A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

This little house of mine

I never used to believe in love at first sight until I saw my first house. It wasn’t what I was looking for but when I saw it, I knew it was exactly what I wanted. I remember looking at it for the first time, the small, narrow empty rooms, the pink walls, the small balcony, tiny tiled bathroom. It doesn’t sound like much but for me, I knew I had found my new perfect home.

When I was moving in, I didn’t have any furniture though interesting enough, I had a DVD player and my 14”television set from Campus. I bought a small bed for my small bedroom and with only my clothes and abnormally large collection of shoes, I moved in.

I didn’t have seats and so I had to sit on the floor to watch TV and I couldn’t cook since I didn’t even own a stove and I didn’t even have utensils. It was my own little paradise though; I couldn’t wait to get home every evening.

Over the next few months, I have bought pieces of furniture, at least now I have a sofa set, a coffee table and a few other necessary items. I love my art, it’s not sophisticated but it has sentimental value. On my TV trolley I have a lot of sea shells; they all represent different people in my life. There the odd looking shells from my friend Anita, the double unique shells from Alex, my ex’s best friend, the smooth shells from Katrionah my high school friend. Apart from the sea shells, there is the wooden giraffe carving from my best friend Juliana, the soft beautiful art stones from my other best friend Carol, the beautiful photo frame from my friend Tim and a beautiful glass statue of the tallest building in Dubai that was from my child hood friend Solomon. I have a few paintings that I bought as an appreciation for my artistic side. There are other random items on my walls from friends and workmates. My bedroom walls are filled with pictures of the most important people in my life. I also have this gorgeous wall clock that was a gift from my best friend Ondipo who i have so many wonderful memories with in that house.

I guess that’s why I love my house so much. Every single item tells a story. From the gas cooker that was a present from a colleague who won it in a golf tournament, to the curtains that I bought with my campus roommate for our room, the carpet that I bought for my campus room and the other one that I bought at such a great bargain that perfectly matches my seats.

 

I love this house, it’s the only place I find peace happiness, where I can be myself. It’s my own little paradise, this little house of mine.

PS: I wrote this article in 2008 just after i had moved out of my parent’s home to my first place in Kasarani. It was so tiny but i love that house with everything i had. The sitting room was such that all visitors had to sit facing each other with feet touching. There was no space at all. The bedroom had only space for my 3 by 6 bed and a little standing space but dancing or any sudden movements would have resulted in injuries.

So many memories were made in that tiny place. It was also quite a journey furnishing the house with my then salary of Kshs. 15,000. I wouldn’t trade that experience for anything though because it reminds me of where i started from.

10 comments on “This little house of mine

  1. Jei
    June 13, 2013

    Awwwwww then LOL!At least I visited that house more times than was necessary (hehe) and even have pics.Kasarani was yet another home for me.Remember that day we watched a Nigerian movie and we started speaking in CAPS from then onwards?Hehehe!One Brian Kae was so impressed he joined the CAPS language.LOL.I loooooved Kasarani!

    • dianagitau
      June 13, 2013

      hahaha how can i forget that. Do you remember the wall of fame? Congrats Jeds, u made it!you were on my wall! Anyway, memories are made of that. Limuru just cant beat Kasarani and the way there is space here 😦

  2. ESther Simatwa
    June 13, 2013

    yeah i remember that house too.

    • dianagitau
      June 13, 2013

      hehe yeah you guys visited and i slept half way under the bed so that we could all fit in the bedroom 😉 memories i tell you…..

  3. Jeds
    June 13, 2013

    Lol yeah wall of fame.I made it!Then kuskiza ngoma na ile Aucma yako…kelele nayo?Hahaha enyewe memories of where we have come from.

    • dianagitau
      June 14, 2013

      aki hiyo Aucma, volume ilikuwa inaji-adjust then it starts croacking hahaha.good old days 🙂

  4. Carolyne
    June 14, 2013

    i had very good memories too…enough times.i remember when life got us too busy to even hangout i would come over and we would chillout.just cook, tembea kwa mtaa, go to your movie guy and catchup on so much.theres a time i came over and we watched horror movies!! seriously…that was the last time i watched a scary movie!
    we gonna make memories now at limuru! and uthiru soon 🙂

    • dianagitau
      June 14, 2013

      Those were the good times Carol and i used to to enjoy your visits, hata zile za dreadlocks crew hehe and the dishes. Then remember you bonding with mum? Kasarani has so many good memories. Its like you and Rongai, i have so many memories of your home although that is ongoing. Anyway, yeah we should make new ones with Limuru and Uthiru, hopefully next weekend will be a start 🙂

  5. Ondipo
    June 14, 2013

    Woiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiishhe I want my wall clock to be mentioned somewhere. they say ”its not the size of the body but the size of the heart”’cjui ka hiyo ni quote ama ni musemo ama ni methali. Sa tukikuja tulikuwa tunaona tu vile hao ni kubwa ju wee uko hehehe

    • dianagitau
      June 14, 2013

      hehehe but si ur wall clock is mentioned already ebu angalia tena the last sentence on the paragraph about the souvenirs… You are represented 🙂 and thanks hun though wewe you really used to tease me about the tiny space and Auma… but in a good way 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
