December TBR

November was a good reading month and I managed to read all but two books on my TBR for the month. Here are the books that I hope to read it December.

NetGalley ARCs

I have nine books on my NetGalley bookshelf and hope to read at least five by the end of the year.

  • Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan
  • Just a Normal Tuesday by Kim Turrisi
  • Lies by T. M Logan
  • Here and Gone by Heylen Beck
  • My Husband the Stranger by Rebecca Done
  • If the Creek Don’t Rise by Leah Weiss
  • House of Silence by Sarah Barthel
  • The Trophy Child by Paula Daly
  • The Hour of Daydreams by Renee Macalino Rutledge

Book club pick

My bookclub is reviewing this book on December 10th.

fine-balanceA Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry

With a compassionate realism and narrative sweep that recall the work of Charles Dickens, this magnificent novel captures all the cruelty and corruption, dignity and heroism, of India.

The time is 1975. The place is an unnamed city by the sea. The government has just declared a State of Emergency, in whose upheavals four strangers–a spirited widow, a young student uprooted from his idyllic hill station, and two tailors who have fled the caste violence of their native village–will be thrust together, forced to share one cramped apartment and an uncertain future.

As the characters move from distrust to friendship and from friendship to love, A Fine Balance creates an enduring panorama of the human spirit in an inhuman state

 

Personal Collection

I will be traveling home for the holidays and if I get some time then I hope to read all or at least one of these three books:

  • The Choice by Nicholas Sparks
  • Flawed by Cecilia Ahern
  • Looking for JJ by Anne Cassidy

Blogging

I am tired. I just feel exhausted like everything is taking too much effort including reading and blogging. In December,I hope to post my book reviews and perhaps participate in Top Ten Tuesday. However, I am taking a break from WWW Wednesday, Diversity Spotlight Thursday and Friday Finds until next year. I also plan to take a brief break from blogging  from around 20th December 2016 to January 10th 2017.

All by my lonesome!

Brace yourselves! A Rant is coming.

 I am a bit discouraged. I like blogging and interacting with other bloggers. However, lately I feel like that kid who invites people to his/her birthday party but nobody shows up… well apart from fam. It sucks. This blog has over 600 followers and I try to visit as many blogs as possible but its getting tiring especially since most times its one way.

I follow back everyone who follows me(even non-bookish blogs and some blogs that are not even in languages that I understand). I usually feel like if someone follows me then its just courteous to follow back.  Perhaps this is what I am doing wrong? I also follow other bloggers  who may not be following me but  I just like their content so I follow them regardless.

However,  I look at my stats and see posts(especially book reviews) that have 20 likes, 9 views and  0 or 1 comment and I have to wonder how 11 people liked the post without  opening it. Could it be that I am following and being followed by bloggers who just have different interests? Has anyone else experienced the same thing? Or is a genre thing since most people like fantasy and I review thrillers mostly and African Literature?Is it a thing with book reviews or do I need to change something like my format or perhaps use GIFs and funny images? I don’t know what I am doing wrong.

Anyway, maybe  I just don’t get this blogging thing and I am approaching it the wrong way.Perhaps I just need to get some sleep. I mean,I just don’t know.I am hella discouraged though.

I hope that you had a wonderful November. Happy December. Cheers!