June TBR (May Wrap-Up)

So Long May…

Here are a few highlights about what happened in my life in the month of May.

I finally defended my thesis proposal last Friday. My presentation didn’t go so well because I was too nervous. I sat in front of a panel of 11 and a crowd(fellow students) of about 50 and suddenly, my mind went blank. My throat felt constricted like I was struggling to get  the words out. I ended up rushing through the presentation and used only 3 minutes out of the allocated 10. Luckily, my written work was good and in the end, overall feedback was also good. A few corrections to be made but I can now proceed with the data collection and analysis.

the cliques.png

The Cliques by Diana Gitau – A few of you may know this already,I published my first book last year. There was a bit of confusion at first and I didn’t even know that the book was on sale until three months after it had hit the book stores. By then it had sold 651 copies. I felt left out and but I have now decided to take a more active role in publicizing and selling the books. I started making direct the sales in May. The publishers continue to distribute the books too so its a combined effort. I am trying to work out the publicity bit now. I will share more about the book on a post scheduled for this Sunday.

 

On reading, I read 8 books in May. I am still behind with my ARCs and 5 books have already been published so I need to get to them soon.

 

Books that I didn’t manage to read in May

  • A Mother’s Courage by Renita D’Silva
  • Teacher’s Secret by Suzanne Leal
  • The Leavers by Lisa Ko
  • A Negro and an Ofay by Danny Gardner
  • A Daughter’s Courage by Renita D’Silva
  • Justice Delayed by Marti Green

I hope to read these books alongside the June list.

On blogging– I reached 1,000 followers on wordpress this week. I am currently at 1,004. I do appreciate the fact that so many people decided to follow my blog. I wish that the interactions were more though. I think they are limited to about 30 people right now but will see what the future brings. Thank you all the follows.

June TBR

I have 10 books on my June TBR right now. I hope to have more reading time in June especially since my defense is now over so I hope that I will read all these 10 and the books that I didn’t read in May. Ambitious I know but no pressure.

  • Alphonse by Carl Sever
  • All the Good Things by Clare Fischer
  • Secrets of Southern Girls by Haley Harrigan
  • Part of the Silence by Debbie Howells
  • The Fourth Monkey by J.D Barker
  • The Serial Killer’s Daughter by Lesley Welsh
  • Liar by K.L Slater
  • Two Sisters by Kerry Wilkinson
  • Unsub by Meg Gardiner
  • The Lost History of Stars by David Boling

 

I hope that you enjoyed your May. Have a wonderful new month.