A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Diversity Spotlight Thursday

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly feature hosted by Aimal at Bookshelves and Paperbacks . Please click on this link to get more details about the feature.

diverse-spotlight1

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

This is my first time participating in Diversity Spotlight Thursday.  I have always been interested in books that feature different cultures and help know more about other people so I definitely excited about this meme.

A Book I Have Read

memoThe Book of Memory by Petina Gappah

Memory is an albino woman languishing in Chikurubi Maximum Security Prison in Harare, Zimbabwe, where she has been convicted of murder. As part of her appeal, her lawyer insists that she write down what happened as she remembers it. As her story unfolds, Memory reveals that she has been tried and convicted for the murder of Lloyd Hendricks, her adopted father. But who was Lloyd Hendricks? Why does Memory feel no remorse for his death? And did everything happen exactly as she remembers?

In The Book of Memory, Petina Gappah has created a uniquely slippery narrator: forthright, acerbically funny, and with a complicated relationship to the truth. Moving between the townships of the poor and the suburbs of the rich, and between the past and the present, Gappah weaves a compelling tale of love, obsession, the relentlessness of fate, and the treachery of memory.

I read this book recently and enjoyed it immensely. It’s the first book that I have ever read that features an albino main character. It is also the first book that I have read set in Zimbabwe. The book opened my eyes to albinism and also gave some aspects of life in the country for people of different cultures. You can read my review here.

homegoing A Book on my TBR

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

Effia and Esi are born into different villages in eighteenth-century Ghana. Effia is married off to an Englishman and lives in comfort in the palatial rooms of Cape Coast Castle. Unbeknownst to Effia, her sister, Esi, is imprisoned beneath her in the castle’s dungeons, sold with thousands of others into the Gold Coast’s booming slave trade, and shipped off to America, where her children and grandchildren will be raised in slavery.

One thread of Homegoing follows Effia’s descendants through centuries of warfare in Ghana, as the Fante and Asante nations wrestle with the slave trade and British colonization. The other thread follows Esi and her children into America. From the plantations of the South to the Civil War and the Great Migration, from the coal mines of Pratt City, Alabama, to the jazz clubs and dope houses of twentieth-century Harlem, right up through the present day, Homegoing makes history visceral, and captures, with singular and stunning immediacy, how the memory of captivity came to be inscribed in the soul of a nation.

I hope to read this book in the next coming week. What intrigued me about this book is the setting. I am yet to read anything set in Ghana even if its only partially set there. The angle of slavery and resettling in America also got my attention.

A Book that has not yet been released

the-german-girlThe German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

In 1939 before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. Her family moved in Berlin’s highest social circles, admired by friends and neighbors. But, in an instant, that sunlit world vanished. Now the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; their fine possessions are hauled away, and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. The two friends make a pact: come what may, they promise to have a future together.

As Hannah and Leo’s families desperately begin to search for a means of escape, a glimmer of hope appears when they discover the Saint Louis, a transatlantic liner that can give Jews safe passage to Cuba. As the passengers gain renewed hope for a bright future ahead, love between Hannah and Leo blossoms. But soon reports from the outside world began to filter in, and dark news overshadows the celebratory atmosphere on the ship; the governments of Cuba, the United States, and Canada are denying the passengers of the St. Louis admittance to their countries, forcing them to return to Europe as it descends into the Second World War. The ship that had seemed their salvation seems likely to become their death sentence.

After four days anchored at bay, only a handful of passengers are allowed to disembark onto Cuban soil, and Hannah and Leo must face the grim reality that they could be torn apart. Their future is unknown, and their only choice will have an impact in generations to come.

This book will be released on October 18, 2016

Have you read any of these books? Which other books would you recommend that I add to my TBR. If you participated in this weekly feature or any featuring diversity, please link me to your post.

18 comments on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday

  1. rosemawrites
    September 15, 2016

    three interesting books, Diana! Thank you for introducing them to me. 😉

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      You’re welcome and thanks for stopping 🙂

  2. Lekeisha The Booknerd
    September 15, 2016

    I am really looking forward to the first 2 since they are already on my to-buy list!

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      I hope that you will like The Book of Memory. It was quite an interesting read. I also look forward to Homegoing. I hope that you will get both books soon.

  3. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews
    September 15, 2016

    Homegoing is absolutely amazing! I finished it yesterday and I feel like a changed person. It definitely helped open my eyes to so much 😊

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      Oh wow, thanks for letting me know that. I can’t wait to read it soon:-)

  4. Puput @ Sparkling Letters
    September 15, 2016

    I’m sooo curious with Homegoing! Heard so many great things about it ❤ I plan to read it soon too, I hope you enjoy the book! 😀

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      Thanks a lot. I have great expectations about it. I hope you also get a copy of the book soon.

  5. mreadsbooks
    September 15, 2016

    Great choices! Homegoing is on my tbr and I would also really like to read The German Girl – I actually requested it on Netgalley but I was declined 😦
    https://mreadsbooks.wordpress.com/2016/09/15/diversity-spotlight-2-september-15th-2016/

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      sorry to hear about The German Girl. I requested it today morning so I am still witting though I am not very hopeful because they had specified that Australians were preferred due some rights.

      Thanks for the link, heading over to your post now to get some ideas for my TBR:-)

      • mreadsbooks
        September 15, 2016

        I hope you get it then so you can let me know what you think of it and I can decide if I want to purchase it upon release! 🙂

  6. Esther @ Chapter Adventures
    September 15, 2016

    The Book OF memory sounds amazing! I have to add it to my TBR. And I’ve never read anything set in Cuba, so that’ll be interesting!

    • Diana
      September 16, 2016

      I am also excited about The German Girl because I have never read anything set in Cuba too. The book also reminds me abit of The Book Thief due to the time period.

      The Book of Memory is really glad. Glad to hear that you will add it to your TBR:-)

  7. elenasquareeyes
    September 15, 2016

    The Book of Memory sounds interesting. I’m reading Homegoing at the moment I’m loving it! I’ve got stuff to do but all I want to do is sit down and read! 😛

    • Diana
      September 16, 2016

      Life does have a way of interfering with our reading 🙂 I hope you find more time to read though especially with the coming weekend. I really can’t wait to read Homegoing though I still have to read one more book before I get to it:-)

  8. Annie
    September 15, 2016

    I have Homegoing and I can’t wait to read it! The other two sound super interesting too!

    • Diana
      September 16, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy Homegoing. I can’t wait to read it too and The German Girl if I get it:-)

Leave a Reply

