A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Disturbed by Jennifer Jaynes

Disturbed.jpgOn Halloween night five years ago, Chelsea Dutton’s college roommates were viciously stabbed to death, and Chelsea was critically injured. She was found hiding in her apartment’s bathtub, barely clinging to life.

With only fragments of shattered memory, she’s been trying her best to move past the nightmares ever since. Now in Boston, she lives a somewhat reclusive life, working from home as a medical transcriptionist and bingeing on mindless television shows.

She can’t shake the fear that her attacker is out there, waiting to finish what he started, and Elizabeth, a nurse she met after the murders, is the only person she can trust.

When someone from her past reemerges, Chelsea starts receiving disturbing messages and worries that her every move is being watched. As the messages mount and her memories begin to return, she’s led to a very terrifying and lonely place. But she needn’t be afraid. She won’t be alone there for long.

Review

Disturbed by Jennifer Jaynes is a great choice for a Halloween, themed read. The story begins with the murder of two co-eds five years ago on Halloween. On that night, there was one survivor, Chelsea. We move to the present where Chelsea is trying to pick up the pieces of her life. She is still haunted by the events that took place five years ago. In addition, she has met a guy who she knew back when the murders occurred and she is also being stalked by someone who is leaving her cryptic notes about the murders. To up the tension, readers find out that the killer was never caught. That’s not all, Chelsea can’t remember a lot including the murders so even though she survived, she doesn’t know who the killer is.

The book is filled with suspense right from the first chapters. I was curious about the murders and the stalking talking place. I had my suspicions. However, the twist was totally unpredictable. It was not something that I had read about before so I totally never saw it coming. It was bizarre but it still made sense.

Disturbed is a really fast-paced thriller. There was something about the book that reminded me about movies like Scream, Friday the 13th, Halloween. This might be an unpopular opinion especially given the number of 5 star reviews that this book has received. However, the movie-feel for me meant that there wasn’t much done in character development. You know how movies manage to cover so much in  less than two hours? That is what I felt with this book. It was thrilling but I didn’t connect or care much about the characters so this lessened my enjoyment of the twists. In addition, there was something off about the characters. They were supposed to be young but they sounded way older. For instance, I really thought that the lead detective was about 70ish but he was in his early 40s. This was not because of his bad back; it was in his mannerism, dialogue.  There’s an instance where the detective actually said this, “God, at the age of forty, she was still a stunner.” Seriously, is 40 the new Golden Girls age? This could be issues with me though and not the book. In addition, they are not major of course so don’t let this deter you from reading the book.

Nevertheless, this was a good read that I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a book that is creepy, disturbing and fast-paced.

 

19 comments on “Disturbed by Jennifer Jaynes

  1. Laila@BigReadingLife
    November 7, 2017

    Ha ha, I’m 40, I’m ancient! 😉

    The plot sounds really creepy and suspenseful though!

    • Diana
      November 8, 2017

      haha I am 33 but that comment really bothered me. We are so not ancient lol.

      It really was creepy, suspenseful and quite unpredictable 🙂

  2. deesradreadsandreviews
    November 7, 2017

    Oh dear… I’m 43. Over the hill I guess LOL. Great review Diana! 😀

    • Diana
      November 8, 2017

      haha I am not sure what the author was doing with the age thing. It just seemed totally off and honestly, it bugged me.

      Thank you 🙂

  3. Holly B / Dressedtoread
    November 7, 2017

    Oh my….I’m scared just reading your review! Enjoyed it Diana! I wish I wasn’t so chicken!

    • Diana
      November 8, 2017

      Thanks Holly. It is a creepy story though not very scary 🙂

  4. Okay. I’m 52 so that line ticks me off! I do like her writing though, so I’ll definitely be reading this. Fantastic review!😊

    • Diana
      November 8, 2017

      This is my first book by Jennifer and I really did enjoy her writing too.

      I hope that you will enjoy this book when you get a chance to read it. The age thing was definitely odd but its still an interesting read 🙂

  5. FictionFan
    November 8, 2017

    Haha! I’m guessing the author must be very young if she thinks 40 is ancient. I dread to imagine how she’d describe me… 😉

    • Diana
      November 8, 2017

      haha, that age thing surprised me because it sounded like a 40 year old stunner was something so unusual. Not sure how old she is but yeah, that could explain it. The story is quite interesting though 🙂

  6. Carrie
    November 8, 2017

    Great review Diana! I have to say I have read books with similar twists to the end of this one but that was the thing that impressed me most really, I still never saw it coming in this one.

    • Diana
      November 8, 2017

      It wasn’t even something that I was considering. I had a few guesses but I was totally wrong. I definitely enjoyed that twist. Thanks.

      • Carrie
        November 8, 2017

        Haha yes, I could rewrite it 20 different ways but not the one she finished with. 🙂

  7. Annie
    November 8, 2017

    Hahahaha Loved your comment about age, mayeb the author is really young? If you liked this… it certainly seems similar to FInal Girls!

    • Diana
      November 8, 2017

      haha,I swear, I actually read that line and immediately thought of Golden Girls and the show’s theme song. Yeah, she might be younger hence the age portrayal. I did enjoy the book. I keep seeing Final Girls around though yet to read it. I will check it out. Thanks.

  8. Trang (Bookidote)
    November 9, 2017

    LOL that age comment, but I’m happy you get to enjoy the book tho 😀

    • Diana
      November 9, 2017

      haha the age thing was weird but the book was still quite interesting. Thanks for stopping by 😉

  9. Inge | The Belgian Reviewer
    November 9, 2017

    Hihi maybe the author is still so young she thinks 40 is ancient ;-). I do love that it surprised you so much in the end and it has such a very creepy feel to it. Sounds really good and great review!

    • Diana
      November 10, 2017

      Thanks Inge. The age thing was off lol but this was still quite an entertaining read.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2017 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , .
