Top Ten Crime Thrillers/ Cop Procedural Series of 2020

2020 was a crazy year in so many ways. Being a new mother, a lot changed in my life. My reading and blogging reduced considerably. I am even surprised that I was able to reach my annual reading target of 50 books.

One thing that I enjoyed this year is reading crime thrillers. I seem not to enjoy psychological thrillers like I used to but I love discovering new detectives and keeping up with favourites one.

Here are 10 of the best series that I have read this. Some are old while others have just begun.

  • The Megan Carpenter Series by Gregg Olsen (3 Books) –What is unique about this series is the Lead Detective whose biological father is a serial killer. There are also a lot of Gray areas when it comes to Megan’s conduct as a detective.
  • The Natalie Ward Series by Carol Wyer (7 books) – This series always has the most complex cases. I love how detailed the investigations usually are. I also love the lead detective.
  • DI Amy Winter Series by Caroline Mitchell (3 books) – I really wish there were more books in this series. DI Amy is a complex character who like Megan has Serial Killer parents. However, the past refuses to remain in the past for this detective.
  • Detective Gina Harte by Carla Kovach (7 books) – I have a complicated relationship with this series. I have enjoyed each of the books. However, my relationship with the MC has been up and down. Sometimes I like her, other times she is too messy for my liking. Nevertheless, this remains one of my favorite series.
  • Jericho and Wright Series by C. J. Lyons (2 books) – This is a new series. What I like most about it is the duo of Jericho and Wright. The Doctor and Detective angle is quite interesting and unique. I can’t wait to see how this will progress in the New Year.
  • Nikki Hunt Series by Stacy Green (1 book published, 1 coming up in February, 2021) – I love the uniqueness of the MC who is an FBI Agent and Criminal Profiler. The first book was so compelling. I hope book 2 brings the same kind of magic.
  • Detective Kimberly King– J.R. Adler (1 book) – This series began this year. The MC, a single mom detective is pretty good and her characterization in the first book quickly cemented her place in my list of favorite female leads.
  • Charlotte Winters by L.T Vargus and Tim McBain (2 books) – This book has a unique angle of having an MC who is a Private Investigator instead of the usual detectives. The first book was really captivating. I hope to read the second one soon.
  • Detective Morgan Brookes by Helen Phifer (2 books) – My favourite thing about this series is the MC who is still a rookie but damn good at her job.
  • Detective Ellis Reeves by Rita Herron (2 books) – Once again this is another series that has me hooked because of the lead detective. The first book was set on the Appalachian Mountains which was the perfect place for the mystery due to the density and vastness of the forest.

Bonus – Action Thriller Series that I like

  • The Stillhouse Lake by Rachel Caine (5 books) – This doesn’t exactly fit into crime thriller but it is one series that I absolutely love. It has quite a bit of action and no dull moments.

New Series that I like

  •  Agent Tori Hunter by Roger Stelljes (1 book) – I am only 100 pages into this book and absolutely love it. I have a good feeling about this one.

Historical Fiction Series

  1.  Fare Horizons by Kate Hewitt (3 books) – So apart from the high number of cop procedural series that I read, I also read one historical fiction series and it was brilliant! Quite an emotive, well-written immigrants story.

Have you read any of these series? Which are some of your favorite cop procedural series?

Have a brilliant 2021. Happy New Year and thank you for sticking with me this past year.