A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW Wednesday #July 12

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

Litte MonstersLittle Monsters by Kara Thomas

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident. But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

 

I finished reading this book on Monday night though I am yet to write the review. It has been a while since I read a YA mystery. Look out for my review this coming Friday.

 

A Daught's Courage InstaCurrently Reading

A Daughter’s Courage by Renita D’Silva

1929. When a passionate love affair threatens to leave Lucy in disgrace, she chooses a respectable marriage over a life of shame. With her husband, coffee plantation owner James, she travels to her new home in India, leaving her troubled past behind her.Everything in India is new to Lucy, from the jewel-coloured fabrics to the exotic spices. When her path crosses that of Gowri, a young woman who tends the temple on the plantation’s edge, Lucy is curious to find out more about her, and the events that lead her to live in isolation from her family…

Now. With her career in shatters and her heart broken by the man she thought was her future, Kayva flees from bustling Mumbai to her hometown. A crumbling temple has been discovered in a village nearby, along with letters detailing its tragic history – desperate pleas from a young woman called Gowri. As Kavya learns of Gowri and Lucy’s painful story, she begins to understand the terrible sacrifices that were made and the decision the two women took that changed their lives forever. Can the secrets of the past help Kavya to rebuild her life?

I am just a few pages in. The setting is lovely as usual. I love books set in India. However, this is already an emotional read and I have a feeling that it is about to get worse. Still very addictive tough.

Reading Next

All Good Things by Claire Fisher

all good things insta

Twenty-one year old Beth is in prison. The thing she did is so bad she doesn’t deserve to ever feel good again. But her counselor, Erika, won’t give up on her. She asks Beth to make a list of all the good things in her life. So Beth starts to write down her story, from sharing silences with Foster Dad No. 1, to flirting in the Odeon on Orange Wednesdays, to the very first time she sniffed her baby’s head.

But at the end of her story, Beth must confront the bad thing. What is the truth hiding behind her crime? And does anyone-even a 100% bad person-deserve a chance to be good?

 

Breakdown InstaThe Breakdown by B. A Paris

Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods, on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, with the woman sitting inside―the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm. Her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home. And she probably would only have been hurt herself if she’d stopped.

But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing: where she left the car, if she took her pills, the alarm code, why she ordered a pram when she doesn’t have a baby. The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt. Or the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…

I can’t wait to read these two books although they both have very mixed reviews.

So what are you reading? Let me know in the comments section.

Happy Reading!

 

WWWW JULY 12 2017

Instagram

You are probably wondering…whats with the colorful/tablet pics Diana?  Right? You asked yourself that as soon as you saw this post, true? no?Okay, I will tell you  anyway.

I joined Instagram a while back and after lurking in the shadows for weeks wondering how comes everyone is so creative and just good at photography, I decided to try out some pics for bookstagram. I am not creative in that way and at first, it felt too intimidating. However, I have decided to just have some fun. The above are my first ‘instagramish’ pics. I know I will get it with time but I am just enjoying taking the pics rights now. Don’t laugh, I am a newbie at this 🙂

You can follow me here.

 Let me know if you are on instagram so that I can follow you. Where do you get your ideas/inspiration for your photos? Private or public account, which one is best? Any information will be appreciated. Thanks.

 

24 comments on “WWW Wednesday #July 12

  1. Tina Woodbury
    July 12, 2017

    I have The Breakdown on my list for this month too! I hope you enjoy it 😊
    Your off to a great Instagram start! I’m still lurking in those shadows.

    • Diana
      July 12, 2017

      Thank you and I hope that you will enjoy it too. I really like Behind Closed Doors so I have high exceptions with Breakdown 🙂

      Thanks. Instagram can be intimidating. I keep looking at the photos on bookstagram and wondering how people come up with the ideas. I have seen all kinds props from Christmas lights,socks to apples lol. I hope that you will stop lurking soon and join in the fun. We will figure it out eventually 🙂

      • Tina Woodbury
        July 12, 2017

        Yes we will! Maybe by the end of the year I’ll take the plunge 🙂
        I have both The Breakdown and Behind Closed Doors waiting for me to read. I’m really happy to hear you liked Behind Closed Doors, I’m looking forward to it!

  2. I just finished Breakdown which I liked although I did have a couple of issues. I’m hoping to review either today or tomorrow. And I’m starting Little Monsters as soon as I’ve finished the book I’m currently reading. I hope you liked it. I’m looking forward to your review. And nice pics Diana. Right now the only social media I’m on are WordPress and Goodreads. Someday I’d like to try Instagram though.😊

    • Diana
      July 12, 2017

      I will look out for your review of Breakdown. I did like Little Monsters. At first it felt a bit weird since I haven’t read YA in quite a while and I struggled with the teen characters but after getting used to it, the book became super addictive. The writing was also great. I hope that you will enjoy it as much as I did.

      As for social media, I am slowly getting into different stuff. I still struggle with twitter and I am now learning how to use Instagram. Goodreads and WordPress are the best sites though:-)

  3. noveldeelights
    July 12, 2017

    I mostly use Instagram just to get the books out there. I know there are some who do entire photoshoots but really, who has the time for that? I certainly don’t! Also, there are only so many props you can use time and time again. 😄

    • Diana
      July 12, 2017

      I get what you mean and that definitely does make sense.

      An entire photoshoot sounds like a bit too much but I guess if someone has the time and the means then its okay. The photos are really beautiful to look at 🙂 Its one site that I visit just to look at the images without even reading the captions.

    • Diana
      July 12, 2017

      And your photos are really beautiful by the way.They all look stunning 🙂

  4. Shaz (@Kakush_)
    July 12, 2017

    Hey, Dee, I just finished reading Born on a Tuesday by Elnathan John, which I really loved and have already reviewed it…will post it in my upcoming blog. I want to start on A man called Ove by Fredrik Backman..I also just finished reading Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. I have an Instagram account not sure if you follow me: @Ma_kandk its a personal account and will start an Instagram account for my book review blog later on.

    • Diana
      July 12, 2017

      I have just sent you a request on Instgram. Yeah I think separating the two accounts would be great. Even separating the email accounts. I didn’t know that when I started blogging so now the email is abit crazy since I have been using my personal mail. I can’t wait for you to setup your blog 🙂

      I can’t wait to read Born on a Tuesday. Glad to hear you enjoyed it. I hope to read it in good time before review also. A Man Called Ove has such good reviews. I can’t wait to hear what you think about it. I love EPL though it gave me wanderlust especially for Thailand and India. Enjoy your books this week. Happy reading 🙂

  5. ChrissiReads
    July 12, 2017

    I hope you love your reading this week. 🙂 I am on Instagram, although I’m not very creative at all. I’m ChrissiReads, so feel free to follow and I’ll follow you back 🙂 !

    • Diana
      July 13, 2017

      Thank you Chrissi. I followed you yesterday 🙂

  6. Little Monsters, indeed! The synopsis makes me want to read it. Actually, all of your reads sound so good! Happy reading!

    https://girlof1000wonders.wordpress.com/2017/07/12/www-wednesdays-july-12/?preview=true&preview_id=18856&preview_nonce=4132dadd51

    • Diana
      July 13, 2017

      Its an interesting read. Thanks Charlie 🙂

  7. Emily Wrayburn
    July 13, 2017

    I’m really enjoying your Instagram posts! I haven’t been posting much of my own there lately, but I”m hoping to get back into it soon.

    I really like the sound of Little Monsters. I read a lot of YA, but it can be hard to find really good thrillers in that age bracket. I’ll look out for your review.

    Here’s my WWW.

    • Diana
      July 14, 2017

      Thank you Emily and I have been seeing you on Instagram. I like your pics. Looking forward to seeing more of them there.

  8. anovelglimpse
    July 13, 2017

    I’ll definitely be watching for your Little Monsters review! I’ve heard such great things about it!

    • Diana
      July 14, 2017

      Thank you. I have posted it now so please take a look if you get a chance 🙂

  9. Annie
    July 14, 2017

    Happy wednesday (thursday! lol) Let’s talk Netgalley on Twitter, I have tons of favorite accounts and I want to take better pics too!

    • Diana
      July 14, 2017

      Your pics are already so good. You are part of the reason why I have taken an interest in Instagram. When you joined, I decided to learn more about the site and I love it so far:-)

      Happy Friday 🙂

  10. Yvo
    July 14, 2017

    I’ll be reading your Little Monsters review next! About to write a review myself… 😉 And fingers crossed for both The Breakdown and All The Good Things. The second can go either way; the concept is very interesting and the character very unique, but I myself had problems connecting to her. I hope you will enjoy your books and happy reading!
    And about instagram: I only enjoyed back in January myself, but I’ve fallen in love with the community there. I felt intimidated by all those gorgeous photos as well, but since I decided to just have fun with it and do my own thing it has become a lot more entertaining to take photos. I have a public account myself mostly because I only post bookish photos and have a different private account for personal ones.

    • Diana
      July 17, 2017

      I have finished reading All the Good Things and can definitely see what you mean. She wasn’t the easiest person to root for though I really felt sorry for her. I have posted my review of All Good Things. I finished reading The Breakdown yesterday so I will post a review soon. I will look out for your review too.,

      Thanks for sharing your insta experiences. I think I need to setup a second private account separate from the book one which is public. I am sill learning the ropes but its enjoyable so far.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2017 by in Book Review, Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged , .
