Review: The Shadow Man by Helen Fields

He collects his victims. But he doesn’t keep them safe.

Elspeth, Meggy and Xavier are locked in a flat. They don’t know where they are, and they don’t know why they’re there. They only know that the shadow man has taken them, and he won’t let them go.

Desperate to escape, the three of them must find a way out of their living hell, even if it means uncovering a very dark truth.

Because the shadow man isn’t a nightmare. He’s all too real.

And he’s watching.

Helen Fields is back with a heart-pounding new book, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Stuart MacBride.

Review

I have heard about the ‘Perfect’ series by Helen Fields but haven’t yet had a chance to read it. I grabbed ‘ The Shadow Man’ immediately I saw the ARC and now I am hooked to the author’s writing.

This story is dark with a terrifying yet strangely captivating unsub who stalks and abducts people. I was captivated right from the first page. What are the unsub’s motives? This was the main question running through my mind as I read this book. On the hunt for the Perpetrator are Dr. Connie Woolwine, Forensic Psychologist and Detective Brodie Barda. I enjoyed the psychologist angle as it gave me the opportunity to dig deep into the dark mind of the Perp. Through this angle, I also found out about a terrifying mental condition which both fascinated and repulsed me.

This is a quite well written thriller that is fast-paced and utterly captivating. Its dark, creepy and will have you looking under your bed before you sleep. As I already mentioned, the Unsub is disturbed but yet fascinating in a twisted way. I needed to figure out how their mind worked so as to uncover the motives behind the crimes. I liked the investigators and Dr. Connie’s unorthodox methods were something memorable. I wish this was a series so that I can see this team work on another case. Twisty, shocking, captivating, fans of this genre cannot afford to miss this title.

9 thoughts on “Review: The Shadow Man by Helen Fields

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s