WWW-Wednesday #January 11th

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @Taking on a World of Words.

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

I have been away from the blogosphere from December 21st. During my break, I managed to read 7 books although I am  behind schedule with the reviews. I hope to post all of them by the end of next week.

Here is what I read:

Reviewed

Sister Sister by Sue Fortin- Sister Sister by Sue Fortin is a brilliant psychological thriller with suspense right from the first page. The book is well paced, engrossing and very well-written. It’s the kind of book that will have you suspecting everyone. It’s a story about family, lies and secrets.  I definitely recommend this one to all fans of psychological thrillers. You can read my review here.

Kill the next one by Federico Axat- I am not sure how exactly to categorize this book. It is sort of a thriller with some elements of science fiction. Some chapters were super creepy with aspects of psychology coming into play while others were action filled. I posted my review yesterday so you can read it here.

Witness by Caroline Mitchell – Witness by Caroline Mitchell is definitely a thriller that I recommend to all fans of this genre. The book is quite fast-paced with a unique premise. In addition, the story is narrated in short chapters that in cliffhangers hence making it hard to put down the book.  This is a book about secrets, betrayal, manipulation and all this made it quite a page-turner. If you like domestic noirs, I think that you will like this one! Review already up here.

Not yet reviewed

Blink by K. L. Slater – I enjoyed this book way more that the author’s first book, Safe with Me.  My review will be up next week.

Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan– I read this book just before Christmas. It was a good holiday-themed book though I struggled through some of the chapters. This had nothing to do with the book specifically. I think it is more to do with the genre.

Duplicity by Sibel Hodge- One of the most entertaining, twisted books that I have ever read. If you enjoy psychological/crime thrillers then you should definitely read this one. This book will keep you guessing up to the final chapter. It has everything that makes a great thriller, secrets, obsession, jealousy, lies. It is dark, twisted and gripping.

The Adventures of a Mzungu by David Aardon– This is a lighthearted look at the ups and downs of visiting Africa as narrated by a Christian Missionary. This is not really my kind of book but I was intrigued by the fact that one of the places that David visited was Nairobi (Kenya).

Currently Reading

out-of-bounds

 

Out of Bounds by Val McDermid- I just started reading this one so I can’t say much about it right now.

 

 

 

Reading Next

My book club is reading The Whistler by John Grisham and Blindness by Jose Saramago. I am really intrigued by the second book although I also can’t wait to read Grisham.

blindnessThis is what Saramago’s book is all about:

A city is hit by an epidemic of “white blindness” that spares no one. Authorities confine the blind to an empty mental hospital, but there the criminal element holds everyone captive, stealing food rations and assaulting women. There is one eyewitness to this nightmare who guides her charges—among them a boy with no mother, a girl with dark glasses, a dog of tears—through the barren streets, and their procession becomes as uncanny as the surroundings are harrowing. As Blindness reclaims the age-old story of a plague, it evokes the vivid and trembling horrors of the twentieth century, leaving readers with a powerful vision of the human spirit that’s bound both by weakness and exhilarating strength.

 

 

happy-new-year

Happy New Year!

28 thoughts on “WWW-Wednesday #January 11th

  1. I have Miracle on 5th Avenue but haven’t had the time to read it until now. Ugh. Maybe I’ll get to it when I have some free time. 🙂

      1. I’ll look forward to that review! I’m a fan of romance novels so I really think I’ll love this one. 🙂

    1. I hope you managed to write the two.I made some good progress with mine so I only have to go.

      Thanks for passing by.Haven’t seen you around in a while but I hope that you’ve been well 🙂

  2. Enjoy Grissom! I have to admit I’ve never read him. My mom would kill me if she knew lol. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

  3. Lots of great books on this list! I read Kill The Next One and Witness recently as well, and I have a copy of Blink on my TBR. It’s great to hear you enjoyed it better than Safe With Me! I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading. ❤

    1. I saw your review of Kill the Next One,we definitely agree about the confusion.I almost DNFed the book in the first chapters but I’m glad that I didn’t.I hope that you’ll enjoy Blink.Happy reading 🙂

  4. Wow! You really did a great job flying through books during your time off. I’m so glad to hear it. Don’t fret about catching back up. I am sooooo behind. You’ll just put me to shame. 🙂 I hope you enjoy your next two books!

    1. Thanks Jackie.I decided to just work slowly with the reviews.My main issue is that I usually don’t take notes while reading so its a struggle to remember things at time.All the best with your reviews.

      Happy reading 🙂

  5. I just HAVE to add Sister Sister and Kill the Next One to my wish list! I resisted the urge to get an ARC of Blink but your saying you liked it way better than Safe With Me makes me curious! Duplicity is already on my TBR, I hear it’s really good 🙂 Happy reading!

    1. Duplicity is entertaining with so many good twists.I hope that you’ll enjoy it.
      I was in the minority with Safe with Me.I didn’t like it as much as most people did but Blink was awesome.It will be interesting to see how others react to the book.Let me know if you decide to get it.Happy readibg

  6. Glad to have you back, my dear! Hope you’re well 🙂
    Sister Sister has now been added to my TBR! Sounds fantastic!
    I read Blindness a couple of years ago and what a brilliant read! It’s rather unique and very intriguing! I hope you enjoy it!
    Happy Reading 🙂

    1. Oh I can’t wait to read Blindness now.We are reviewing it in February so I’ll get started in the next week.I hope that you’ll enjoy Sister Sister..

      Glad to be back and connect with you all.Have a wonderful weekend ❤

  7. I hope you enjoy Out of Bounds! 😀 Wow, you’ve reviewed the books very quickly, you had many but you’re writing very fast!

    1. I’m trying to get the reviews done so that I can get them off my NetGalley shelf.The shelf still has way too many books.So that’s my motivation now 🙂

      Thanks Annie.Out of Bounds is great so far.

Leave a comment