A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

little monstersKacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them. Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

Review

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas starts with the story of Kacey, Bailey and Jade. The three are friends. Kacey is the new girl in town and the other two girls took her in and welcomed her into their circle. The story begins at an odd evening that I wasn’t quite sure what to think about until I got to the end of the book. However, right from the start, I was hooked to the story. There was something unsettling about the events taking place. I didn’t know who to trust and just kept feeling that something sinister was going on. This made it very hard to put down the book until I got to the end.

The missing girl is at the center of the story. An investigation is ongoing and its hard to guess exactly what happened to Bailey. The evidence seems a bit all over(random) hence making everyone a suspect. In addition, there is a diary by Bailey. This diary holds what seems to be the most important clues of the mystery. It surprised me because I assumed that it would just be musings of a teenage girl. However, through the pages, shocking secrets are revealed.

This is a book about secrets and obsession. It is compared to Pretty Little Liars and it is easy to see why. Readers get totally immersed into the world of teenage girls and their secret lives. There are  usual issues with school, boys and parents.  There are also forbidden parties and girls sneaking out of home in the middle of the night. However, with these teens, the lies are bigger. There is a lot of scheming behind the scenes.

An interesting setting is one of the key aspects that makes me enjoy a book. In this case, it was brilliant. The story is set in the kind of town shrouded in secrets and best of all, urban legends. There are people who believe that there is a lady haunting an old barn. This isn’t a supernatural story but I liked the urban legend and how it added to the mystery of the story.

This ended up being a quick, fun read. There are sessions of the book that felt a bit slow since nothing much was happening but the writing kept me going. Kara has a way of pulling you into the story and making you feel like you are part of it. I wasn’t able to totally guess the ending so that is something else that I liked. If you enjoy YA mysteries then this is definitely a book for you.

18 comments on “Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this Diana. I just finished a book about man-eating sharks (I don’t know why I do these things to myself), and I’m just about to start this.

    • Diana
      July 14, 2017

      haha that immediately made me think of Jaws. How was the book though? I hope that you will enjoy Little Monsters. Thanks Kim 🙂

  2. Oh I like the comparison to Pretty Little Liars! The last novel I read that was compared to PLL was One Of Us Is Lying and I really liked that one as well! I also like the fact that you didn’t entirely guess the ending :-). Great review!

    • Diana
      July 14, 2017

      Thanks Inge. I hope that you will enjoy this one. I really need to watch One of Us is Lying. It sounds like a great read.

  3. This sounds like an enjoyable and not too complicated story with great elements! I love urban legends used in this kind of stories! The comparison to PLL makes me curious! Great review!

    • Diana
      July 14, 2017

      I have only watched one season on PLL but that comparison is what made me want to read this book. It ended up being quite an addictive read. And yeah, the urban legend was perfect in this one. Thanks.

  4. Oh I just received this in the mail yesterday Diana! After reading your review I’m really excited to get to it. Great job summing it up with your thoughts!

    • Diana
      July 14, 2017

      Thanks Chelsea and I hope that you will enjoy the book as much as I did 🙂

  5. Yvo
    July 14, 2017

    Great review! It sounds like we had a similar reading experience with Little Monsters… I loved her writing style and can’t wait to pick up The Darkest Corners now.

    • Diana
      July 17, 2017

      I have never heard of Darkest Corners. Is it her new book or an old one? I look forward to reading your review. Thanks 🙂

      • Yvo
        July 17, 2017

        It was published last year if I remember correctly but didn’t get to it yet… I’m definitely doing so now before the end of this year though now.

  6. Holly B / Dressedtoread
    July 14, 2017

    Sounds like a fun read1

  7. anovelglimpse
    July 15, 2017

    Ooo! I want to read this now after your review! I love the whole small town secrets and obsessions bit! I need to pick up a copy of it soon.

    • Diana
      July 17, 2017

      Small towns really do make the best settings for mysteries 🙂 I hope that you will enjoy it as much as I did.

  8. Grab the Lapels
    July 18, 2017

    I’m a bit thrown off by the synopsis. It says that maybe the new girl in town shouldn’t trust anyone. That makes it sound like the whole entire town is in on some crazy scheme!

    • Diana
      July 18, 2017

      The town had secrets.But I think the synopsis was referring to specific individuals who she thought she could trust.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2017 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , , , .
