Top Ten Tuesday: Holiday Gift Guide freebie

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

Instead of focusing on one genre, I have decided to list some of my favorite books of 2016 as a holiday gift guide freebie.Click on the titles to read my review of each book./

Contemporary Fiction

It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover is quite a memorable book.This is the kind of book that I think everyone should read. Its my favorite one by the author.

Wrecked by Maria Padian  is one of the most powerful YA books that I have ever read that tackle the issue of sexual assault. I was angered and disgusted by some characters while I sympathized with others. This is a gut wrenching story that broke my heart but at the same time, it is one of those books that I will read again and then tell everyone about.

The Girls by Emma Cline is hinged on the Charles Manson murders. There are hints of the crimes that occurred. However, this book is not focused on the murders but the life of a young woman, Evie. In addition, the book focuses more on the relationships between the girls than on the cult leader .The chapters on 1969 depict adolescent struggles that most people will relate with. The book will make you question yourself and wonder how easy it is to get carried away and do things without really thinking about them. It is incredible to realize just how fast things can spiral out of control. I recommend this book to everyone because it is one of those books that you just have to read for yourself.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak is definitely a moving story, one that I will never forget. It is definitely one of my favorite books of all time.

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon is an engaging narrative and the language used is beautiful. I also loved the setting of the book.

born-a-crime-2Memoir

Born a Crime by Trevor Noah is a book about family, a mother-son relationship, friendship, racism and a person’s ability to overcome all hurdles in life. It is also a coming of age story. This is an inspiring memoir that will make you laugh and cry through the chapters (sometimes at the same time). If you are looking for a diverse read then you should definitely pick this one. If you want to understand more about South Africa and Apartheid (from an insider’s view point), this is the book for you. Seriously though, just get the memoir. It is a wonderful!

 

Thrillers

Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris is the kind of story that will make you look around and think twice about the people around you. You will look at the smiling faces and truly wonder about what happens behind the closed doors and if it matches what is portrayed outside.
I absolutely loved this book.

The Killing Game by J. S Carol is one of my best books this year. If you like fast-paced, heart-pounding thrillers with a number of twists and some very memorable characters then I highly recommend that you get this book.

YA Thrillers/ Contemporary

SOS: The Summer at St. George by Briana Gaitan is a nice, easy read that made it quick to get through. However, it’s the kind of story that will tug at your heartstrings and get you invested in the characters hence haunting you long after the final page. I really liked this book and highly recommend it.  If you like romantic suspense, YA Mystery then you may also enjoy reading SOS: The Summer of St. George by Briana Gaitan.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky evoked so many different emotions. There were chapters that made me laugh while there are others that broke my heart especially towards the end of the book. The book is so well written and I really enjoyed the 90s setting. It was touching, emotional, compelling…basically, it’s a wonderful book.

Happy Tuesday!