A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

The Serial Killer’s Daughter by Lesley Welsh

sk daughterCharmer, liar, father… Killer.
Suzanne’s life changes forever the day she receives a visit from Rose Anderson, the woman who has been living with her estranged father, Don.

Don is dead, but Rose wants Suzanne to have his possessions – including a series of intimate diaries and a mysterious collection of photographs of women.

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death… So why did he have a picture of her?

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his journals? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

Review

I guess it is no secret that I read a lot of serial killer stories. I am interested in knowing how their minds work and how those around them deal with having a killer in their lives. Do they know that their loved one is a monster?  I am also curious about the nature vs nurture debate when it comes to criminal psychology. Needless, to say, I knew I had to get a copy of this book immediately I saw the title.

The story is about Suzanne’s dad who has recently found out about her dad’s death. In his death, he left behind a notebook, some money and photographs. These items spark Suzanne’s interest to unravel the mystery about her father. A man she hardly knew but her childhood memories still remind her that he was an odd person.

The story is mainly narrated through Suzanne’s perspective. I liked her characterization and especially the complexity of her family’s background. She was strong and persistent in her search for answers. As readers, we get to know her mother, Joan briefly but she is another character who interested me. I liked her back-story. Another POV that we get is from Don. This is mainly through notebooks.

I thought that the pacing of the story was pretty good. It was non-stop action from the first to the last chapter. There were discoveries and twists along the way that helped moved the story along. The characters were also very well crafted. Don’s narrations were chilling and quite interesting. He was quite a twisted character.

Nevertheless, I think I was expecting something different when I picked the book. I wanted a psychological thriller but instead got more of an action-packed novel. I am in the minority in this regard though since most reviewers loved this book but for me, there was something that was missing. I feel like this is the kind of book that would make a great movie though. In the end, I liked the book but I didn’t love it.

10 comments on “The Serial Killer’s Daughter by Lesley Welsh

  1. I absolutely understand your point, I also believe the genre was slightly wrong. I also really enjoy Suzanne’s mother’s appearances, they were quite good! Great review, Diana! 🙂

    • Diana
      July 23, 2017

      Thanks Meggie.Yeah,Joan ‘Joanie’ was an interesting character despite the fact that we didn’t get to see her as much as the other MCs 🙂

  2. Laila@BigReadingLife
    July 22, 2017

    I think there are many thrillers that would make great movies but are slightly disappointing to read. One of those for me was Her Every Fear by Peter Swanson.

    But I’m glad you still liked this book and it wasn’t a total disappointment.

    • Diana
      July 23, 2017

      I havent yet read Her Every Fear though the title sounds familiar.Yeah,thrillers especially those that have high actions look like they make better movies than books.

      I did enjoy it in the end despite the genre feeling wrong 🙂

  3. Annie
    July 23, 2017

    Your last paragraph pretty much sums up why I think I wouldn’t enjoy this as much. I also think this action stories are better suited as films…I think I’m gonna pass on this one!

    • Diana
      July 23, 2017

      I could definitely see this as a movie and I think it would be great due to all the action.It has everything from hostages,kidnapping,police chasrs,it would be great for fans of action 🙂

  4. If it were more psychological I’d definitely want to read this one but as you and Annie, I’d rather see the action in a movie. Great review though!

  5. Grab the Lapels
    July 31, 2017

    It sounds like if her father is now dead, it wouldn’t be a thriller at all, but more of a character-driven story about coming to terms with learning someone we thought we knew really was a stranger.

    • Diana
      August 6, 2017

      It definitely was more character driven with few suprises but a lot of action.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 22, 2017 by in Bookish Post.
