annie
    June 20, 2017

    I also read Chelsea’s review and I think I’m going to pass based on what you both said. But then again, I read a previous book by this author and wasn’t impressed :/

    • Diana
      June 21, 2017

      I haven’t read Chelsea’s review yet. I will look for it. Beauty at the End by this author was really good though I haven’t read her earlier books yet.

  6. Pingback: WWW Wednesday #June 21st | A Haven for Book Lovers

  7. Grab the Lapels
    June 21, 2017

    This book sounds like many others that you’ve read, so perhaps that is what made you not like it. The plot of having a child that no one else believes exists has done many times, and I’m pretty sure you and I discussed this on your blog before 🙂

    Since your own novel is YA, I was wondering why you don’t review more YA here at A Haven for Book Lovers?

    • Diana
      June 21, 2017

      I do read and review YA Fiction though this year I have been reading more Historical fiction and thrillers and lately,African Literature.There are YA reviews here though.

      • Grab the Lapels
        June 22, 2017

        I’ll keep an eye out for them. I think you HAVE been on a thrill streak! 🙂

        • Diana
          June 23, 2017

          Yes I have. Thrillers and Historical Fiction. I don’t have plans to read/ review any YA’s in the near future unless its YA mystery but its a genre that I read so I know it will appear on the blog sometime 🙂

Leave a Reply

