The Six Stories (Six Stories #1) by Matt Wesolowski

six stories

Scarclaw Fell. The body of teenager Tom Jeffries is found at an Outward Bound center. Verdict? Misadventure. But not everyone is convinced. And the truth of what happened in the beautiful but eerie fell is locked in the memories of the tight-knit group of friends who embarked on that fateful trip, and the flimsy testimony of those living nearby. 2017.

Enter elusive investigative journalist Scott King, whose podcast examinations of complicated cases have rivaled the success of Serial, with his concealed identity making him a cult internet figure. In a series of six interviews, King attempts to work out how the dynamics of a group of idle teenagers conspired with the sinister legends surrounding the fell to result in Jeffries’ mysterious death.

As every interview unveils a new revelation, you’ll be forced to work out for yourself how Tom Jeffries died, and who is telling the truth.

Review

Six Stories is one of hyped book. I remember when it first came out, everyone was raving about it. I am glad that I finally got the opportunity to read it.

Well, the uniqueness of this story is indisputable. I don’t think that I’ve read any other book that features podcasts. I have certainly never listened to any podcast.

Tom Jeffries was found dead two decades ago. The investigators concluded that his death was accidental. However, years later the investigation is reopened and now questions arise about Tom’s death. Was it an accident or did the teen meet his death through someone or something?

The story is mainly narrated through the podcast interviews. There are six people who talk about the events that took place. They help in giving more insight about Tom and hence shed light on what could have happened. Through their stories various themes come up. Bullying is the one that stood out for me. The author definitely didn’t shy away from portraying just how dark bullying is. And its consequences.

I enjoyed the interviews although my one niggle with this story also lies with them. At some point, I felt like the pace slowed down especially when it came to interviews that didn’t reveal much new info. Now that I think back, I can appreciate that each interview did add something to the story.When reading the story, my feelings were different maybe because I wanted to get to the answers and was frustrated that it wasn’t happening fast enough.

The final chapters and interview were explosive! Massive twist that I hadn’t really sussed out. This part of the novel was intense and I love how I was left trying to figure out exactly what happened to Tom Jeffries. Of course, I have my own alternative explanation.

I can definitely see why so many readers enjoyed this book. There is a lot to like; from the uniqueness, cold case mystery, themes and mystic elements. Despite the sections that felt a bit slow for me, I enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it.